We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and private”
Review of Villa Awang Awang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Awang Awang
Ranked #67 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Relaxing and private”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a great stay here after a year of travelling the world. We wanted somewhere to unwind and this place was perfect. Our private villa really was private, down a long flight of stairs and with a lovely view over the valley. It really feels like you're sleeping with nature and the big glass windows and doors complete this feeling. The villa itself is outside Ubud and quieter for it.

There was a private plunge pool and terrace for eating meals. The bed was comfortable and the outdoor bathroom was great, although there wasn't quite enough hot water to have a bath.

Staff were excellent and very helpful. We had free car rides into Ubud whenever we wanted.

The food was generally good but some meals weren't top notch. This is the only area that could be improved. The fruit for breakfast was outstanding.

We would definitely recommend this place and would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samurai_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    58
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
128
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Hi,
This is a BIG thank you to all those wonderful people, who spend their time & effort, writing about their holiday experiences & accommodation.
So many places to choose & without your great advice I would have had total confusion.
With your positive feedback & wisdom, of location; staff & amenities it has made my job much to choose our accommodation, while in Bali.
Once again a BIG thank you for your advice, I can now relax knowing my future holiday will be fun & enjoyable! Kathy

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ko11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This was my first stay at Villa Beji. I loved every moment of it. The staff were super friendly and accommodating, the accommodations were beautiful, it was a great escape & relaxing stay & I will most certainly be going there again! I can't recommend this place more!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HailsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have stayed twice at Villa Awang Awang and loved returning to see the incredible team led by Dewar Agung. They really make the holiday very special. The villa sets the scene for a serene, picturesque holiday - a great place to relax with friends and family and explore the beautiful Ubud region. The team are always keen to help you explore the village and feel at home. A great base for exploring Bali - we really loved Bali on Bike, Paon Cooking school, snorkeling at Candi Dasa, Surfing at Kuta (hire a board from Anthony), and enjoyed an exciting swim in the river below the villa. It's always hard to leave and so wonderful to return to Villa Awang Awang or any of the more intimate villas in this little quiet nest right between heaven and earth.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Myself and two girlfriends were thrilled to be going on a 5 day break to Bali. I was recommended Villa Beji and we were not disappointed. A two day stay in Ubud was my request to recharge and relax before heading to Seminyak. I would have loved to spend longer in Villa Beji, and hope to do so next time.
The views of the surrounding jungle were magnificent, as the river thundered by in the background. You instantly unwind with the sounds of nature, the king size bed is comfortable and inviting, and the open air bathroom was fabulous.
Staff efficiently set up a another king single mattress on the floor ( which was much better that a fold out bed), for the third girl in our party. Everything was clean and fresh.
Staff arranged a great bike ride with Bali bike tours ( be warned your fitness does need to be at least medium level) and we arranged a morning at a day spa.
Staff were extremely attentive and discreet, and nothing seemed to much trouble. Bring your own wine if you want alcohol, as it doesn't appear to be available, but snacks and meals are very affordable.
I suggest the addition of an eye pod dock would be good, and lighting up the pool at night would be a lovely addition. It was a bit dark downstairs once the sun went down, so more lighting and or candles would have been nice.
For a taste of the real Bali, stay at Villa Beji or the big sister, Awang Awang and you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandorsalfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anila1, Owner at Villa Awang Awang, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review .We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you left feeling relaxed and re-charged .When you return next time just ask the staff for an I-Pod dock . As noted on our web-site they are available from the office .Unfortunately we no longer leave them in the villas as several have checked out with guests.We can supply wine but sadly it is very expensive in Bali - as you mention it is a good idea to bring your own or purchase duty free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We are a late 50's Australian couple who have regularly stayed in Bali since the 70's .Villa Pererepan for a week was the perfect hideaway...different, natural but with very good amenities and a sense of solitude. Knowing that all the staff are from the village created a sense of belonging and that you are included and accepted without reservation. The desire to please is genuine from all the staff and nothing is too much trouble,even to the extent of a beautiful floral arrangement for our 30th wedding anniversary! We highly reccommend Villa Awang Awang and plan to return with friends soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Fantastic place to be if u want to stay away from busy city life. We stayed in villa beji for our whole Bali trip with 2 young kids. The villa sits on a mountainous slope and we can hear the river running! Its always cooling there as nature is jus beside us!
Throughout the trip, mr agung the villa's manager did all the booking of activities for us. Simply tell him what and when you want it, the driver will be there waiting for you. It's really fuss free for us! For the 4 days, we did water rafting, cycling, tour in kuta and quad biking! It's indeed a very physical vacation! More like boot camp!! But our kids enjoyed tremendously! The pool in the villa is the kids all time favourite!
Special thanks to our driver mr kedak, for his safe driving and patience with the kids. The kids and myself were car sick on our way to kuta, he was vy thoughtful and drove very smoothly.
Lastly, thank you to the kitchen chefs and helpers who made the effort to prepare different breakfast for our 5 days stay!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2bMooncake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#69 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.9 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
2.3 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#25 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Awang Awang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Awang Awang

Property: Villa Awang Awang
Address: Jalan Melayang, Ubud 90571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ubud
#32 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#50 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#58 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Awang Awang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nurture body and soul in a luxury villa.A choice of 1 , 2 ,4 or 5 bedroomed villas Situated ten minutes drive from Ubud, the cultural centre of Bali, overlooking the sacred Petanu River and lush tropical jungle. It is designed according to ancient traditions. 14 Staff include a masseuse, chef, and driver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Awang Awang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Awang Awang Hotel Ubud
Villa Awang Awang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing