We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous place hidden in Ubud” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Purist Villas and Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #8 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Marvelous place hidden in Ubud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked a little villa with my family. The hotel is located in Ubud but you feel like being in the middle of the jungle. Design, decoration, comfort, food, bar, pool, spa, service... everything is really nice. This is a 20 mn walk to Ubud center but they have a driver and they also have complimentary bikes that we used to ride in the middle of rice plantations very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gihef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    57
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
113
309
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We have spent 4 nights here as part of our honeymoon and it was been an amazing stay, the staff here are so friendly and the villa is gorgeous. You can walk in to Ubud from here and you are amongst all the local villages and rice paddie fields, breathtaking. You are so well looked after here, you feel like royality its just been a perfect experience for us. After staying in 2 private villas now that is the way I would always travel here now its the privacy but also being so close to the town centre. We had dinner and lunch here and both were oustanding. We both highly recommend this place to anyone. Also had a facial here which was lovely. There is a gym 100m up the road if you want to use it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

I went wid my wife for my honeymoon. It was truely the best experience we had. Everything was just perfect. The place. The private pool. The service. Ambience. Excellent staff...very humble n personalised. Would recommend everyone to stay there once atleast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coolbuddy872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

The Purist was the perfect retreat! The villas are gorgeous and the private pools are so romantic and lovely. I loved all the attention to detail in both the style and service. One of the best in-room dining experiences I have ever had - you place your order earlier in the day to allow time for staff to go to the market and buy the food fresh - then the chef prepares the meal, and they set up everything for the best al fresco dining in your villa. Truly amazing! The spa was also really great! Staff were professional and friendly. Lovely holiday!

Room Tip: The Garden Villa has the most amazing private pool and a great hang out area outside. The Bamboo Vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank julucid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I am writing this review whilst still staying at The Purist.

For our honeymoon we stayed first at the W Bali and now at the Purist, garden villa for 3 nights. Its certainly more quiet and private than the W. There are only a few villas here and all very self contained. Our villa has a large private pool and a resting area which is where we spend most of our time during the day.

Location wise we are further away from Ubud city centre and the shuttle only runs 3 times a day down to the city, 10am 5pm and 10pm. But if you are looking for a relaxing and private vacation then this is the place to be.

The staff are incredible. We have a butler who attends to all your needs. They always service your room when your not there, even if your just out for a walk. Breakfast is served where ever you want in the resort and you can chose what time.

Its a small property but maybe thats why service is top notch!

Our butler is going to serve our dinner now...time to eat!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsE818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and I stayed in the River Villa 2 in April 2013 for 5 nights. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and felt spoiled with the impeccable service we were provided (the female night time manager deserves an award!). The villa is beautifully decorated and modern. The butlers were amazing and always had a smile on their faces. They clean the room about twice a day (once, while you're gone morning and afternoon, and also an evening run to ensure your bedding is in place for you to jump right in!)
We had dinner once the first night we were there and the food was great.
They are located about 20 - 30 mins away from the center of Ubud (walking) and there are only two shuttle times during the day so it made it a little hard to schedule our day and to get around as it was extremely hot when we were there. However, they do have private drivers that you can hire to drive you into the center of town for $50,000 rupiah ( approx $5 CAD, the center of town is about 10-15 mins away considering traffic). You can also ask the restaurant/shop that you're at to call for a driver from the villa to pick you up. I found this helpful as we were scammed one night by taking a local taxi. Even though the location is not in central Ubud we were happy that we had our own personal oasis away from the action.
The river villa is located beside the jungle just off the main pool. We had the pool to ourselves for 3 out of the 5 days and if we wanted to jump in for a swim in the evening we were rarely disturbed. One thing to be aware of, there is construction going on next door for The Purist 2 so that did wake us up a couple mornings but the scenery and service overcame that.
Thank you for an amazing experience. We do hope to visit you again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kgmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We spent three nights there. The place is a little far from downtown and they only have two times' free shuttle to downtown everyday so it is not so convenient compared with Alam Jiwa. The first morning, we ere awaked by the loud american music played by the neighbor. It was very annoying. The manager helped to deal with it. Another night, a neighbor played their TV very loud ... But the villa is great. We lived in the Bamboo villa which has private pool. It is very cool. But the big pool is very nice too and very few people use it. Next time, I would like to live in the jungle villa or river view villa which is more natural for me. The food there are very delicious. We tried one dinner, two times snacks. All are very good. The service are very international standard but remind me a little bit colonial style. The butlers are all very good looking and professional. I got very serious bites there and I told them the last day. They went out to get a local mosquito oil for me which is very helpful! All in all, we had great time there and enjoyed the villa a lot. We will choose it again next time.

Room Tip: It is better for a couple not for a big family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 499CatherineL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
0.7 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#5 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Property: The Purist Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four minutes’ drive from Ubud centre, The Purist Villas is a design-inspired oasis of calm. A collection of seventeen unique and spacious luxury residences, villas, and suites, most with private swimming pools, complimented by an elevated wellness centre, poolside restaurant and lounge areas. Contemporary and Indonesian architecture has been thoughtfully combined, well-furnished, and styled with a large and valuable collection of fine textiles and Indonesian artefacts. Owner-designers Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes, together with architect Joost van Grieken have created a most spectacular villa resort, a beautiful estate, in harmony with the landscape of the lush valley of the Tawar river. Featuring an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, lava & limestone, green river stones, and authentic artefacts from years of traveling the Indonesian archipelago. Balisimo restaurant, situated poolside in the peaceful Purist environment, honours the slow food philosophy. Fresh, organic produce prepared by an experienced team of Chefs results in a collection of healthy and delicious seasonal menus. The devoted and well-trained team of dedicated Butlers are intuitive to guests needs, establishing the Purist villas excellent reputation for superior, attentive service. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and uses high-end Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and wellbeing, focusing on re-balancing energy. The Purist's meditation and yoga therapists are finely attuned to the practice of working with energy, having mastered the art of mindful touch. The Purist Villas have brought a new benchmark of luxury boutique villa resort accommodation to Ubud and should not be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing