We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Purist Villas and Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$288
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,068
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$898
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$539
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$508
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
572
70
12
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
572
70
12
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshill villabamboo villatimor villaprivate pooljungle roomgarden suitethe rivermain poolpure blissour honeymoonoutdoor areadining tablehotel driverpiece of heavenstayed nightsperfect stayshuttle service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed at the Purist in June 2012, and the hotel was downright beautiful, in a nice area of Bali (Ubud, in the mountain region). The staff at Purist were helpful without being obtrusive, breakfast was always very tasty, and the one dinner we had there was scrumptious. Would recommend unconditionally, especially for couples.

Room Tip: They're all great! Love the private pools (Bamboo suite, others)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alpinecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stunning. Pure luxury. Peaceful. Tranquil. Calming. Can't think of enough positive words to describe this place. If you can, stay here!!!

We spent 5 nights here and wish we had longer. We wanted a Hill villa but they could only fit us in one night and then we moved to the garden villa. Actually, whilst the Hill villa is larger, both were equally stunning.

The service was the best I've experienced anywhere I've stayed. The rooms are beautiful. Outdoor space and private pools are hidden away and for the five nights we were there, we were unaware of any other guests.

The room service was perfect, discrete, and special. Food amazing and if you order mid afternoon your table is prepared at your room and you can eat in the privacy of your own outdoor space.

There is absolutely nothing I can fault. This was a very special place indeed. And Ubud too is fantastic!

My only complaint was that I had to leave eventually!!

Room Tip: Choose one with a private pool but they are all amazing!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Blue021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in July and had a wonderful stay. On arrival, we were upgraded from the Jungle Villa (no pool) to the Bamboo Villa with private pool which was amazing! The Balinese style of the villa was stunning. We spent our days relaxing by our private pool - but also spending time at the main pool which was absolutely beautiful and felt like another private pool as noone was ever around.

Breakfast was very high quality and we had a pasta dish for lunch served at our villa which was delicious - they definitely have a good chef onsite. Enjoyed a complimentary Balinese massage which was great.

The best thing about the Purist is the service. All the staff are so attentive and friendly. I was even given a Balinese set of wooden bangles as a gift when we checked out! We will definitely stay again if we pass through Ubud again.

One thing to note is the cockerals/roosters in Ubud. They like to start early (about 5am and then get full on loud at about 6.30am) It's just something to be prepared for, because you can't stop them and they will wake you - but once over the shock, I usually managed to get back to sleep and sleep through them. This isn't limited to the Purist - you'll hear them everywhere in Ubud.

Definitely go to Terrazo for dinner one night - the food was the best we had on our whole trip and the setting is beautiful. Laughing Buddha is good for pre-dinner drinks with live music and a good atmosphere.

Room Tip: Bamboo Villa was absolutely beautiful.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ali27Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My wife and i have been visiting Bali for 20 years now staying in various types of accommodation. The Purist Villas is by far the best, very private and personal from the time you enter the property, going through check in to getting to your villa. Presentation and decor was fabulous with the little extras as you discover throughout the room. Outdoor shower was fantastic. Food is five star and in fact we opted to eat in because it was so good and exceptionally presented, breakfast, lunch and dinners all brilliant. The staff from the manager, office administration, butlers and massage girls were very friendly and professional in their duties. Massages the BEST and had them all. If you are contemplating where to stay stop looking because this is the place. We are booked to go back in January with our children......cant wait.

Room Tip: Garden villa, the best good size pool and outdoor area, your own oasis.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

What a place! Beautifully presented, clean, contemporary, LOVELY staff, great massages, great pool (private and the "shared" one), awesome food!

Honestly the food was incredibly good. We enjoyed every dish we tried. Being vegetarian the choice was limited but not to the chef. He offered to prepare different dishes for us. The presentation was great. Every dish a little work of art. Done with much love.

The only thing that was a little disappointing was the privacy. Other places we have stayed we got villas that were completely private. No one could walk in or see you by your pool etc. The Purist is more open. Some villas are even connected. Which is great if you stay with friends but not as a couple.

The outdoor dining area and one of the daybeds were right next to the path. So everyone walking past could see you. Same for the private pool. Really a shame because otherwise the place would get 120 % …

Our flights were in the late afternoon and even that our villa was already booked they let us move into another villa for a late check out.

I can happily recommend the place!

Mrs. V.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews