We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #11 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Purist on our honeymoon and had an absolutely amazing time. I was delighted by the size of the rooms - they're huge with a large deck with full table and some have private pools. All of the rooms are super private too so you feel like you're in your own cottage in the midst of the jungle. The service was beyond great. We had our own butler who delivered us dinner, breakfast and afternoon tea. The staff was unbelievably friendly and accomodating. If I could give the Purist a 6 I would!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked our stay through a friends recommendation, and so thankful that we chose the Purist. A tiny, boutique hotel--with such amazing service! We almost never ran into anyone else on the property. It was peaceful, quiet and relaxing. Each individual villa was beautifully decorated! Highly recommend. Very romantic as well!

Room Tip: We liked the River suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loloa312Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have been on Purist for 4 nights. The experience was fantastic. They call you by your name, staff is very friendly. You have your meals when and where you want, great service. Your villa is surrounded by nature. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Wonderful. I can not tell about kids and fitness, I did not try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NogueiraDalmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at the Hill villa for 7 nights for my honeymoon. It is a small, boutique resort which has only 7 villas. It has all the charms that the small resort can offer you - intimate service and friendly staffs.

Hill villa is a duplex villa with a private pool. Master bedroom is upstairs and there is a separate bedroom which has two twin beds - can be useful for a family with children. It also has a beautiful and strong outdoor rain shower and the outdoor bath. All in all, very convenient and nicely set. Outside pool is not huge but a proper size for 2 people to play, there is also a small gazebo which has a comfortable daybed.

1. Intimacy & Privacy
As it is a small resort, you can hardly see other people. It is a perfect escape from outside world.
We had our breakfast (they will get you whatever they want to get!) in our balcony terrace every day. It was so peaceful.

2. Staffs
Staffs are very discreet, you can ask them whatever you want them to do, and they will do it for you! We asked them to book restaurants for us which they gladly did and everything was so well organised. You can count on them.

3. Hill Villa
I loved staying at the hill villa, but if you have a little child, you probably shouldn't stay here. As the bedroom is at upstairs and there is no bathroom upstairs, you should climb down the stairs to go to the toilet. But the stairs are really steep. It almost scared me!

Overall we were very happy to stay at the Purist and at Ubud. We loved Ubud...we will go back there some day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jenni-Ahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

While on hols in Bali, we went to meet our son who was staying in the purist villas. Wow, what an experience in luxury. We were to stay for one night but it was so nice we stayed a second one. It was no trouble to the staff to accommodate us. It was an oasis of calm, with lovely food on offer also. The private pool was fab. It felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. When our son joined us in The Magani a few days later, the purist provided an escort in the taxi with him and had him upgraded in the Magani. That was some service. Ubud is also very convenient for lots of sight seeing, including the monkey forest, the paddy fields, the temples. All in all a lovely location. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Go for the hill villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Really nice hotel so peaceful.
The staff is so discreet and so nice, very professional. Villas are tastefully decorated.
the food is great we had an in-room dining the first night and we really enjoyed it. We stayed at the garden pool villa. When you're staying in this wonderful hotel you don't even want to go go out on the town.
We highly recommend this hotel in Ubud.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank audrey014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I travelled with my sister and stayed in the Hill Villa. 2brm but steep steps to loft bedroom which is quite dark. Good sized pool but not a lot of sun and quite cold. Fantastic outdoor area where we spent a lot of time relaxing, dining and enjoying the beautiful breezes. We viewed the following villas - bamboo (great pool), river villas - Villa 1 being much bigger than Villa 2 as it has a fantastic lounge and deck area. The infinity pool in the resort is great and pretty good for swimming laps. The construction noise of the new villas annoyed me but didn't seem to bother my sister. We had a look through the construction site of the new villas and all I can say is 'WOW'. the place will be fantastic when construction is finished. the staff were really obliging and helpful. The breakfasts were good but the evening meals were great. They have a fantastic Chef on board.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WendyP32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 200 in Ubud
1,342 reviews
0.6 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 200 in Ubud
303 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#5 of 200 in Ubud
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 200 in Ubud
1,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £120 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four minutes’ drive from Ubud centre, The Purist Villas is a design-inspired oasis of calm. A collection of seventeen unique and spacious luxury residences, villas, and suites, most with private swimming pools, complimented by an elevated wellness centre, poolside restaurant and lounge areas. Contemporary and Indonesian architecture has been thoughtfully combined, well-furnished, and styled with a large and valuable collection of fine textiles and Indonesian artefacts. Owner-designers Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes, together with architect Joost van Grieken have created a most spectacular villa resort, a beautiful estate, in harmony with the landscape of the lush valley of the Tawar river. Featuring an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, lava & limestone, green river stones, and authentic artefacts from years of traveling the Indonesian archipelago. Balisimo restaurant, situated poolside in the peaceful Purist environment, honours the slow food philosophy. Fresh, organic produce prepared by an experienced team of Chefs results in a collection of healthy and delicious seasonal menus. The devoted and well-trained team of dedicated Butlers are intuitive to guests needs, establishing the Purist villas excellent reputation for superior, attentive service. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and uses high-end Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and wellbeing, focusing on re-balancing energy. The Purist's meditation and yoga therapists are finely attuned to the practice of working with energy, having mastered the art of mindful touch. The Purist Villas have brought a new benchmark of luxury boutique villa resort accommodation to Ubud and should not be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing