We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Purist Villas and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$414
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$699
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$525
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$722
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$615
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveller rating
578
71
12
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
71
12
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshill villabamboo villatimor villaprivate pooljungle roomgarden suitethe rivermain poolpure blissour honeymoonoutdoor areadining tablehotel driverpiece of heavenstayed nightsperfect stayshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 664 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2011

It took me ages to pick where we were going to stay in Ubud (so many of the hotels have fantastic reviews!) but I am SO happy that we ended up at the Purist. The architecture is stunning and the atmosphere tranquil and relaxing. But the thing that makes the Purist stand out is its impeccable service and attention to detail.

The hotel is situated a 10 minute drive outside of Ubud in the perfect location to escape noise and stress. We were welcomed after a hot morning's travel with a refreshing drink and flower garland. We were then taken to our room (the Garden Room) which was just incredible! We had a private pool all to ourselves and the room was beautifully decorated with furniture sourced from Timor. The service was flawless and the staff went out of their way to help organise a cycling tour and a cooking class for us. The only problem we had was difficulty getting the hotel's driver to pick us up from town in the evening for 2 nights running, but the problem was immediately dealt with by the manager and we were treated to complimentary sparkling wine by means of apology. Fantastic. The breakfast was the best we had in Bali and we had it served by our pool each morning. We also enjoyed a massage and body scrub in the spa, which left my husband's skin the softest it has ever been. The hotel was fully booked when we were there but we barely saw any other guests and felt like we had the place to ourselves. On our last day we had to leave early to catch our flight but we were given a breakfast box to take with us and some bangles for me to keep.

Overall, a truly amazing and wonderful experience, a perfect end to our honeymoon!

Room Tip: The Garden Room has its own private pool...highly recommended!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ct2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Wonderful place and people to come back to and unwind. We will be back som time soon.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different villas, Hill Villa and the River Residence, both very beautiful and and tranquil
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjersti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had the most wonderful week at The Purist Villas in October, it is such a beautiful space in which to have a holiday. The architecture and design of the villas, and the art the owners have collected perfectly enhance the beauty, peace and tranquility of the setting, and we found it so very easy to relax and thoroughly unwind even though we only had a week's holiday.
We cannot speak highly enough of the staff who helped make our stay so memorable. Yudana, Agus, Komeng, and Antara, together with Gede at Reception, and Ketut the beauty therapist with the magic hands were all professional, warm, open, and generous, and all the staff we met were friendly and welcoming. Somewhere in the background there is also a very good chef, so we rarely ate out but rather relished the treat of having dinner each night served on our balcony overlooking the glorious gardens and surrounding countryside. Excellent service, great food, heavenly massages, all in the most serene of settings! Bali has always been a special place for me, The Purist takes it to another level, and has our highest recommendations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon and can't think of a more perfect place. We stayed in the Jungle villa which I think is perfect if you want more privacy. The villas are beautiful and nicely designed using balinese style furniture. The whole time we were there we felt like we had the place to ourselves.

Every morning we looked forward to breakfast and their delicious banana pancakes. The Purist has a butler that will attend to your every need and the staff is just helpful and friendly. When we went out on the town the staff would arrange everything and also periodically check in with your driver to see where you are and make sure everything was going according to plan. The chef at the Purist is great and we would often have dinner at our villa.

When we did go out on the town we would find ourselves missing the villa and wanting to go back just to relax.

Will definitely go back for future anniversaries!

Tip: Normally if ordering room service or food from the restaurant you will need to allow about 2 hours notice since they buy all the ingredients fresh. If you've arranged a driver through the Purist to pick you up from the airport, they allow you to order from their restaurant in the car. We were planning on eating dinner there the first night so we could relax, not knowing that they needed the 2 hours notice! We wish we ordered from the car because it was more than an hour's drive to Ubud from Denpasar airport.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lit2kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We needed to chill out, relax, have a quiet time to start with then explore UBUD. We had 6 days - and never felt like leaving. The style and staff at the Purist Villas exceeded all our expectations. We had looked at so many alternatives (both Bali and the South Pacific) before finally choosing the Purist and we couldn't have been more impressed.
The meals if required are beautiful and the breakfast is fresh - their take on Eggs Benedict is to be seen to be appreciated.
The Spa is also so delightful we ended up having a different massage every day, and the Purist massage was one of the best.
Transport via shuttle in and out of UBUD met all our needs, and no request, whether it be for advice, activities or restaurant bookings was anything other than carried out exactly as required. In fact being just out of the main areas was a bonus.
Having a Butler sounds somewhat pretentious, but they were the friendliest and most helpful people imaginable.
Yvonne & Alberto and staff will be seeing us again.

Room Tip: River 1 is great for space and couple, and can be combined with River 2 with family or another couple. The pool is really private and feels like its your own. All the Villas are different but all of the same class, first class
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews