We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A private oasis in the jungle with unbeatable and unobtrusive service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #10 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A private oasis in the jungle with unbeatable and unobtrusive service”
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Much love and care is reflected in the details at The Purist. Its design is remarkable and tasteful. Every single member of staff is very warm, friendly and pro-active, anticipating any needs you might have. They go above and beyond to ensure your comfort and to fulfill every request. Main meals are made to order therefore you need to order in advance because they fetch their ingredients locally to ensure serving the freshest food.

We stayed in the Jungle Villa which is situated right beside the gorgeous main infinity pool. Although the other villas were occupied, it felt as if the place was pretty much all ours. The atmosphere is very peaceful and secluded. Perfect for a romantic hideaway but equally great for the family, as we were a couple with an infant. Food, spa, transportation and babysitting costs were all very reasonable. On our last day there was quite a bit of noise from the construction next to our villa and they offered to move us to another but we didn't bother because it really wasn't that bad.

The only thing we noted was that it probably wasn't the best place for toddlers. Our baby could only crawl, which was fine, but we didn't think it was conducive to little feet exploring around the outside living/eating area of the villa. Nevertheless, we highly recommend The Purist to those who appreciate well-designed, tranquil, boutique accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevensFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    64
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
124
338
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This was our first time in Bali, a lot of people had told us it was a wonderful place so we gave it a shot. We checked trip advisor and the Purist seemed the best place to go as a family of five (my husband and I and our three kids, 17, 14 and 11).
We were off to a great start when we arrived at the airport and we were warmly received by a 5 staff members, including the manager, who helped us with airport security and our luggage. We were then taken to the Villas in a spacious van with much needed air conditioning.
When we got to the hotel we were amazed by the design of the whole area, it just seemed to fit in perfectly with the nature that surrounded. Trust me when I say the real experience is a lot better than what you can find in pictures, and these already look great.
My husband and I stayed in the jungle villa, wonderful design right in the middle of the jungle. A couple things I loved about it where the small fish pond we had in our room and being right next to the big pool. Our kids where in the timor villa, which had wonderful views since it was more elevated and it was slightly bigger.
The service was outstanding, every single member of the staff was always willing to help and make our stay more comfortable, always with a smile in their face. They also took us to key places in Bali and served as great tour guides, not only driving us there but stopping to show us the great temples and rice fields around the area. Furthermore the manager and Alberto, the owner himself, where always around, kindly recommending places to go.
That’s the other thing about the Purist, the location is great. It was just a couple of minutes from the center of Ubud and its markets, surrounded by an exotic jungle, beautiful rice fields and impressive temples. You really felt like you were in the heart of Bali.
The hotel also had great food service, a relaxing spa and very nice pools, so that if you did not want to go out and visit Bali you could have a great relaxing time in the villas.
We all had a great time and by the end of out stay we did not want to leave. We look forward to going back to Bali and when we do we will most definitely be returning to the Purist =

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salifldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Fantastic service, beautifully clean private villas, with friendly cooperative staff and plenty of peace and quiet.

The food was a good, fresh selection and very tasty.

The spa provided the best massage ever!!!!

Its a great spot, out of town and sharing rural living with roosters crowing in the distance in the morning. Congratulations on a great place to stay for week to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandKeryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Loved all the art details in the room. The food was tasty, fresh and reasonably priced! Both of us had a great time here, it was our honeymoon. We came during the rainy season but it was alright as you get umbrellas provided with the room and can take them with you when you go out. This place thinks of all the details...they provide bicycles, and a Mac computer in the lounge if you want to get internet. We are looking forward to come back for more of this place!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NissaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

The place is charming, the staff was great. We really had a good time there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tissa36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2011

The Purist is a beautifully designed boutique hotel.
We loved our villa (Bamboo) and great service.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrei8papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We stayed at the Purist in January 2011 and were extremely impressed with everything about the hotel. It is a boutique style hotel where it feels like you are staying in your own private home. The staff are super friendly and serve every need and beyond with a smile. We stayed in both the Bamboo house and the Timor Villa - both of which are beautifully designed. The Timor takes the cake as it has stupendous views and is nestled into the rainforest. This place was the highlight of the hotels we stayed in throughout our two weeks in Bali. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingypsy1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,056 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#11 of 196 in Ubud
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Property: The Purist Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four minutes’ drive from Ubud centre, The Purist Villas is a design-inspired oasis of calm. A collection of seventeen unique and spacious luxury residences, villas, and suites, most with private swimming pools, complimented by an elevated wellness centre, poolside restaurant and lounge areas. Contemporary and Indonesian architecture has been thoughtfully combined, well-furnished, and styled with a large and valuable collection of fine textiles and Indonesian artefacts. Owner-designers Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes, together with architect Joost van Grieken have created a most spectacular villa resort, a beautiful estate, in harmony with the landscape of the lush valley of the Tawar river. Featuring an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, lava & limestone, green river stones, and authentic artefacts from years of traveling the Indonesian archipelago. Balisimo restaurant, situated poolside in the peaceful Purist environment, honours the slow food philosophy. Fresh, organic produce prepared by an experienced team of Chefs results in a collection of healthy and delicious seasonal menus. The devoted and well-trained team of dedicated Butlers are intuitive to guests needs, establishing the Purist villas excellent reputation for superior, attentive service. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and uses high-end Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and wellbeing, focusing on re-balancing energy. The Purist's meditation and yoga therapists are finely attuned to the practice of working with energy, having mastered the art of mindful touch. The Purist Villas have brought a new benchmark of luxury boutique villa resort accommodation to Ubud and should not be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing