We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Purist Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kamandalu Ubud(Ubud)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Origin Ubud(Ubud)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
571
70
12
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
70
12
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshill villabamboo villatimor villaprivate pooljungle roomgarden suitethe rivermain poolpure blissour honeymoonoutdoor areadining tablehotel driverpiece of heavenstayed nightsperfect stayshuttle service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We spent three nights there. The place is a little far from downtown and they only have two times' free shuttle to downtown everyday so it is not so convenient compared with Alam Jiwa. The first morning, we ere awaked by the loud american music played by the neighbor. It was very annoying. The manager helped to deal with it. Another night, a neighbor played their TV very loud ... But the villa is great. We lived in the Bamboo villa which has private pool. It is very cool. But the big pool is very nice too and very few people use it. Next time, I would like to live in the jungle villa or river view villa which is more natural for me. The food there are very delicious. We tried one dinner, two times snacks. All are very good. The service are very international standard but remind me a little bit colonial style. The butlers are all very good looking and professional. I got very serious bites there and I told them the last day. They went out to get a local mosquito oil for me which is very helpful! All in all, we had great time there and enjoyed the villa a lot. We will choose it again next time.

Room Tip: It is better for a couple not for a big family!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 499CatherineL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Thanks so much to ALLof the staff at The Purist that made our first stay in Bali so amazing. We stayed 7 nights in the Jungle villa which was just perfect for my husband and I. Very quiet & private, beautiful furnishings in the villa (like all of the villas and the rest of the resort!), and service was top notch. Coming from Canada, we were in awe of the beautiful surroundings, the art work, stone & wood carvings and general peaceful feeling of the resort. Our biggest decision of the day was what time to have breakfast, and whether to have it served at our villa or poolside. We felt so very spoiled. Although this villa did not have its own private pool, the main pool was like having our own as there were very few times that other guests were using it, plus some of the other villas have their own private pool.
We had a few dinners at the resort all of which were delicious and beautifully prepared.
We spent a few days touring Ubud, taking in a few hikes (recommended by the staff) into the stunning countryside and also did a couple of very enjoyable day trips with Darma, one of the Purist's drivers/guides. He was a pleasure to be with and we thoroughly enjoyed our couple of days with him.
Thanks again for a truly wonderful experience - we hope to be back some day! John & Lorraine

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCBHLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

4 nights in the Bamboo villa with it's private pool. Top of the art service, beautiful rooms with incredible design and beautiful art, the feeling of being pampered at all time without being hassled!
The Purist is an amazing place that gives its hosts the opportunity to relax in a marvellous environment and to discover all that Ubud has to offer. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: All villas are different and have their own qualities. We loved the Bamboo villas but the jungle ones, located next to the main pool are great too.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic stay at the Purist. Service was excellent, meals were great as were the spa treatments. If you just want to put your feet up and have little interaction with the outside world this is a great place to spend some time. We stayed one night in a River View Villa and 3 nights in the Bamboo Villa. Both were great although it was nice having the private pool in the Bamboo Villa as an addition. Staff serviced the rooms on multiple occasions throughout the day and timed it well for when you went out of the villa so it did not interrupt your privacy. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

A excellently ran, small, friendly, asthetically pleasing resort. Nothing was too much trouble for everyone we encountered on our week long stay here. The staff were courteous without being overbaring. They got it absolutely spot on in every regard. I would not hesitate to recommend The Purist to any of our friends. In fact friends have already asked, what was it like as they wanted to stay here. My advice would be to see for yourself. It is probably one of the best stays we have had in Bali, if not Asia, after living here 13 years.

We stayed in the Bamboo villa, again, asthetically pleasing and docorated in a minimal Asian Contemporary style. It had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in.

The whole place has an unnerving attention to detail and that goes for all the staff as well, who were just simply brilliant in every regard.

I can understand when previous reviewers have stated that by reviewing The Purist it no longer becomes a 'hidden gem', but I can't let such service and place go without a big, big thank you...

Matt & Naomi

Room Tip: We had no complaints with the Bamboo Villa, with it's own private pool and walled in seclusion away from the main pool, which with only a handful of villas was always empty anyway
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Makkun70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews