We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful place to stay”
Review of Villa Sabandari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Sabandari
Ranked #5 of 629 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Oh wow...just finished my stay here, and I am glowing with happiness about my choice. The facilities are immaculate and new, and so well-designed! It's a small property, which makes everything feel so intimate and homelike. The staff are fantastic...so warm and welcoming and attentive. They are very conscientious about your requests, even calling the room to confirm 30 minutes before your scheduled breakfast time or driver time.

My room had two twin beds that were so comfortable, and a GLORIOUS outdoor bathroom with rain shower. The veranda was spacious and overlooked rice paddies and a temple. I couldn't have asked for more perfect early mornings, listening to the roosters greet the day and watching the local people go to the temple or tend to the rice. Another nice feature is the free wifi...I could call my friends and family on the patio while enjoying the peaceful scenery.

The location is perfect for being close to the amenities of Ubud but also being far enough out to have serenity and rest. It is walking distance from Monkey Forest Road (the main road), but the driver is always happy to drop you off somewhere. He also doubles as a fantastic bartender and chef. Breakfast was pure delight, and my sundowner was the perfect strength:)

Dirk and his wife have done a fantastic job with this gorgeous property, and their staff reflect the wonderful attention to detail and hospitality. Why pay 3 times the price at larger resorts when you have everything you could want here?

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2010

This place is absolutely stunning. The owners have done a wonderful job of making you feel at home. There is an abundance of food at breakfast, and a large portion of snacks during tea time. The staff is incredible and the grounds are impeccable. It is extremely relaxing here, my only regret is that I did not stay longer. This is a great value for money as it includes breakfast, free wifi and free airport transfer. If you stay over 3 days you also get a private car to tour around Bali on your own.

The massage therapist is also extremely nice. I had 2 massages from her, and she has real skill. I had other massages throughout Bali and she was definitely the best. I can only look forward to going back!!! I miss it already...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlynnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This was my second trip to Ubud. I found the Villa Sabandari on the web. What a find it was. They provided free private new car pickup in Denpassar. I arrived at an Architectural Masterpiece. The attention to detail and perfect proportions is everywhere. From the pivoting henge double wide front doors, to the precise closing hardware on the guest doors.

The hotel is only 10 months old and was designed by a Belgium architect. There is attention to detail at every turn as you walk around the buildings and grounds. The vanishing horizon pool looks out over the valley of rice fields.

There are only six rooms, but you feel like you are at a five star hotel. The price includes transport, breakfast and afternoon tea and snacks. Most hotels in Bali provide breakfast, but it was nothing like this. Each morning you could take breakfast on you private balcony. First course is coffee, fresh juice of your choice and fruit, yogurt and muslin. Then later they would come with the main corse freshly made with artistic flair.

The hotel is just a few blocks up the hill from town. They will provide free transport in and out of town to where ever you want to go. You will find it hard to leave this quiet peacful setting. The owner Nick and his staff could not have been nicer. You had them just a call away, or you were left alone to enjoy the wonderful space that they have created.

This hotel has it all and more, at a great price. I plan on going back next time I am in Ubud.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

You know how sometimes you read series of great reviews about a place and then you arrive and think: "How could anyone give this place such a good review!!!", because it's nothing like it? Well, I have a good news for you.....it won't happen with Villa Sabandari. This place is exactly as described in all the previous reviews. So you can relax and go ahead and book it! We booked 4 nights and ended up staying 6. Couple of hints about where to eat. There are two great and very inexpensive restaurants (where the locals eat) just short walk from the villa: Warung Mina and Mangga Madu Restaurant. Other restaurant which you must try in Ubud is Ibu Rai Bar & Restaurant. No locals, but fantastic food. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fussytraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband & I stayed 2 nights at Villa Sabandari in October 2010 & had a great time. The Villa is a 15 minutes walk from the city center & offers a great escape from the super busy city.
This B&B is a real gem: the rooms are great (would advise upper floor rooms as they have higher ceilings, more light and a fan as well as an airco. Ground floor rooms do not have a fan & the ceilings are quite low), the service is great and the owners are lovely and very knowledgeable. Our stay was full of lovely small touches: a welcome drink and a welcome massage, an afternoon tea every day, free transport to/from Ubud (handy when it is raining!), coffee and tea facilities and bottled water in the room. I especially enjopyed the open air shower, so lovely! The rooms are decorated with exceptional taste an an eye for detail.
There is lots to do at the Villa: a great swiming pool, free bikes and well- described walks through the rice fields.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Villa Sabandari & would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a bit of luxury and relaxing evnironment. A great retreat for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsterdamgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This really perfect little hotel, 15 minutes walk to the centre, is a hidden secret.
Perfect rooms, view, staff and diner. Great swimmingpool. Bikes for free.
If you are looking for a special experience in a great boutique hotel, this is the right one.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjeggink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

After reading the rave reviews on Tripadvisor and after visiting the Villa Sabandari website, one should be forgiven for having very high expectations indeed. Well, I can assure you that Villa Sabandari really is all it's cranked up to be and more!

I spent a total of 15 nights in the hotel and by the end I felt like it was home. Both the owners and the staff are extraordinarily friendly, and will go out of their way to accomodate your every wish and desire.

Villa Sabandari is far enough out of Ubud city centre to enjoy a haven of tranquility, but close enough to pop in and out of the city should you wish to do so. Anyhow, the ready availability of the transport service to the city centre was very much appreciated. We were never left waiting for a moment!

A very positive review also for the kitchen staff who were able to come up with various original breakfasts, brilliant snacks, wonderful afternoon tea and last but not least having dinner in the hotel really is a must, as you will struggle to find its equal in the centre.

In terms of accomodation even the most demanding and pampered guests will not feel short shifted. Apart from the modern and relaxing atmosphere, the attention to detail (flowers everywhere, not a spick of dust in sight) is what really shines here. I hope the owners Dirk and Saar can keep up the very high level that they are maintaining at the moment.

I can recommend a stay at Villa Sabandari to everyone, I would dare to say that the stay here is worth the travel just as much as the scenery of Bali itself.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BerndWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,263 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#5 of 199 in Ubud
371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 199 in Ubud
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#2 of 629 in Ubud
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Byasa Ubud
Byasa Ubud
#1 of 609 in Ubud
136 reviews
6.3 mi away
Saudara Home
Saudara Home
#3 of 629 in Ubud
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sabandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sabandari

Address: Jalan Pura Gunung Sari 4 | Banjar Ambengan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 629 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £80 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sabandari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel hidden in the rice fields, yet at walking distance from the center of Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Sabandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sabandari Hotel Ubud
Villa Sabandari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing