We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more for the money”
Review of Villa Awang Awang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Awang Awang
Ranked #81 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Having stayed at the gorgeous but inexpensive Alam Jiwa prior to arriving at the villa Awangawang we were expecting something special. The location was special and removed from the bustle of Ubud and the staff were fantastic.

The downside: Breakfast was rather boring and uninspired. The first day we were expecting something akin to the variety we had at the Alam Jiwa - instead we got dilute cordial orange (rather than the fresh juice of your choice on the menu), the bread was pretty terrible white/brown and not wholemeal, the bacon was cooked to a crisp.

The Dinner menu was overpriced too.

The villa itself appeared in need of a little love and attention and the furniture was also in need of replacing.

One of the reasons we picked the Villa was for the space for the kids to runaround - and also for the DVD and TV for the evenings. On day 1 the DVD player broke. We immediately advised the manager and......it took 5 days before we got a replacement. Would have been much easier for the adults if they had fixed it on day 2 as the children had all purchased DVD's from Ubud.

The Villa allegedly has a high speed internet connection and laptop. Reality: the laptop has the processing power of a calculator and it took forever simply loading the Google search page...very frustrating.

In Summary, the Villa fell short for the cost in my opinion. It was over twice as expensive as the Alam Jiwa but was nowhere as nice.

We all wished we had stayed at the Alam Jiwa the entire trip.

I had hoped for much more but was disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtwmstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anila1, Owner at Villa Awang Awang, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2010

Thank-you for relating your personal experience at the villa . I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay and sincerely regret that the DVD player was not able to be replaced earlier.As this was your first visit to Bali I would like to respond to some of your comments.
I can assure you that the villa and dinner menu is competitively priced , the rate being even somewhat lower than comparable villas.Your nightly rate equated to $43 per person ( for 8 guests ) including taxes. As the listed rates for the hotel you mention range between $37 and $50 per person plus taxes ,I am at a loss to understand how it can be said that our villa was " twice the price "
Regarding the internet connection- despite paying expensive rates for high speed connection ,even with the latest hardware, speeds are much less than you are used to in Australia. I agree , very frustrating , but common throughout Bali and not specific to our villa .
As you mention yourself , our staff are fantastic and always genuinely eager to please .If you had requested different bread or bacon less cooked , they would have been more than happy to oblige . We have in the past provided for vegans , vegetarian and gluten sensitive guests - whatever was requested. All our staff are from the local village which we support . They do their best to accommodate guests from many countries with varying customs , languages and meal preferences . Sometimes it is difficult to " get it right " unless the guests tell them what is required . I apologize for the first morning when for some inexplicable reason you were served reconstituted orange juice . As you mentioned to me , this was rectified and fresh juices supplied for the rest of your stay as is our usual practice .Thank-you once again for your comments- we always welcome the opportunty to rectify any shortcomings which guests bring to our attention .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

We couldn't find fault with our villa... The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was superb, the best we have encountered in a total of six holidays in Bali... We have decided that the private villa experience is really the only way to enjoy Bali, and we will definitely be returning to Villa Awang Awang/Villa Beiji sometime in the near future.
Our thanks and best wishes to Ann for all her help in making sure we had a wonderful holiday, the memories of which we will always treasure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrenMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This really is a truly special place. The birds chirping, the wind rustling the leaves, the sound of the water below. The villa is well-appointed and comfortable and the architecture is quite integrated into the natural scenery and the local village.

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights, 4 days and had the most relaxing time with friends in Villa Beji. The staff and owners help to create an authentic experience-- we had a list of suggested things to do and see locally besides going into Ubud. Every morning we took walks down the road and were greeted by friendly villagers and children going about their daily life. The location is within a small village and we had the opportunity to attend a ceremony.

What makes Awang Awang a special place is in all of the small details -- friendly staff, the villager putting the offerings around the villa each morning, the sounds of music playing, the fresh juices in the morning. Bali is a special place and I will come back to stay at Awang Awang.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaycee317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Awang Awang is amazing. We stayed with our friends in the newer Villa Beji, with two completely independent bedrooms+bathrooms that use a combined living/dining room and pool. Go to their website and check out the pictures - it really looks like this! The view from the villa and especially from the (small) infinity pool is absolutely stunning. And all you hear is birds, the sound of the river rushing through the gorge, and if you are in a bit of luck some of the staff will play some traditional Balinese instruments in the background. It is almost unreal.
The staff (all from the nearby village) is very hospitable and friendly, and although their English is poor and it is sometimes a bit hard to communicate, this is fully compensated by their openness and kindness. Fortunately the host, Agung, is fluent in English and very switched on.
The villa is located in a small village, 15 min drive outside of Ubud, facing the impressive ravine but at the same time amidst the beautiful rice paddies. The staff provides a shuttle service to Ubud which worked perfectly well for us.
I can't express how excited I am about this place, it is truly like a dream came true.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hein O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Awang Awang. Truly picturesque setting, very accomodating staff. The villa was very comfortable with its own small pool overlooking a jungle valley where we saw monkees scrambling up trees. Awang Awang is located a few km from Ubud centre but a driver was available to drop us in town and collect us whenever we wanted. The manager was very helpful and arranged to book us into a fantastic bycycle tour with Prebali cycling tours - from the volcano lake downhill all the way back to the family home for our best meal on Bali - a memorable experience which the kids loved. He also took us into the local temple which is just across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed in the smaller2 couples Villa Beji, along side Awang Awang and it was just perfect and private. Villa is immaculate and just gorgeous, the infinity pool and surrounds and gardens are wonderful. Staff are there whenever you need them, and will take you in and out of Ubud which is about 10/15 minutes away. The scenery is breathtaking as is the drive into Ubud through the paddy fields. Highly recommend this villa for a peaceful and relaxing stay. We will definitely return to this destination. R Ross Adelaide South Australia

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robles_ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Awang Awang was truely a spectacular place to have a relaxing holiday. From the moment we stepped into the house we were mesmerised. We absolutely loved it! The staff were all so lovely and helpful. We had some minor communication problems due to the language barrier but nothing so bad as to ruin the holiday. Overall the house was in such a beautiful location that no small problem really mattered. As some have commented before, its not a hotel but the staff really tried to accomodate us as best they could. We went home feeling relaxed and like we really had a holiday. We will miss the lovely smiling faces of the staff and the awsome hands of our masseuse Nyoman. Thank you to Dewa Agung the house Manager for making our holiday memorable. We hope to see you soon in Australia.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonyaLeeJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#74 of 199 in Ubud
725 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#89 of 199 in Ubud
366 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
1,042 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandat Glamping Tents
Sandat Glamping Tents
#62 of 199 in Ubud
188 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Awang Awang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Awang Awang

Address: Jalan Melayang, Ubud 90571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ubud
#32 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#62 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#69 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £122 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Awang Awang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nurture body and soul in a luxury villa.A choice of 1 , 2 ,4 or 5 bedroomed villas Situated ten minutes drive from Ubud, the cultural centre of Bali, overlooking the sacred Petanu River and lush tropical jungle. It is designed according to ancient traditions. 14 Staff include a masseuse, chef, and driver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Awang Awang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Awang Awang Hotel Ubud
Villa Awang Awang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing