We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali's Best Villa and Staff”
Review of Villa Awang Awang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Awang Awang
Ranked #80 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This was our first trip to Bali, and we stayed 3 days and nights at Villa Awang Awang. We arranged to have their driver pick us up at the airport, and I would highly recommend that, if you don't know the area. They charged us $30USD and it was well worth it. Kadet, the driver was there waiting for us at the airport entrance. He was our first "tour guide", pointing out things along the way, and being really helpful.
We were upgraded to the largest villa, (great luck) we got to see what a gorgeous villa this is. The villa has 3 levels. the top is the main living area with a huge open terrace & bedrooms, then you go down to the kitchen and dining room, which also has a huge open terrace. From this level you take a few stairs that take you down to the private infinity pool. All three levels have the same amazing view of the forest, and you have the river rushing below you, which adds to the charm (can be heard, but not seen). We saw monkey's playing in the trees across the valley, which was great fun, as you relaxed on this amazing terrace. The bathrooms are large and spacious, with wonderful outdoor showers. If you want a taste of the best of Bali, I highly recommend this villa. It is a ways out of Ubud, so you will need to rely on their driver

Room Tip: There are 3 very different villas to choose from. Villa Pererepan, Villa Beji and Villa Awang Awang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Anila, Owner at Villa Awang Awang, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay . For bookings made directly through our web-site and not an internet company , the airport pick-up is already included in the rate .Our free shuttle drops and collects guests in Ubud three times a day and is only a 10 minute drive . Taxis are always available at any time and only charge around Rp 50,000 per trip .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed at villa Pererepan for two weeks. They welcome you with a cold & fresh fruit juice and these words: Welcome, You are now part of the "Awang Awang" family.

[Transport]
I haven't seen many comments yet about the transport. There are, as far as i know, two drivers. I only had one driver during my stay, Kadek, and i think he only works there for several months now. I felt comfortable and safe as soon as i was picked up from the airport. We made many trips, around Ubud but also to the north, east and south. He can speak English very well, he knows a lot of things and he made my trip safe, interesting, fun, comfortable and special. This time i went alone, but i would trust my family's safety in his hands.

[Staff]
Welcome, You are now part of the "Awang Awang" family. That's how your vacations begins.
The manager, the supervisor, all the other staff, so many beautiful people, in traditional clothes, with big and genuine smiles. You want privacy, you get privacy. You want conversations, you can have conversations. Anything you want... Professional but also personal. I had some problems during my stay and they all helped me with open arms. It really is a family and i'm happy that i could be apart of it.

[Villa Pererepan]
I picked this villa because i could heal, write, read, draw in peace, nobody around. Just me and nature. Amazing nature, the sounds of the animals, the river... Incredible nature, because when you wake up in this villa with the curtains up, and with the doors open... No words... Breathtaking. The villa is very clean, try the soap, it's lovely.

[Breakfast]
Free breakfast, you woulden't expect anything special. But it was, fresh juices, fresh fruit sliced in all different forms, special brown and white bread, cute little pots with jams, boiled eggs, batik napkins? Don't forget the environment where you are eating your breakfast, my favourite time of the day.

[Dinner]
The food is very good, you should try the tempe manis with vegetables. The sate ayam? The peanut sauce? If you want to eat out, ask the manager about his restaurant. Nothing in Ubud can beat that view and the taste? You will never forget it.

[Galleria]
They have this public space with lounge chairs and i was hanging out there every single night, browsing the internet, talking to the staff and listening to all the beautiful sounds of nature. Sometimes you can hear the village gamelan players in the far distance, this gave me goosebumps, such a real bali vibe.

[Reception]
They have a really beautiful reception, i could sit there for hours.
Lots of info brochures, tours, and... You can shop for jewelry, i coulden't stop myself...

[Activities]
Walk around in the village, see the paddy's, village temples, swim in the river. You can go to Ubud, i love the Ganesha bookstore, you can donate books there!
Starbucks, see dance performances, go to museums etc The thing i love about Ubud is that it's central. Ubud is great, i can spend days there but you can also go anywhere from there and i did. It was fab.

I could go on and on, but you should see it for yourself.
It's way more better then the pictures, you really can't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank iOog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The short notice stay at the villa was exceptional. The staff could not have been more professional or obliging. The Vila itself was beautiful and proved and amazing place to stay. I have travelled extensively for over 20 years and this is one of those experiences that I would line up for again. Everybody has different standards or expectations, all of mine where met or exceeded, the location, service, food and ambience all exceptional. Thank you for an experience I hope to repeat and to all the staff a warm thank you and gratitude,

Robert Slater

Room Tip: Any of the 5 rooms are great, the master suite is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertSlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Last day here. We stayed in Beji villa...perfect for four people (2 couples). Staff are lovely and will do anything to make your stay better - nothing is a problem for Balinese people. I read reviews about insects etc - well we are in Bali - and maybe because I amfrom Oz it hasn't bothered us at all. Hearing Gecko's bark at night was gorgeous. Fire flies, a group of monkeys! Just a beautiful setting. Easy access to Ubud centre - they drive you, but extra $$. Not expensive - and very easy. Perefect place.....just very sad today is ast day....but they are letting us spend sometime in Villa Awang Awang!!!!! YAY....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErinS1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I had a very lovely time staying in both the 5 bedroom Villa and 2 bedroom Villa - absolutely stunning scenery with very quiet and friendly staff. The traditional balianise rice breakfast was my favorite. I would highly recommend to anyone who is seeking some time out to contemplate the next chapter or looking to change directions with life.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Back from a 3 days trip with 4 friends, we stayed in the large Awang Awang Villa and we loved it. The building is stunning, the view amazing and the villa is located in a peaceful environment. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful.

We all came out refreshed and rested. In fact, we hardly moved from Awang Awang as we were on a short stay and we’d rather enjoy the beauty and relax atmosphere of the place than run around like tourists.

Reading through the less positive reviews, which are anyway 4 or 3 stars (not bad still….), I can understand the points raised but I believe they fall short of acknowledging the concept of the hotel.

The incredibly friendly staff is all local people from the village so their English has some shortcomings but is still way better than most tourist bahasa indonesia. They are honest, helpful and smiling. I guess they still need a bit of training to work for the Sheraton but it would just be a different experience. We enjoyed their human touch. Anything we asked, they tried to deliver without us ever feeling we were a nuisance. (walks, breakfast specials, yoga mat, lift to Ubud, timetable of shows, place to eat, etc).

The villa is very open, in fact we left the entrance door opened all the time, but always felt safe and had no incidence to report. Maybe it’s all down to trust.

Awang Awang is proud of their Green Credentials. So we saw two spiders, including a large one. We took some photos. The gecko was hanging over our heads on the amazing roof structure; it looked stunning. Bats flew over our heads as we were enjoying the evening breeze on the balcony: one scream and 3 giggles. If you read this and find it scary rather than amazing, Awang Awang is probably not for you. No one likes to sleep with a spider of course but we all came back home unscratched. There were little mosquitoes too.

Awang Awang is calm but it’s in the nature so there is the sound of nature all around. If your idea of calm is no noise at all, then again it’s a mismatch, as this will usually imply a lot of concrete walls.

The Awang Awang Eco system work very well for us. It’s beautiful and there is nothing like the sound of nature to calm the body, the breathing and the mind.

Awang Awang is in a village. You will find rice fields, ducks, cows and villagers who are all smile and greetings. There is one place for lunch and diner and that is it. There is another villa resort with a restaurant but their prices are silly and in USD; USD30+ for a main, almost 10 times the price in a tourist outlet. Free drives to Ubud are part of the deal and we took a taxi (affordable) when we came back later than the hotel curfew of 9.30pm (a little early but we all have a family).

We loves Awang Awang concept and we would all highly recommend it to anyone who wants a peaceful, beautiful and connected to nature place to stay in Bali. Their prices are relatively low per head and we all believe it is worth 5 stars or more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is our second return to Awang Awang and we were fortunate enough this time to stay three times over January.
Initially we stayed at the largest villa Awang Awang as a family group of ten and really enjoyed this beautiful and comfortable home.
There are spectacular views across the ravine from both spacious balconies. The sunny pool was used for hours on end by kids and adults alike. A comfy bed in a generous and gracious room with the soothing sound of the river made sleep easy.
After a coastal side trip to Candidasa (recommended) we returned to Awang Awang and stayed in the two bedroom Villa Beji with a couple of friends.
This is a delightful house with all mod cons. It is situated a little further along the ridge overlooking the Petanu River.You get there by winding paved paths through the lush gardens. Over two levels it has many lovely places to sit and read or sunbake. A peaceful house sheltering under an ancient tree. Very private and exclusive and decorated with a designers eye.
In our final days we returned to stay at the one bedroom Pererepan Villa. A most unique and private eco place built of bamboo and glass with the rainforest surrounding you. An amazing place for romance and communing with nature.
The staff deserve special mention as they are genuinely friendly and helpful.After exploring Bali, it's good to come home to familiar faces and comfortable accomodation with a friendly smile.
We have fallen in love with Awang Awang,...this lovely valley and its village. We will return again. It is a delightful and relaxing base for a Bali adventure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#77 of 197 in Ubud
728 reviews
0 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#91 of 197 in Ubud
367 reviews
5.4 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#100 of 197 in Ubud
159 reviews
1 mi away
Sandat Glamping Tents
Sandat Glamping Tents
#74 of 197 in Ubud
193 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Awang Awang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Awang Awang

Address: Jalan Melayang, Ubud 90571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Ubud
#32 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#60 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#68 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £118 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Awang Awang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nurture body and soul in a luxury villa.A choice of 1 , 2 ,4 or 5 bedroomed villas Situated ten minutes drive from Ubud, the cultural centre of Bali, overlooking the sacred Petanu River and lush tropical jungle. It is designed according to ancient traditions. 14 Staff include a masseuse, chef, and driver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Awang Awang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Awang Awang Hotel Ubud
Villa Awang Awang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing