We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvelous stay in Ubud !!”
Review of Villa Sabandari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Sabandari
Ranked #10 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A marvelous stay in Ubud !!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We abide by all the other comments of excellence of this high-quality residence : impeccable rooms, very quit environment, excellent and highly professional service. So highly recommendable if you want a stay in Ubud in a high class environment !!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    24
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
28
266
30
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at Villa Sabandari for the second time and it was just as fantastic if not better than the first.
I honestly believe there is something magical about this villa and I defy anyone to leave and not feel relaxed and refreshed.
The grounds / pool area and rooms are stunning and it's impossible to fault the staff in any way.
I cannot recommend this villa enough and I look forward to returning for a third time at some point in the future.
Thanks again to the team for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Recommend spending a bit more and getting one of the rooms that overlooks the rice paddy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath31Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We wanted a place to relax in style and this villa was everything we dreamed of. It is close to the main road (10 min walk), but tucked away securely so you hear no road noise, nothing, just the croaking of the frogs at night. We booked the Lenso room and were thrilled with it - one of the two brightest rooms at this villa (one side looked out into a rice field and another onto a pool). The outdoor shower was a treat. The breakfast was nice (delivered to our own terrace) and the high tea was wonderful (we tried to time our arrival back to the villa for it!). Because we stayed for 5 nights, we also got a free day trip to other places in Bali - a nice perk. And we especially loved the drive out/pick up service by the villa's staff...very special.

Room Tip: Lenso room and the one above it are the brightest...others might be a bit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Ubud at its best! This is the real deal Ubud 'chillax' experience. From the moment you step through the front entrance of the Villa Sabandari compound, relaxation takes over. The grounds are gorgeous and abuzz with birds, cicadas and who knows what other melodic creatures. The rice terraces gently trickle in the view beyond. Our room (I think there are only 6) Barong was upstairs, spacious and well appointed. Loved the indoor-outdoor flow with peeks of the terraces from the outdoor shower. Design and the guests comfort appear to have been considered at every turn. Then there is the staff and the service. From the cooling watermelon frappe to welcome us, the brilliant breakfast served on the balcony of your room to the best afternoon tea I've ever had - profiteroles that would rival any on the rues of Paris, served with a divine lemongrass blended tea - all served with genuine warmth. This place is perfection! My only groan is that I am now in Seminyak and not still at Villa Sabandari. Go, go, go.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NavMilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Having been to Sabandarin previously I was expecting a fabulous time, although I had forgotten how lovely and wonderful this place is.

Nestled away from the main street in Ubud in the most beautiful location, this is a great place to unwind and be spoilt by the amazing staff.

Breakfast and afternoon teas were always a lovely surprise, there is no menu, but each day we were served lovely fresh tasty food with the cakes at afternoon tea an absolute winner.

The staff are very attentive, booking restaurants, driving us in and out of ubud and ensuring we had a lovely holiday, they even decorated my room for my birthday and sang to me!

Just need to find another excuse to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinyelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in November 2012 for 5 nights.

Everything was impeccable. The service was perfect - just the right amount and exactly when you needed it.

Breakfast is included in the price and can be served on your patio. Our room overlooked the pool from the second floor so it was very nice to be able to relax in the morning on our patio while eating breakfast.

The rooms themselves are beautiful, large and well appointed. My single comment to management would be to fix the light at the headboard as I burnt myself pretty badly by resting my arm on it.

Complimentary tea and biscuits at 4pm (or maybe 5pm?) was a nice added bonus.

Although Sabandari does not serve dinner, there is an abundance of delicious restaurants to choose from in town and Sabandari provides a drive to and from where you wish to go in town.

We also stayed at another very well rated place in Ubud for 5 nights during the same trip and although that one was lovely as well, Villa Sabandari was by far superior.

Thank you to the entire team for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Real_Glam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

If you are looking for the Bali zen experience stay at Villa Sabandari – there is the most lovely ritual to the days and evenings there starting with a delicious breakfast delivered to your porch. Crisp clean rooms and modern Bali design -it is a three dimensional sensual experience with fresh flowers, local exotic fruits, delicious floral smells, a private outdoor shower with palm trees above……….and quiet. Everyone and everything is at a hushed level – the pool is a lovely temperature and from there, with a cup of tea and sweet and savory treats, you can observe the daily life of the rice paddy below. When the sun goes down the foliage is beautifully illuminated, the pool is still beckoning and the incense lamps on your porch are being lit. I will always miss Villa Sabandari and the lovely days we spent there. Dirk and Esther are the best hosts !!

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whipray33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.0 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#25 of 198 in Ubud
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,848 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sabandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sabandari

Property: Villa Sabandari
Address: Jalan Pura Gunung Sari 4 | Banjar Ambengan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sabandari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel hidden in the rice fields, yet at walking distance from the center of Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Sabandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sabandari Hotel Ubud
Villa Sabandari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing