We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VIsually stunning and peaceful atmosphere in a beautifully built traditional Balinese Villa yet easy access to Ubud.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Awang Awang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Awang Awang
Ranked #62 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VIsually stunning and peaceful atmosphere in a beautifully built traditional Balinese Villa yet easy access to Ubud.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

All you need for a truly Balinese experience. The Villa is beautifully built, looking over a deep river gorge so you feel part of the landscape. Nearby is a traditional Balinese village with all its varied life and in a short taxi ride there is the tourist mecca of Ubud. The staff are attentive but not intrusive. Good for a group of 6 as we were but the smaller Villa Beji is equally special for one or two couples. I left wishing I could stay longer. I will next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideLaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    54
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
122
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

Villa Awang Awang is an exceptional villa, in an exceptional location, with exceptional staff members. The location - about 4 kms from Ubud - is breathtaking in its beauty; high above the river, with views across to the jungle on the other side. The place is serene, the sounds being those of birds, crickets, frogs, and the river flowing steadily downstream. The villa in which our family stayed was excellent: spacious, clean, and with great facilities. The staff members of the villas are very friendly and helpful - even including assistance with lovely river swims (with the waterfalls and beauty, a river swim is highly recommended), and the food produced by Awang's chef is first rate and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NevilleBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed in Beji Villa which I highly recommended for the traveller who prizes quietness ,beauty and privacy. Those wanting to be "in the thick of things " should go elsewhere . The villa is set pretty much on its own in gorgeous lush jungle about 10 mins drive out of Ubud. However, whenever we wanted to go into town, the staff willingly drove us in and then picked us up. The rooms were generous , clean and comfortable with air-conditioning and a balcony off the bedrooms to sit and watch the view. The 2 bedrooms/bathrooms were equally lovely. Downstairs there was a loungeroom that led off to the pool . We spent a fair amount of time lazing by the pool which was pretty shady but that suited us .
The staff were always kind generous and bent over backwards to be helpful - we particularly loved the walk down to the river/waterfall they took us on and the bike ride they organised for us. However, for the very particular guest , you will have to cope with small inconveniences like a broken TV ( dvd worked ), a massage that we booked 2 days in a row that didn't turn up. If you can not stress about that sort of thing and enjoy the sound of the river , the monkeys in the trees across the canyon ( we really did see some!!) the beautiful butterflies and the peacefulness , you will LOVE this place!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carool, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

We travel to Bali regularly with another couple and always seek a location in Ubud that is a little removed from the town. We stayed in the smaller villa, Villa Beji which has the most beautiful infinity pool looking down the river gorge and an outdoor terrace on the first level that affords you a fantastic view of the monkeys at play in the trees across the river.

Nothing was ever too much trouble for the team at the villa and they were always ready to meet any request. We generally don't dine in our villas in the evening in Bali, preferring to try a different restaurant each night, however this time we ate in twice and I've gotta tell you the sate sauce here is to die for! The availability of the twice daily transfer to Ubud was also very useful as we were doing some business in the area.

So, all in all a great stay. Oh and I forgot to mention the tuberoses. All the great places i have stayed in Bali have vases filled with these most fragrant of flowers. Ann's team had these placed throughout the Villa - talk about sensory overload!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

The villa was just gorgeous, like a hidden pearl. It's not at a walking distance to Ubud, but that doens't matter, because they have great drivers that will take you to Ubud twice a day for free. The surroundings are very serene and early in the morning with the mist still hanging in the valley is just so beautiful.
The staff was very friendly and took great care for us.
I would definitely recommend this hotel. Also for honeymooners it's such a romantic place.
You can even get married in the villa, with the help of the staff there. If you are looking for a place to get married in Bali, I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Beji house of Awang Awang in May 2010 and it was a truly relaxing experience.
By day we sat by the pool and took in the spectacular surrounds. By night we opened the doors and listened to the jungle come alive with sound and watched fire flies buzz about.
Everything is hassle free, from check in to check out. If you order from the in-house menu, the food is prepared and delivered to your table at the time of your choosing. You really don’t have to worry about much at all while at Awang Awang.
The rooms are very large and clean and serviced daily and the staff offer plenty of transport and tour services.
What is especially great about this place is that it is staffed by people from that village, meaning that most of the guest’s money goes straight back into that very village.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonymousTraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Villa Awang Awang is a delightful Balinese style house on three levels perched on the edge of a steep river valley in the beautiful and peaceful rural village of Melayang in the mountains near Ubud.

The staff, which outnumbered the guests in our party by ten to eight, were cheerful, friendly, attentive and went out of their way to make us feel at home not just in the villa but in the village itself.

The accommodation was well appointed and comfortable with large screen TV, free internet with wireless and a laptop provided, CD player and full kitchen facilities.

A free delicious breakfast was supplied each day and lunch and evening meals provided on request for a very reasonable tarrif, with the resident chef and his helpers catering to our every whim in the comfort of our own private dining area.

Free daily transport in and out of the town of Ubud was provided with nominal charges for extra trips.

Our hosts organised cycling and rafting trips at very competitive rates and were a wealth of knowledge about all sorts of activities on offer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#64 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#37 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#22 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
2.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Awang Awang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Awang Awang

Property: Villa Awang Awang
Address: Jalan Melayang, Ubud 90571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ubud
#32 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#48 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#54 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Awang Awang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nurture body and soul in a luxury villa.A choice of 1 , 2 ,4 or 5 bedroomed villas Situated ten minutes drive from Ubud, the cultural centre of Bali, overlooking the sacred Petanu River and lush tropical jungle. It is designed according to ancient traditions. 14 Staff include a masseuse, chef, and driver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Awang Awang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Awang Awang Hotel Ubud
Villa Awang Awang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing