We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bali bliss!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #10 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bali bliss!!!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

this is truelly a fabulous place with the most amazing staff. from the hotel manager and to every member off the villa staff.......you feel like they are their to make your vacation truelly bliss. food was excellent, chauffer tour was excellent, i don't think i have even one thing i could say was ordinary. if you want to hit the cultural center of bali and stay in an exotic yet luxurious envirement this is the place to stay......loved it!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the garden villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surekha911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    64
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
124
338
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed in River Villa 2 and were blown away by the architecture and internal design. We didn't have a private pool but the shared infinity pool was quiet and a stones throw away. Service throughout was fantastic, from bringing our engagement ring on a rose petalled tray to iPod docking stations on request. Food was amazing - I would highly recommend the eggs benedict. Not too far away from ubud. Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRipley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancram, NY
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I spent sixteen idyllic days relaxing at the Purist and regretted not staying longer. We booked into the Jungle Villa and despite the generous offer to pass a few days at one of the other six villas on the property we particularly liked the privacy of this setting, with a flowing stream to one side and groves of bamboo and palm trees on the other. The main swimming pool lies just a few paces away and since we rarely encountered any other guests it almost seemed as though it had been reserved exclusively for our own pleasure. The service too was flawless. Every member of the staff was superbly attentive and welcoming, to the extent that we departed with the sense that each had become more than a fleeting acquaintance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MKBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

The most beautiful setting has been found for these 7 individual Balinese villas set amongst the rain forest in Northern Ubud. Each villa is secluded away from the others and has a small, private pool, deck and some have carp ponds. We stayed in an original Timor house with beautifully carved, wooden doors and walls and an outside stone bath and shower set on a hidden deck so that you feel as though you're bathing in the forest, simply enchanting!

There is a huge, communal infinity pool with a bar area if you feel like company and you can have lunch and dinner served there if you prefer not to take it on your own terrace or deck. The wonderful staff will arrange taxis to take and fetch you into town for anything you need and there is a spa somewhere in the grounds, though we never bothered to find it, didn't want to move from our little heaven!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hazelverity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed 4 nights a the Purist in Ubud and it was a wonderful experience. We stayed in the Hill Villa which is amazing, in a complete balinese style. We had a nice private pool were you can swim bit (even if the main pool is better to crawl!!).

The main reception is a charming main room outdoor (a bit like in the movie eat, pray, love with Julia Robert) were you can read books, use the computer, have an afternoon tea or dinner.

The food is simply delicious, the staff can't be nicer, the location is perfect because not one the crowed center of Ubud but next to the rice paddies.

Perfect stay in couple or in family.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PdLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Service staff are super accommodating and thoughtful from the day we checked in till we left the place. We were there for two days. Earlier we had booked the river villa but upon hearing that we were there for honeymoon, they upgraded us to garden villa!

On the first evening, we were given a free ride to town where we had dinner at bebek bengil (dirty duck); before that the villa staff even offered to make a reservation for us at bebek bengil. Tip: u can ask for a free ride from bebek bengil back to the villa.

On the 2nd day, we engaged the villa driver wayang who drove us to mount kintamani. He speaks good english and is very humble, sharing everything under the sun about the balinese culture. Best part was when he heard that we wanted to try the babi guling, he bought it from his village to our villa for us to try! We were super touched!

Lastly, on our final day of checking out, the hotel presented us with a small gift (handcrafted wooden bangles in weaved box). We also did a one hr massage and the therapist was very good with her strong even massage strokes.

All in all, it has been a very heartwarming experience with purist villa, a true reflection of the ubud's kind spirit!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sammmonsterputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I must say it's the best hotel-experience I've ever had. Spending 3 days here and I'm particularly impressed by the outstanding service here, and I know I have to register on tripadvisor and share my experience to you even my English is poor. That's what I can only do for all the staff in The Purist. Thanks to all of them!

They have a butler system, what's make you feel just like home. They are sooooo friendly and enthusiastically, all your requests will be taken seriously, and more than your expects.

On the way to hotel, the nice drvier (sorry I can't remember his name..) helped me take away a package of Soto Ayam, (There's a Local Price and Visitor Price here, and not all the natives can speek English). Wheng we arrived at Purist, the butler poured the soup in a bowl and spicy in two saucer, ※Served in a Great Tempetature!!!※

That evening a pretty lady at the front desk gave me a overall introduction of Ubud, and because of her professional suggestion, we had a great trip next day. Our guide Wayang is a nice person, and very sonsy, zeallous and funny. The trip with him is full of surprising, and he's also very knowlegeabal. After a forgetable day of planting rice, visiting Temples ,Volcano, Lakes and Coffee Plantation(has Lingsang here!),he took us to a very small but delicous warung near his home, they cooked in a very native and idiomatic way. And we also ate Bakso\Pisang Goreng and Gado-gado, all taste good!
Mr.Wayang can offer a sunrise trip of volcano and he knows well Bali, if you need a guide, trust me he's the best!!

Every evening I fall asleep with the nice chirping of insects, which is waving, zigzag and faint, much more beautiful than melody. Every morning I was waken up by birds' tweet and vally sunshine, took a shower outside and heve breakfast at balcony which confront of the hill. Breakfast is buffet and served from 7 to 11. They are very punctual, exaclly on the minute you've reserved.

Butler service is 24hs, what surprised me most is one day I asked for a sewing kit, they went outside bought it for me!!! And the other day my ancles were bleeding, so I called for some iodine, after then, all the staff inquired after about my ancles when they saw me,

Decoration here are given a lot of care, I love all of them!!! I'll uploading some pictures later.

Location is great too, 20-30 min walk to Ubud main street.

Strongly recommended The Purist Villa & Spa , you won't be disappointing. And it is the paradise where you looking for, trust me.

And wish go back to Purist next year!!! Can't Wait!!!

Room Tip: The Hill Villa has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anscor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,055 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#11 of 196 in Ubud
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Property: The Purist Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four minutes’ drive from Ubud centre, The Purist Villas is a design-inspired oasis of calm. A collection of seventeen unique and spacious luxury residences, villas, and suites, most with private swimming pools, complimented by an elevated wellness centre, poolside restaurant and lounge areas. Contemporary and Indonesian architecture has been thoughtfully combined, well-furnished, and styled with a large and valuable collection of fine textiles and Indonesian artefacts. Owner-designers Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes, together with architect Joost van Grieken have created a most spectacular villa resort, a beautiful estate, in harmony with the landscape of the lush valley of the Tawar river. Featuring an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, lava & limestone, green river stones, and authentic artefacts from years of traveling the Indonesian archipelago. Balisimo restaurant, situated poolside in the peaceful Purist environment, honours the slow food philosophy. Fresh, organic produce prepared by an experienced team of Chefs results in a collection of healthy and delicious seasonal menus. The devoted and well-trained team of dedicated Butlers are intuitive to guests needs, establishing the Purist villas excellent reputation for superior, attentive service. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and uses high-end Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and wellbeing, focusing on re-balancing energy. The Purist's meditation and yoga therapists are finely attuned to the practice of working with energy, having mastered the art of mindful touch. The Purist Villas have brought a new benchmark of luxury boutique villa resort accommodation to Ubud and should not be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing