We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Awang Awang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Awang Awang
Ranked #63 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Devonshire, Bermuda
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We walked in and were in love and couldn't imagine a more perfect place. Every room had their own beautiful 4 poster bed with mosquito netting (which wasn't necessary), outdoor enclosed shower, magnificent views over the ravine. The staff were attentive and were determined that we have a wonderful stay ... and we did.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08Janice2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    56
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
125
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Seven of us stayed at Villa Awang Awang for 9 nights - 2 couples and 3 singles. It was a special trip for a milestone birthday and it could hardly have been better. Right from the moment of booking, the staff were wonderful. While we were there the staff were very friendly and the service was great and unobtrusive, ready to assist in organising tours, experiences and visits to town. We organised some things ourselves and they were happy to facilitate.
Breakfast was served beautifully every morning and lunch and dinner were available with enough notice - food was bought fresh every day.
The villa itself is stunning, very large and open plan so there is space to enjoy your own company or to party with friends a little. We spent a whole evening just watching geckoes and trying to take photos of bats as they flitted past. Mosquito nets and plug-in repellants were much appreciated. The bathrooms were gorgeous, 3 with outdoor showers, and the experience of a warm shower in a rain storm was decadent bliss. The infinity pool was lovely and crystal clear, and the setting looking out over a jungle valley could not have been more beautiful. I would very highly recommend Awang Awang for a beautiful retreat close enough to still enjoy the perks of the town.

Room Tip: Put the mosquito nets down and plugs in before evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoomeInPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

From the minute we arrived at villa awang awang on our honeymoon we were treated like Gods. Everywhere you look there was a friendly smile on someones face. They want nothing but to make their guests happy...and they were very successful at that. We staid in villa beji, which was 2 floors, two bedrooms, 2 1/2 incredible bathrooms, kitchen where the staff would cook all the meals, and of course a crystal clear infinity pool that overlooked the gorgeous forrest (we even saw some monkeys). We wanted some wine and beer and minutes later our fridge was stocked! The villa was very private from the other guests, however the staff can be seen throughout the day cleaning the grounds and that for me took some getting used to (but not a big deal unless you were looking for someplace to be in the nude). The view from the back of the villa is breathtaking to say the least. And the sounds coming from the forrest were so peaceful. I would go back to awangawang in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandonNYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We booked this amazing villa for our 1st anniversary. We felt so spoilt having 11 staff to take care of our every need. It's amazing for a couple but you could easily have 5 couples stay here as huge. The feeling is of peace and quiet in a a villa with beautiful views and the design of the house is very much Bali. Beautiful walks amongst the rice fields around you. Close enough to Ubud but far away enough from the hustle and bustle. You have a chef to take care of your every need, a masseur the list goes on. The staff were amazing and made us feel very special and cared for yet giving us all the privacy we needed. The chef makes the most amazing sate sauce. Loved it so much have booked a week there in Sept to celebrate my 40th with my girlfriends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

had 4 days which were sublime.....the staff make that place so special and they are so genuinely happy to help and be a part of your overall experience. We went for an authentic Balinese village experience and really felt we got all we came for...2 adults, a 9 yr son and 16 yr daughter.

Was a very special time, great villa with wonderful staff.. was hard to say goodbye even after just 4 days as we felt part of something much bigger that is hard to define in western terms. If you are wanting to stay in Ubud this is the place to make your home whist there...you will LOVE it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bek46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

This villa is one of three adjacent (Tanah Mera is next door), set about 5km from Ubud town, and perches on the side of a lush valley with no other places in sight. A Bali-sized horizon pool occupies the lowest level, two well-appointed suites, dining, kitchen and common area on the next, and the top nestles another two suites and a twin single room under the traditionally constructed 'bale' roof. The suites are attractive, with queen size beds, wardrobes and generous en-suite bathrooms, with modern fittings. Three suites have an outdoor shower. Be warned: hidden behind the scenes is 'bali plumbing' so expect to call in the staff a few times to get things working again, or to restart the hot water systems. All done with a smile and promptly.
A good selection of food is available on the menu, and three choices of breakfast styles. Try the Indonesian style breakfast (black rice pud plus other rice dishes). Expect some randomness in what's provided, both in variety and quantity. In nine days, we were generally well over-fed at breakfast. The meals are generally well made and flavoursome with one proviso - you must give the staff at least a few hours warning if you want the best results, as they go off to buy the ingredients to order. Short notice will result in disappointing meals. We chose the BBQ on our first evening and it was underwhelming, particularly for the price R200K/ea. Otherwise, the menu is well priced.
The river below provides a happy rush of sound that drowns out the early morning roosters and all night dogs that would otherwise plague a light sleeper like me. Only the vociferous frogs that occupy the attractive ponds and gardens surrounding the villa, and the cecak! of the cecaks (geckos) that look after the insects can be heard. Oh, and the village gong, at 6:30am! But it's easily slept through.
The property is well supervised, and we felt very comfortable in leaving our stuff behind each day. A safe is provided in one room only. Wifi is only reliable upstairs.
I recommend this place for a family or group of friends. It will comfortably sleep six couples and two singles/kids.
Twice daily transfers to Ubud to your needs are included, and a taxi is only R50-80K, if needed. Texting the manager is a cost effective way of ordering a transfer when in Ubud town.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the left of entry. Downstairs you get the restful river noise, upstairs you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netizat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

great location, great service, great people, great rooms with a view
we stayed at villa beiji 2 adults and 2 kids
a very nice couple of days
thanks we will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchghost99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.4 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#66 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.9 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#39 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
2.3 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#29 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
2.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Awang Awang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Awang Awang

Property: Villa Awang Awang
Address: Jalan Melayang, Ubud 90571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ubud
#32 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#48 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#54 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Awang Awang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nurture body and soul in a luxury villa.A choice of 1 , 2 ,4 or 5 bedroomed villas Situated ten minutes drive from Ubud, the cultural centre of Bali, overlooking the sacred Petanu River and lush tropical jungle. It is designed according to ancient traditions. 14 Staff include a masseuse, chef, and driver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Awang Awang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Awang Awang Hotel Ubud
Villa Awang Awang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing