We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a peace of heaven”
Review of Villa Sabandari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Sabandari
Ranked #11 of 543 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a peace of heaven”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

i have been to more expensive 5 star places and this place blew my mind. it was so peaceful and relaxing. if you love nature and the insects and creatures that come with it the out door shower is a special treat! while having a shower i got to see so many geckos and a frog but NO mosquitoes, i was in bliss.
the breakfast they give you is outstanding. it starts with fruit (the only place we went that served us Bali fruit, which is sooo yuum), yogurt and musli or cornflakes, then everyday is different, we got toasties one day then eggs the next. also a danish and toast. the best part is its served to your room on your deck, where we had a rice paddies and pool view.
they also offer afternoon tea. coffee, white tea or black tea. a nice little touch.
the staff are happy to drop you off the in markets or anywhere in Ubud you wish to go and are happy to pick you up again when you are finished.
i rate this place EXCELLENT! we are going to be coming back in the future :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    24
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
260
30
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ninove, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you realy want a relaxing holiday, this is the place to be. In our hectic world is this a highly recommended Villa, situated in the middle of rice fields, where you only hear natural sounds, nice birds singing their beautiful songs , wonderful butterfly's, friendly people. We had a marvelous time in the villa. The staff is fantastic,the breakfast they serve is quality and so nicely presented. There is not one negative note we can think of. It realy is a lovely place. Thanks to the whole staff and Dirk and Esther.

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms all overlooking the pool and rice fields wonderfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The moment you enter this place you feel very welcome and know that this is a special place to stay. The villa is a just a short drive/ walk away from the busy centre of Ubud. It is a very private place, with only a small amount of rooms. They are built around a pool which is overlooking the rice fields. Every morning breakfast is served at your own terrace. Certainly do not miss the afternoon tea. You could just stay and relax at this place however when you do want to go out a great service that they provide is the private car service to and from Ubud. Even in the evening after dinner you just ask the restaurant to call the villa and you will be picked up by the car, handy and excellent service. Staff is friendly and great. The only downside of our stay was that at our last night in our room there was a giant gecko which kept us awake. Hopefully he was just an infrequent visitor....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is the most wonderful place to stay: peaceful, close to central Ubud, with the green Balinese countryside right next door to your really stylish rooms. There is a graciousness here that runs right through the whole stay: quality service, splendid food, quietly efficient management, high- standard facilities, and (with all that) a serene atmosphere that calmed even our busy minds.

We are frequent visitors to Bali and Villa Sabandari is definitely now our favourite destination, a real surprise and deserving of all the positive commentary that it has attracted. We will certainly be back to this lovely property.

Carol and Hugh

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose297701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a lovely place. The Villa is set overlooking rice fields, away from the hustle & bustle of Ubud. We had a fantastic stay - the staff are brilliant - nothing is too much trouble. Each morning, your breakfast is brought to your individual room terrace. You can then enjoy breakfast whilst watching the local farmer tending his rice fields and his army of ducks , strangely captivating. The Villa also provides daily afternoon tea - do not miss this and please try the lemongrass tea - delicious. Another great service that the Villa provides, is the car service to and from Ubud - really handy.

The rooms are lovely and I am great fan of the outdoor shower. I have no hesitation in recommending this Villa and I would return at a drop of a hat - a truly idyllic experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jwal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Beautifully appointed 6-room boutique hotel with a lovely infinity pool and views over greenly gorgeous rice fields. The rooms are spacious, have open-to-the-sky outdoor showers and excellent A/C if you go when it's needed. Gracious service from everyone on the staff, friendly and cooperative Belgian-born owner.

You can walk into Ubud central in ten minutes, but you don't have to: the staff will drive you to your chosen destination and pick you up when you call.

Room Tip: The two best rooms are on the end near the rice fields. But all rooms are just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley Gobion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at Villa Sabandari on our honeymoon and loved it. Its outside Ubud itself and set amongst the rice fields. There are less than ten rooms. Each is spacious and has a balcony and outside shower (not to everyone's taste or comfort but we think its the best one we had on our whole trip)
The service of all concerned was excellent and the free trips to and from Ubud really helped. The afternoon tea and breakfast was wonderful. The food provided was simple and we never quite knew what we were going to get but it was always great. We arrived late on our first night but they arranged food for us on our arrival which was lovely. My wife had a Boreh massage whilst we were there and said its the best one she has ever had. The pool is an infinity pool overlooking the rice fields and was just heavenly. However, its the peace and quiet of the place that really makes it such a great place to stay. The staff all are very attentive and so quietly efficient. There isn't any noise at all really except that of nature.

I'd recommend this for anyone who completely wants to unwind or wants a place to stay outside of central Ubud and doesn't want a huge complex, which a lot of the local places are.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPautsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.0 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#37 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#69 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sabandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sabandari

Property: Villa Sabandari
Address: Jalan Pura Gunung Sari 4 | Banjar Ambengan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 543 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sabandari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel hidden in the rice fields, yet at walking distance from the center of Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Sabandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sabandari Hotel Ubud
Villa Sabandari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing