We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #396 of 568 Ubud B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend in April 2012 and I can't rate it highly enough . Perfect location to ubud town and views of the rice paddies .

Waking every morning to home made pancakes the sound of crickets felt like I could stay forever .

Hope to return again one day .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryKresnaYasa, Owner at Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Dear Jen,

On behalf of all of us here at Sawah Sunrise, I would like to thank you for your kind review! We will be sure to share with Mbok Nyoman how much you enjoyed her breakfast pancakes. We hope that as long as we have the rice fields around our house, we will also have the cricket chorus to enjoy.

We look forward to seeing you again someday!

Sincerely,
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    24
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
50
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Having stayed in a hotel right on monkey forest road, I spent my last night here. I dont think there could have been a better ending to my 2 week trip to Bali. The homestay was out in the rice fields giving it just enough distance away from main ubud to give a complete feeling of detachment from the modern world. However, this distance was also just right so that getting to anywhere in Ubud was not more than a few minutes walking. For those who dont mind that, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NItrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryKresnaYasa, Owner at Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you very much for the review! We are honored that you chose to spend your last night in Bali at our home in the rice fields. We remember how much fun you had taking photos around the property, especially your exuberance watching the sunset. We look forward to seeing your photographs someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I were excited to book our room at the Sawah Sunrise B&B for our time in Ubud last fall. The pictures on the Web site looked nice, and we thought it would be a restful place to spend our days at the beginning of our trip to Bali. Boy, were we wrong!

To start, we were promptly picked up at the airport by the drive, Mr. Suma. One check in the positive column. We anticipated that he would be giving us information about the island, Ubud or even the hotel on the hour-plus drive to the B&B. Didn't happen. Instead, he remained silent for most of the drive, until we neared the B&B and he inquired about our plans for the week, then offered to act as our driver. Feeling cornered, we agreed to let him drive us somewhere the following afternoon, but we weren't thrilled at the prospect.

Once we arrived at our room and started to get settled, we noticed the dirt all over the floor, spiderwebs throughout the bathroom and general dinginess of the room. There was what appeared to be mosquito netting around the bed, but because it was solid fabric and not an actual net, we couldn't put it down around the bed unless we wanted absolutely no airflow. Additionally, because there were no screens on the windows, we really needed a net! Instead we were forced to bug spray ourselves from head to foot each night before bed and hope not to get overly bitten.

During our four nights at Sawah Sunrise, there were other unpleasantries. For example, the noise. We came expecting the sound of roosters crowing; what we didn't expect were the sounds of wild dogs barking and fighting all night long. For some people, that may be something that can be easily slept through; for us, it was not. Another unfortunate aspect of this hotel is the walls, which are paper thin. In addition to the ruckus made by the animals, we heard every noise made by our neighbors (and, we assume, they heard ours), including toilets flushing and water running in the sink. (Speaking of the sink -- although the water in Bali is not potable for Westerners, the hotel provides only one bottle of water on check-in, so you'll have to lug it back from a gas station every day. Not a huge deal, but those little things add up.)

In keeping with the untidy appearance of the room when we arrived, the room was minimally cleaned throughout our stay. In fact, one afternoon we returned to our room and needed to use a washcloth to wipe the dust off our faces and arms before heading out to dinner. We hung it near the door to be collected and exchanged, and it remained there for the duration of our stay. Apparently no one looked too hard at the room when "cleaning" it. There were also constant trails of ants in the room, which served as a general nuisance and made us reluctant to store any food to take with us on outings in the room.

The last disappointment about this hotel was the pressure we felt by the staff driver, Mr. Suma. On two occasions he showed up on our porch while we were eating breakfast (early in the morning -- before 8:30) and loitered, talking with us about our plans and clearly hoping we would ask him to drive us. It's really unpleasant to spend your relaxing breakfast time making small talk with a virtual stranger, especially on multiple mornings.

This is a hotel I would stay far away from. It's cheap, but I think it's better to pay a bit more for something more centrally located (you walk down a long dirt path to get here, and it's about 15 minutes from town) and with better service. Spend your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryKresnaYasa, Owner at Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for your review. This is the first time we have learned you were not satisfied with your stay with us 4 months ago. Please accept our apologies, since we were not able to fix the problems during your visit.

We would like to take this opportunity to address a few of your comments:

1. Airport Pick-up:
Our House Manager met you at the Airport at 12 AM Midnight, transported you personally to Ubud and checked you in at 2 AM in the middle of the night. This is a courtesy for our guests who arrive very late at night, making certain they arrive safely and timely. Acting as a tour guide on a dark midnight 1.5 hour drive back to Ubud is not appropriate, and we support our manager's decision to focus his attention on a safe drive home.

2. Tour Driver
In your email correspondence with us prior to arrival in Bali, you asked for our advice regarding a tour driver for 3 different trips you had planned. Our House Manager was kind enough to offer his services to you at your request, however, guests are under no obligation to accept an offer from us and are free to find their own transport at any time.

3. Water Bottles
We provide unlimited bottled drinking water for all of our guests during their stay and this is included in the room charge. We also state this in the reservation confirmation email. Due to the problem plastic bottles are causing on Bali's sensitive island environment, we provide guests with new plastic water bottles in the room on the day they check-in. For the remainder of the stay, we offer free unlimited water bottle refills from our large kitchen tank. Staff are happy to provide you with more water when asked.

Regarding your other comments, we have noted them and communicated with you through private correspondence to improve the room experience for future guests.

We appreciate constructive feedback, and encourage our guests to communicate with us during their stay so that we have the chance to improve the experience for them. It is our hope that everybody will enjoy their vacations in Bali. Our only regret is that we did not make you happy while you were with us, and we were unaware of this until it was too late to help.

Sincerely,
Mary and Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, great staff, but the location isn't great. There are hotels for a bit more (+$15) that provide way more amenities, pool and a/c. The location is not suitable for walking alone at night unless you know the area well. Only two restaurants are close by down the paddy fields, and everything else is a bit farther into town. I liked the property, but for this price wouldn't return now that I've seen what else is in and around Ubud.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Easy to book, the staff are warm and helpful and the location is just beautiful... It's important to note that the charm of Sawah Sunrise is that it is in the middle of the rice fields, this means that it is about 500m from Jalan Raya and the footpath might be difficult for the elderly or disabled. Also, if you happen to be a fussy sleeper and the sound of frogs, cockerills, dogs, cats and, of course, ducks is likely to keep you awake then perhaps this isn't for you. We have travelled to Ubud many times in the last 20 years and this is, quite simply, the best accomodation we have stayed in. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff can't do enough to help, but... get there while you can. The footpath that leads to Sawah Sunrise used to be simply that - a footpath. Since our last visit two years ago there has been a huge amount of development in the fields around Sawah Sunrise and beyond. The footpath is now used more by motorcycles carrying building materials than by people working in the fields. Unless the pace of development slows Sawah Sunrise is likely to find itself completely surrounded by holiday accomodation, the access path a tarmac road and the rice fields a distant memory - for more, check out my review of Ubud...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-Kajang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid october 2012 and would thoroughly recommend it.

We booked online which was an easy process. Deposit paid on PayPay and good communication with the Owner (Mary). We arranged an Airport pickup (250,000) and Mr. Suma was waiting for us as we exited the airport.

The Room was great. Very comfortable bed and pillows - which is always well appreciated after a long flight. The room was clean, as was the bathroom and towels. The staff cleaned the room each day.

Having breakfast on bought to the balcony each morning was a lovely touch and the food was good.

Although we had been warned that we might want to bring earplugs due to the roosters - they weren't needed. Oddly enough they seemed to be at their loudest in the afternoon.

They staff were friendly, but not "in your face". The location is also great. Its only a 5 min walt to the town, and the walk through the rice paddies is really beautiful (bring a torch though as its a bit dark at night)

We will definitely return

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_and_Andi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This place is awesome! A little hidden gem in the rice fields. It's still very close to the town on the rice field track. So, it's perfect to relax. The staff is super helpfull and nice! I was totally surprised by the excellent brekkie. And I loved their cats and dogs strolling around. I didn't mind the roosters next door at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#175 of 198 in Ubud
135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
590 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 198 in Ubud
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#109 of 198 in Ubud
325 reviews
1.8 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#51 of 198 in Ubud
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 198 in Ubud
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast
Address: Jalan Subak Sok Wayah, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 568 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast is a beautiful home located in central Ubud village. Our tranquil garden accommodation, set amid centuries-old cultivated rice fields, is off the beaten path yet still an easy 10 minute walk from all Ubud attractions: restaurants, museums, temples, spas, the traditional market and royal palace. Each of our 4 guest rooms offers stunning views, en-suite bath with hot water, and private balcony for relaxing to the sights and sounds of Balinese farming life.Sawah Sunrise is a "secret garden" in Ubud's tourist center, with all amenities and luxuries within reach. Our Balinese host family will welcome you and assist with all of your holiday needs: tours, rentals, transportation and special requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawah Sunrise Hotel Ubud
Sawah Sunrise Bed And Breakfast
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing