We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly”
Review of Villa Awang Awang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Awang Awang
Ranked #73 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at both Awang Awang and Beji villas in late December, 2011. It is a heavenly location with lush forest surrounding the villas with a stream and waterfall below. Awang Awang felt so prestigious that we felt like royalty from the moment we walked in. Delicious meals were delivered from the restaurant and were extremely good value. The staff waited on us again like we were royalty, always with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. The drive to Ubud is extremely picturesque and staff members were more than happy to escort us on photography expeditions to the village and rice paddies. It was always so nice to return to the villa though and relax in the pool or stretch out on a day bed or enjoy the outdoor shower or watch TV or read a book or enjoy the free wifi!!! We would totally recommend the villas to anyone and would love to return again one day. Thanks to Ann for her flexibility and help!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    58
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
97
131
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Our time at the villa beji in the awang awang compound was pur bliss. Far from the madding crowd and yes a place between heaven and earth.. The rooms and pool and vista and staff were faultless. I would highly recommend this villa to stay in if you are in need of total r and r.
It is not too far to Ubud and the markets and shops etc and the staff take you there whenever you want. But once there you will find that all you want to do is go back and slip into the infinity pool, listening to the waterfall below and taking in the verdant greenery that surrounds you...enjoy!

Room Tip: all rooms were of the same beautiful quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelope r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almunecar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We spend the most amazing and beautifull 10-days holliday in october at villa Awang Awang.
Location and surroundings were superb. The staf were beautifull and willing to fulfill all our
wishes, allways smiling. Allso the balinese in the village were so nice and polite. Our next trip
to the far east surely goes to bali and villa Awang Awang

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is one of the most amazing places we have stayed - it's 4km outside of Ubud on the side of a magnificent gorge. We stayed in the one bedroom Villa Pererepan which is wonderfully private, yet open to the beautiful surroundings. It was so good we had to drag ourselves away to go into Ubud ( I'll never stay in the centre of Ubud again - it still retains it's charm but during the day is full of traffic .) This villa is made of sustainable materials and is solar powered etc.
It has it's own private pool and meals/drinks are just a phone call away and delivered to your own private pergola. I can't say enough about how nice the staff are !
There is a driver on call to take you into Ubud and pick you up ( about 10 - 12 minutes through stunning rice fields and valleys)
Parts of the villa are open to the elements with just screens to keep the mosquitos out.
Two sides open up so that you can get the full experience of the rainforest surroundings.
If you turn the pathway lights off you will see fireflies winging past at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snapper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed here for 10 days in October and if I'm in Bali again I'll definately use this place again. Location and villas etc was amazing but the nicest part of it was the staff who worked there. Willing to do anything for you. I never realized how nice Balinese people where. If you stay here I'm sure ull have a great holiday

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopherrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, WA. USA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The villa is spacious with lush grounds and a wonderful view of the valley. We could hear the river rushing below. The vanishing pool was nicely sized and offered a great view of the jungle. The villa is multi-level with bedrooms on one floor, and living room, dining room, and kitchen on another, all nicely appointed. There is a covered sitting area outside the master bedroom which is lovely for reading or just gazing out into the distance. The patio on the lower level included a bale, pool, as well as a half bath. Stairs connecting the floors were a bit narrow and not much head clearance at one point. DVD player is 3rd rate. Should have splurged for a brand name unit. TV carried a lot of channels via satellite, including HBO. Noticed a restaurant just above the villa upon arrival. Turns out that it's owned by another property and not as easily accessible as first thought. The villa isn't that private since the restaurant is above and other walkways/stairs surround it. Naked swimming isn't advised. Breakfast is provided and wonderful. Eggs to order, bread and fruit, all served in the outdoor dining room. Other meals can be ordered from a menu. We ate a variety of things, ranging from a chicken burger to avocado salad to spaghetti to veggie stir-fry and all was delicious. Service people would pop in at various times (pool cleaning at 7 AM, for example). It would be nice if there was a bell they could ring to announce their presence. Lost hot water at one point, most likely due to the propane running out. This was corrected somewhat quickly. Shower head kind of sprayed all over the place. Lost all water pressure once, but it was fixed quickly. Power briefly went out at least once too. These were minor annoyances and didn't really detract at all from our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillBraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Wow, how relaxing & peaceful, great pool, good fresh food prepared by Qak the in house cook, Agun the manager invited us to a local ceremony, thank you we fely privlidged to attend such an event for a 200 year old tradition. Some of the staff Tara & Bagus personally escorted our youg sons down to the river for a swim and even swam with them to ensure they were safe, apart from 1 minor area we were extremely happy with our 4 night stay at Awang, thank you to all the staff & Ann who were always willing to help. 8.5/10.
We will be back one day, hopefully sooner than later!
Young family- Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: rooms are sperate but next to each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#69 of 196 in Ubud
718 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.0 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#90 of 196 in Ubud
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bambu Indah
Bambu Indah
#62 of 196 in Ubud
552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 196 in Ubud
978 reviews
2.4 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#96 of 196 in Ubud
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Awang Awang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Awang Awang

Property: Villa Awang Awang
Address: Jalan Melayang, Ubud 90571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ubud
#32 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#55 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#61 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Awang Awang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nurture body and soul in a luxury villa.A choice of 1 , 2 ,4 or 5 bedroomed villas Situated ten minutes drive from Ubud, the cultural centre of Bali, overlooking the sacred Petanu River and lush tropical jungle. It is designed according to ancient traditions. 14 Staff include a masseuse, chef, and driver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Awang Awang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Awang Awang Hotel Ubud
Villa Awang Awang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing