We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view but some drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kunang-Kunang Guesthouse
Ranked #164 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
Oxford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice view but some drawbacks”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We went to the hotel and were shown our room - largish room and big bed; we booked and paid four days before we needed it. When we arrived to stay we were given a much smaller room, with a small bed - and it was the only room available. We were close to the entrance so it was noisy, had to ask for toilet paper and no soap or bottled water provided.

On the plus side - it is central, nearly opposite a great restaurant (Kafe), and looks over paddy fields. Staff friendly. A room on the upper floor is probably much nicer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarita555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    47
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
10
33
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights early May 2012. As we are a family of 3 adults, we have the room with 1 single and 1 double bed with ceiling fan located on the 3rd Floor. Room is cleaned everyday and is comfortable. The bathroom though not dirty but may need a bit upgrading as the water pressure for the shower is not vey strong. Our room is only equiped with bath towels without any other bathroom toiletries. However there is a small shop in front that see shampoo sachets and other needful toiletries if you have not brought it along with you. Garden compound and surrounding areas are well maintained, A hot flask of hot tea is brought up and is placed on the coffee table at our balcony for our consumption. Simple breakfast with either banana pancake or toast and fruits. The staff are generally very friendly and helpful. From our balcony we can see the rice fields. The air is quite cooling especially at night. What I like most staying here was waking up every morning to sound of nature especially the cheerful chirping birds. The hotel is also conveniently located as you can easily cover most of the shops and eateries on the main street on foot. Good Value

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

3 of us started our vacaton there and returned for a few more days before leaving for home. We found the staff accommodating,helpful and hospitable. The location is convenient to everything for walkers and the pool and premesis are constantly kept clean. That's why we returned there and hope to again. Krys,Ed and Brenda(loved the ducks and overlooking the rice paddy)

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krysanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights with the room facing the rice fields. Rooms are spotless n clean and comfortable.

I like how a flask of hot tea is placed on the table at the porch for free for your daily consumption.

Garden n guesthouse areas are well maintained. There is a small pool which is an added plus. Simple breakfast of fruits,eggs and toast is provided. Some may complain that portion is too small but really with the price you're paying, I was fine with the simple morning breakie.

Location wise, walking distance from most shops else a taxi could take u around.

Worth every penny for a peaceful and comfortable stay. The boys that took care of the place are friendly and are constantly upkeeping the place. Great job!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We were here at the end of Jan. A group of us. We had a range of rooms from AC superior to Fan standard (ground floor with bathtub and 3rd floor with shower). AC superior is facing the paddy field. All rooms were good, spacious, and clean, bathroom were clean. What i like is the sink in the bedroom rather than in the bathroom (standard rooms). The room was also done everyday. One night we had one guest talked at a level below us, and it was really loud. But, it never really bothered me as most of the time the hotel was quiet.
The pool was good, and we used it at night.
Breakfast was a bit small to us but sufficient, had banana pancake and fresh fruit with coffee/tea. Bfast is changed everyday.The bfast might be delayed as only 1 person is in charge, so if you are in a group get some to go first.
Parking will need to be done at the main road, except for motorcycle.
The only thing I have to really criticize is the drain leading to the guesthouse as it was blocked with garbage and the size was not sufficient to navigate the heavy pouring rain. So yeah, you might need to weave through a minor flash flood.
Staff was courteous and always helpful. I would recommend this one...
The place is also close to many eateries, shops and kecak dance performance at night.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor for Fan standard room, or AC superior for rooms facing the paddy field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

the hotel is like a resort in the rice field, there's no parking lot but you can park you car along the road nearby. rice view is so beautiful especially in the morning with foggy. I love their breakfast, it's a kind of Ro-tee but I don't know the name , it's ro-tee with some piece of banana, it's so tasty with coffee. the room is ok but not very clean though. the second floor balcony view is awesome, for the tourist information, you can ask the reception desk.I love Kun's staff, they guided me how to drive back to the airport and to kitamanee mountain and also kota beach. if you have a chance to ubud, don't forget to think about the place like heaven called "Kunang-Kunang". I hope to come back and stay there for a month :) peace and calm.

Room Tip: good view is on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed a fortnight at Kunang-Kunang and hope to return. Kun and his staff were very friendly and helpful and I felt at home there. My room was a standard room on the ground floor, with a rice paddy just outside my door, and always a thermos full of tea so that I could sit there and enjoy the view, or watch the life of the little lane leading to the street (there are three guesthouses in this lane). The overall style of Kunang-Kunang is traditional, both in the rooms and the service - I really liked the frangipanni flowers distributed afresh each morning. My room was simple and plain, quite basic in fact (no TV), but comfortable, and always kept very clean. The really modern touch was the pool, which was lovely to look at while having breakfast. And the location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Danasari Accomodation
Danasari Accomodation
#437 of 555 in Ubud
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candra Asri
Candra Asri
#235 of 555 in Ubud
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud View Bungalows
Ubud View Bungalows
#152 of 555 in Ubud
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#25 of 555 in Ubud
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dewi Antara Homestay
Dewi Antara Homestay
#77 of 555 in Ubud
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalow 2
Merthayasa Bungalow 2
#65 of 555 in Ubud
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kunang-Kunang Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kunang-Kunang Guesthouse

Property: Kunang-Kunang Guesthouse
Address: Jl Hanoman 43, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kunang-Kunang Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kunang-Kunang Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kunang-Kunang Guesthouse Hotel Ubud
Kunang-Kunang Guesthouse Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing