We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Purist Villas and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #6 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“10 star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

My wife and i honeymooned at the purist for 5 days, we stayed in the hill villa and loved it & we never wanted to leave. Starting with our driver Wayan who is a great guy, was all to happy to share his knowledge of Bali and its culture with us,all the butlers ,reception,the kitchen staff,the groundskeepers everyone at this villa made our stay exceptional.The food is the best we have ever had on any vacation anywhere,everyone was friendly and nothing was to much trouble.Would recommend this to anyone.Had great reflexology massage from Ketut,she has magic hands.The Hill villa was great,own pool,very private,big and spacious,and very comfortable,cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    57
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
113
309
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loenen aan de Vecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed in the hill villa for 3 nights. We had the best Bali experience. We travelled with 2 small children (1+3y old) and it was wonderfull to have dinner on your own terrace with the restaurant experience. The food was amazing as was the staff of the hotel. We had our own pool and 2 bedrooms and an outdoor shower and bath. The villa is very tastfull but still feels homy.
The breakfast is fantastic and the service is excellent.
A warm welcome and stay. For us the Purist is the best hotel in Bali.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong in the Purist. All the villa's are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Odettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We have never stayed in Ubud before, even though we have been to Bali many times. I decided on the Purist after reading many reviews, and I am so glad that I did. We stayed four nights in River Villa 1, it was beautifully and tastefully decorated. It was very peaceful and quiet, and even though we didn't have our own pool, we only saw one other person using the main pool in our whole stay. We enjoyed breakfast each day in our villa and afternoon tea by the pool. We ate one dinner in the villa and that was very enjoyable, accompanied by a huge thunderstorm and heavy rain!

The most wonderful thing about the Purist, though, is the staff. So friendly and helpful, always on hand for whatever was needed - thank you Sugeng, Gede, Agus, Antara and "little" Gede - you helped to make our holiday the best ever.

I would highly recommend the Purist to anyone looking for a peaceful and serene holiday within easy reach of the joys of Ubud.

PS: look out for their new property, Villa Levi, in Canggu coming up later in the year - WOW! Maybe if the Purist got the same soft pillows as the ones at Villa Levi, it would be even better :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We got in after a 2 hour taxi drive from Jimbaran, where we stayed for one night after a late arrival in Denpasar. After having been in Jakarta for a 3-day business trip, the serenity of The Purist was great.

We weren't allowed to carry one of our own bags because and I quote: "It's your holiday sir". Service like this continued throughout our stay. Always with a smile, the butlers catered to our every need and were very friendly.

The villa was great. There's we were staying in the Jungle Villa which has lots of privacy, a great bathroom with stone bath, open shower and little fish in a pond (yes... in the bathroom). Also there's a spacious private deck with lounge bed and a stone-with-wood dining table. The villa's doors lead to the excellent shared pool (infinity style) and both the pool and the villa look out over the jungle. After a refreshing shower, we had lunch on the private deck.

It was my girlfriend's birthday (which the staff had figured out by themselves, without my letting them know) that day, so we decided to stay in for the night and have a romantic dinner. This is a special of the resort, $100-125 per couple. We came back from Ubud and were welcomed in the greatest of all surprises: flowers on the deck, followed by flower on the bed, followed by (open up the bathroom door) a flower bath. Incense in the rooms and on the deck. Just WONDERFUL! We first had a bath, after which our dinner was setup.

The dinner was amazing as well. A 4-course with choices between a European-style menu and a traditional Balinese menu. We opted for the latter and that was great!

During the night I got sick. According to my (medically skilled) girlfriend, it was a food infection, cause by something I ate a few days ago. I was in bed all day next day and the staff took care of me with special herbal tea and other niceties. All-in-all not a bed place to catch a little sickness in.

A few minor things that could be improved (not that it really bothered during this otherwise GREAT never to forget experience)
- the bed pillow are a bit on the hard side for our taste (note that we didn't bother to ask for softer ones, maybe they're around)
- all the toiletries are great, natural ingredients. The conditioner however can best be avoided if you have curly hair because it gets tangled
- the taxi drop to the airport is a bit pricey. We took a normal taxi from Jimbaran (further than the airport) which was about half the price

Don't let these minor things put you off by the way. In total, it's a great place!! We'd love to be back some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jungle Villa. This was really nice; but not if you want a private swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlefArendsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Just returned from 4 days at the Purist Ubud, Bali. This is a truly remarkable place in the sense that as soon as you check in you feel totally relaxed, and pampered. The staff are superb, and nothing was to much trouble for them. We had come to stay in Ubud from Seminyak, which is a much more hustle and bustle town. The whole feeling of both the Purist and Ubud is so chilled that you dont want to leave. We stayed in River Villa 1. im sure our butler thought we were a little stupid, as when we entered our villa my partner and I just looked at each other agog, and didnt say a word. Our terraces, one from the lounge and the other from our bedroom, look out onto jungle, which is quite amazing. The outside bathroom is great with a stone bath and a fabulous separate shower. There is a dressing room area with a stone sink pedistal. The bedroom is very large with a kingsize bed, looking out to the jungle. My only complaint and this is very minor is that there could be more drawer space. We tend to travel with lots of luggage so notice things like this, but normal people would probably find the drawer space adequate. There is a great infinity pool, shred with three of the villas, but we hardly saw the other people so it was almost like having a private pool. Would definately go back to the Purist and hope to in 2014. Steve

Room Tip: Try either River Villa 1 or 2 for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevefrombushey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We had a wonderful trip at The Purist. We stayed in the Hill Villa for 4 nights. The room, or shall I say house was spacious, comfortable and luxurious. Our private pool was beautiful as well, honestly wish we could have spent more time in our actual room! The service was fantastic, all of the butlers who helped us were very friendly and gracious. The front desk assistance was great and they were always able to arrange transportation with ease. We would love to come back one day and spend more time at the hotel as it is definitely a special experience.

Room Tip: The Hill Villa offers a very private stay as it's location is higher up above some of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Three days and nights in heaven.
Check the website for specials.
Let them organize everything for you: from taxi service downtown to motorbike-rentals, all at reasonable prices.
Except a transfer from/and to airport: you can get it for half price directly per mail from Ubud taxi.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
0.7 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Property: The Purist Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four minutes’ drive from Ubud centre, The Purist Villas is a design-inspired oasis of calm. A collection of seventeen unique and spacious luxury residences, villas, and suites, most with private swimming pools, complimented by an elevated wellness centre, poolside restaurant and lounge areas. Contemporary and Indonesian architecture has been thoughtfully combined, well-furnished, and styled with a large and valuable collection of fine textiles and Indonesian artefacts. Owner-designers Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes, together with architect Joost van Grieken have created a most spectacular villa resort, a beautiful estate, in harmony with the landscape of the lush valley of the Tawar river. Featuring an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, lava & limestone, green river stones, and authentic artefacts from years of traveling the Indonesian archipelago. Balisimo restaurant, situated poolside in the peaceful Purist environment, honours the slow food philosophy. Fresh, organic produce prepared by an experienced team of Chefs results in a collection of healthy and delicious seasonal menus. The devoted and well-trained team of dedicated Butlers are intuitive to guests needs, establishing the Purist villas excellent reputation for superior, attentive service. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and uses high-end Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and wellbeing, focusing on re-balancing energy. The Purist's meditation and yoga therapists are finely attuned to the practice of working with energy, having mastered the art of mindful touch. The Purist Villas have brought a new benchmark of luxury boutique villa resort accommodation to Ubud and should not be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing