We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly place!”
Review of Villa Awang Awang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Awang Awang
Ranked #67 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heavenly place!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here in October 2013 and had an unforgettable time. The staff is exceptionally friendly and the hotel grounds are beautiful. We first stayed in the eco-villa and afterwards were upgraded to the 5 room villa. Both places had their own charm, but what made it so very special was the staff. All staff comes from the local village and they are very welcoming. Getting to know the staff, their families and traditions was a truly remarkable experience for which we are very grateful.
We especially liked the five bedroom villa. We have travelled quite a bit around the world, but this place is one of the most remarkable ones. When you have some time, you might just be lucky to see the monkeys roaming in the below rainforest, you will definitely see the fireflies in the evening and some bats flying over your head at night trying to catch the flies around the lamps on the ceiling.
The hotel is located a bit outside of Ubud, which is actually not a big deal, as there is a hotel shuttle and it is easy to find a taxi back to the hotel at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    58
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
128
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay. The Villa Beiji is ideal for family with two children. The staff is great and the accommodation really very special.
The whole team spoiled us with good service, food and attentiveness. The complimentary driver service to downtown Ubud brings the center very close.
I only can recommend this villa!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in Villa Beiji for a week, and everything about this place was wonderful! This was our first time in Bali, and everything about Awang Awang, and Ubud in general was amazing. The property is lovely, full of winding stone staircases, shrines, and gorgeous tropical plants. The villa was great, very roomy, the beds were comfortable, and the open air shower was a great touch!
The pool was nice, a great place to relax and watch the sunset while listening to the river in the valley below. Breakfast every morning was delicious, we loved trying all the different juices- the avocado was especially nice! The fruit was fresh and lovely and the rice porridge with coconut milk was amazing.
Having never been to Bali before we weren't entirely sure how getting around was going to work, but Dewa Agung was very helpful in arranging all of our sight seeing and trips into town, and we found the rates for a driver very reasonable. What's more, we really enjoyed all of the staff, especially the folks who drove us around, Dewa, Kadek, and Putu. They really knew the area, were great at suggesting temples and sight seeing locations, and typically they knew the location of every warung we wanted to try. We also really enjoyed chatting with them on our way to various places and learned a lot about Bali from them.
We were given directions to the river below which is accessed from a staircase off the road the properties driveway is on, and we walked down (many, many wet stone stairs- wear shoes with some tread) to the river below and went for a swim. The water was nice and cool and swift, and there was a lovely waterfall in the distance we couldn't quite swim upstream to.
In the mornings we took walks along the road the property is on, we went in each direction but generally preferred turning right. Either direction provides lovely view of rice paddies and the mountains.
I cannot say enough what a wonderful place Awang Awang is. It was quiet and lovely, the grounds were well cared for and lush, and the staff was so friendly and accommodating, definitely an amazing place!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pekanbaru, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Our family (2 adults, 3 grown children) stayed at Villa Beiji, 1 of 3 villas at Awang Awang in July for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. The place is lovely, secluded (away from Ubud centre) and very relaxing. We love the beautifully designed rooms, open air baths, personal pool and great view of the jungle and river gorge below. The staff is the best. I had no functioning laptop and had to make some travel arrangements and they readily lent me their laptop to use. They arranged all the transportation: from DPS airport, to mt. Batur for the bike rides down, stopping along the way for Kopi Luwak, lunch at Padi Organik, a nice restaurant among the rice paddies, and ride to Ubud center, Monkey Forest. We even had dinner there one night and were pleasantly surprised by the food quality. Excellent stay in one of the best accommodation we experienced in Indonesia.

Room Tip: Steep stairs. Probably not for the mobility challenged and for those who want to be near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khoi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Villa Awang Awang has three villas nestled into the forested slopes of the Petanu river valley, about 15 minutes drive away from Ubud. We stayed in the two bedroom Villa Beji, which consists of two bedrooms on the upper floor, and a kitchen/dining room on the lower floor where you find generous patio space and a plunge pool overlooking the valley. All rooms have large balconies, and are surrounded by verdant greenery and views across the valley. Sleeping accommodation was generous, with four-poster beds, air conditioning, separate dressing room and wardrobes (for the master bedroom) and Balinese style open bathrooms. A steep set of stairs leads downstairs, where there is dining area, living space, outdoor seating areas, a separate pavilion overlooking the plunge pool and tea/coffee making facilities in the kitchenette (also equipped with fridge).
The overriding impression is of comfort amongst tropical foliage, amidst the backdrop of the murmurings of the rushing river in the valley below. The pool was lovely to cool off in the tropical heat, while the generous spaces allowed the family to spread out and relax. Breakfasts were served on the patio from a list of menu choices, and we enjoyed toast, bacon, eggs, fresh fruit and Indonesian breakfast options during our stay.
Facilities: the Villa offers a dinner menu, and we tried all the Indonesion options (avoiding the Western choices). Dinner was served in the comfort of your own villa, and the standard of cooking was reasonable, though prices were naturally much higher than outside. We also tried the in-house massage, which was performed in the comfort of the balcony - for ambience, 9/10; for the massage, probably 6/10.
Service: The staff are genuinely friendly and go out of their way to offer great service. Transport was available to Ubud, and we availed of this multiple times. We also walked down to the Petanu valley (15 minutes of strenuous climbing), and were accompanied by hotel staff.
Location: A peaceful haven, for rest and relaxation. The downside is that you need to rely on transport to get you around; walking to Ubud would be quite a challenge on narrow roads and steep inclines.
Be aware: Being close to nature means inevitable close encounters with insects (ants, mosquitoes, crickets, even a praying mantis)! There are electric mosquito repellers, and staff gladly provide (smoking) mosquito coils as required. Wifi connectivity is often intermittent in the Villa, but walking to reception usually provides an uninterrupted connection. The rooms were a little dimly lit for reading. Rooms were glass-fronted with sheer curtains, which means morning light inevitably wakes you up, if the morning chorus of birds and insects hasn't already! (But why wouldn't you be up in the morning freshness, anyway?) The open style bathrooms often means the shower is decorated with fallen bamboo leaves in the morning, but there is a separate bathtub/shower for the fastidious. Multiple stairs and levels make this villa a little challenging for those with mobility issues.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mostlyharmless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Villa Awang awang is absolutely lovely in all ways. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully appointed, the grounds are lush and beautiful, and the staff are incredibly attentive and helpful. The houses are all nestled into gorgeous tropical surroundings, and at night you can hear the peaceful sounds of frogs and running water. Your blood pressure level will drop instantly upon arrival. Villa Awang Awang is very small and personalized, and the staff really are exceptional. I was lead on a really wonderful tour through rice paddies and down to the river, and one of the staff attempted to bring me to a ceremony at a local temple (which unfortunately ended earlier than expected). The hotel driver kindly drove me around Ubud and pointed out good places for shopping, sightseeing and walking. I could have easily spent several more days relaxing by the beautiful pool and exploring the sights of Ubud. I cannot recommend Villa Awang Awang highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaratou9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a beautiful house!! We have a wonderful and relaxing week here, lovely environment, the rustle of the running river below, the gorgeous Cliffside pool, a quality Balinese deluxe house,
use it to calm the nerves, sleep well and revive...plenty of room for multiple couples to share the house and the driver will whip you down to Ubud at a moment's notice.
Walk up to Padi Organik up the road, lovely short walk for a genuine dining experience, enjoy the sunset in the rice fields and if you feel like excercising, Padi Organik does a bike tour - you get dropped up at Mt Batur and roll down the hill (literally, you hardly ever have to pedal, just a couple of minor hills..) and you end up at the open restaurant in the rice fields for a well earned lunch. You can also do cooking school here..all within a nice walk from the house.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleKAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#69 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.9 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
2.3 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#25 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Awang Awang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Awang Awang

Property: Villa Awang Awang
Address: Jalan Melayang, Ubud 90571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ubud
#32 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#50 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#58 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Awang Awang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nurture body and soul in a luxury villa.A choice of 1 , 2 ,4 or 5 bedroomed villas Situated ten minutes drive from Ubud, the cultural centre of Bali, overlooking the sacred Petanu River and lush tropical jungle. It is designed according to ancient traditions. 14 Staff include a masseuse, chef, and driver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Awang Awang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Awang Awang Hotel Ubud
Villa Awang Awang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing