We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view but food not good”
Review of Tropical View Cafe

Tropical View Cafe
Ranked #141 of 754 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: With It's relaxed tropical atmosphere, can see rice paddy and sunset, We offers a selection of fresh food, is delicious in taste and value
California
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent view but food not good”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Best view for rice paddy. Also very large portion of meat compared to other restaurants in the area. However, the Indonesian chicken with rice was the worse I have eaten in indonesia or back home. Not spicy, sauce not consistent or tasty and chicken pieces very dried. Perhaps I just ordered the wrong meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    218
    70
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best Sweet&Sour Pork and view!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderful little cafe near the Monkey Forest in Ubud. I tried their onion rings (WOW!) and their sweet & sour pork. The pork was very delicious - the pork was crispy on the outside and tender and tasty on the inside; big chunky veggies and a nice sauce (not too sweet), served with a heart shaped pile of rice. The view is spectacular over the extensive rice fields. This could be a very romantic spot in the evening. Try it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaliBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice cafe near monkey forest”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This cafe set above the street has a view across the rice fields not to be missed.

The food was fresh and very flavoursome. Try the chicken and papaya salad for a taste sensation.

It was a bit touristy and the wifi did not work however the atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing.


Helpful?
Thank Matty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cronulla, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Tropical View Cafe Ubud”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have given a 5 star here for the most amazing view in the middle of Ubud

The hamburger was lovely but the view was the best part of it

Right next to the monkey forest it puzzled me that we had not come across this place before

The service was very good the toilets clean and everything ordered was pleasing and priced reasonably

We will return to this gem in Ubud

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sassafraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great View of Rice Fields”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I liked the long lazy mornings with a pot of tea and local rice breakfast. Easy going place with view of the paddies and often children flying kites. Nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropical View Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tropical View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing