We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great & Value for Money Homestay in Ubud”
Review of Brata 1 Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brata 1 Guesthouse
Ranked #383 of 592 Ubud B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great & Value for Money Homestay in Ubud”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed at Brata 1 homestay for a month in August 2013 as I was attending a course at the Yoga Barn. Great central location – 15 minutes walk to the Yoga Barn, 5 minutes walk to Kafe, 2 minutes walk to excellent Warung Laba Laba, 1 minute walk to as mini-mart (which closes at 10pm) and many more. Room is basic and cosy Balinese style. The entire homestay is a beautiful and cultural compound. I also felt very safe (even with my valuable belongings in the absence of a usual safe) staying with Brata 1 homestay. True value for money for the personal & comfortable airport pick up & drop off, great location, reliable and good 24 hours wifi & hot water, experience of Balinese living and warmth of a Balinese family. Many thanks to hospitable & reliable Agus, his lovely family (beautiful & caring wife Suci, 2 year old lively & playful son Putra, faithful & sweet big dog Hero) and staff (humorous & strong Yande, hardworking & polite Ketut). I will be back when I next visit Ubud again! 

Room Tip: Request for rooms on second floor for privacy & more natural lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sandly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
15
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Thanks Yande and co for yet another great stay at Brata 1. As usual you were most helpful in making my stay enjoyable and memorable. The beds were super comfortable and the shower just hot enough after a long day of eating and shopping my way around Ubud. I can't wait to be back there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Traveling with a friend who stayed here 3 years ago and wanted to return to Brata Guesthouse. It was dark when we arrived and when I awoke and stepped on to our porch I found I was in a Balinese garden compound. Beautiful old stone deities, colorful carvings of the Ramayana, and the smell of incense from the morning offerings. It was like staying in a temple, complete with the family dog, Hero. Really unique and low key. Breakfast (included in the rate) of fruit, tea and a homemade jaffle was simple and delicious. Or room was basic, but we knew to expect that. Agus and Yande were super personable...even arranged for a driver to take us into the countryside for the day. All in all, a nice little spot to stay if you are seeking an authentic Balinese homestay (B&B) experience. Thanks Brata family!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lulubiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, and was quite satisfied.

The family is very nice and speak good English. The property is large with a nice garden. We stayed in an upstairs room, with a little private balcony, the room was basic, solid and decent size, the hot water bathroom worked very well. The free wifi was fast, and the breakfast which if you desire, you can have on your balcony/porch was nice (don't expect it to come out in a hurry though). The location is pretty central, but still quiet enough at night. No rice fields in view ( myou can try Brata 2, just down the alley if that's what your after) but still a relaxing and pleasant stay.

I am glad we found this place, it really is a family home stay, complete with family portraits in living areas, extended members, a talkative toddler and faithful old dog. Delightful.
Thank you Brata family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ficafioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights and absolutely loved it. It's a 10 minutes walk from perama shuttle stop and the owner met ne there and asked me if I have already a place to stay in ubud. As I had not I came with him and stayed. This place is really good value for money and the staff is amazingly helpful. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tplabst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stood in awe as we watched Yande open the doors to this secret Balinese oasis tucked away from the hustle and bustle that was just outside. Our room had a great verrandah overlooking the family's temple, calming fountains and well manicured gardens. What made this experience most enjoyable was the warm welcome we felt from the family. A young family with a new baby, a funny dog named "Harro" and a small handful of amazing staff. We have already recommended Brata 1 to friends we've met along our travels and will continue to do so.
-Ryan and Saraya Cavill, Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saraya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

After staying in another guesthouse on Jalan Hanoman and not being able to shower because of the amount of dirt in the bath tub, this place was a life saver!

Our room was really clean, had a hot shower, fan and loads of room. There were no bugs and we had a lovely terrace with a view over the rice fields - perfect!

And, it was only £10 a night. Exceptionally cheap for Ubud in peak season.

Thank you for a great stay (Brata 2).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Inten House
Inten House
#306 of 592 in Ubud
30 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.3 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brata 1 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brata 1 Guesthouse

Property: Brata 1 Guesthouse
Address: Jl. Hanoman | (just about five minutes walking from Bebek Bengil), Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 592 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brata 1 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brata 1 Guesthouse Hotel Ubud
Brata 1 Guesthouse Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing