We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No more Sawah...now called Bom Bom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #373 of 523 Ubud B&B and Inns
Mexico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“No more Sawah...now called Bom Bom”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here when it was still runned by a Balinese-American couple and we loved the place, the location, the staff...walked past the house last month (April 2014) and seems they sold the property and is now run by others who still offer rooms so can't really say what it's like now...I would still give them a try...probably won't be able to find info on the net yet...better go have a look in person once you get to Ubud..

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Buquing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    24
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
50
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed in this place few years ago, and it was great, the fresh air is addictive, at night, if you are lucky, you can see fireflies !! And the infamous organic restaurant Sari Organic, is on your walking distance. Breakfast is average standard, the room is clean, the bathroom also nice

The downside is, because the place is literally in the padi fields, and so is the locals, there's a chicken cage nearby, and again, since it is in padi fields, there's no parking space for a car, you just have to leave it at the path entrance, but of course it won't be an issue if you just ride a scooter.

But all the downside isn't comparable with the good side, will definitely coming back here again

Room Tip: if you can get the second floor room, will be much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed here alone, my first trip to inodnesia.

The location is sensational. A 5-10 min stroll to the main street of Ubud, but far enough away to feel the quiet countryside. You find it along a narrow path through the rice paddies, spotted with other homestays, local homes, spas, and cafes. You pass the chooks and many roosters to meet a beautiful iron gate and the warmest smiles.

The rooms are beautiful. Alway clean, they are presnted like a piece of Balinese art, with the design of the interior and the carving in the structure. I always felt safe at night and during the day, as the staff members are welcoming and soon became my friends.

I hope to return as soon as possible.
Thankyou so much to Suma, Noman, & Coma.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Here we are on the last night of our 12 days at Sawah Sunrise, on our umpteenth trip to Bali.
We could not have been happier with our stay. Everything, except the rain, worked out perfectly for us. At Sawah Sunrise the rooms are bright, well decorated and very very clean. One advantage also is having windows opposite each other which allows a beautiful breeze in the evening. The location is just great for us. It is a five minute walk up a pathway that is too narrow for cars, set in the rice fields. There is no pollution from the Ubud traffic, no street noise, only the croaking of the frogs at night.

We were met at the airport late at night by Suma who safely took us "home" to Sawah Sunrise through heavy rain and then was always on hand to help out in any way he could. We were looked after so well by Nyoman and Komang, who could not have be en nicer or kinder. They were so attentive to our needs.

After so many visits to Ubud I have to say that this one has been one of the most restful and beautiful times we have spent here, thanks mainly to the wonderful stay at Sawah Sunrise. Many thanks to Wayan, Mary and all the staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Downstairs garden terrace, upstairs rice field views, take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Popnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryKresnaYasa, Owner at Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Norm and Anne,

Thank you, once again, for choosing to stay at Sawah Sunrise for your Ubud visit. You are also our 100th review on TripAdvisor - so it is extra special to us to share the Centennial Review Celebration with you!

If you haven't heard it enough by now, we will say it again: The pleasure is ours. We love hosting you, especially knowing that you have *many* accommodation options to choose from. You both really know how to enjoy yourselves and share your positive lifestyle with others. Thank you for sharing your time with us, and even sharing some treats with Uma when she gives you "the look."

We appreciate any and all comments, and the sincerity of your words.

Best Regards,
Mary & Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in early April for 3 nights. It was a great place with very clean rooms in a quiet and beautiful area of the rice fields. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the breakfasts were a highlight with several options that were all very good. Overall we had a great stay and the value was excellent.
We already recommended it to several people.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryKresnaYasa, Owner at Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Jayson,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Sawah Sunrise!

We know there are a lot of accommodation options to choose from in Ubud, and we appreciate knowing what qualities you look for in a small hotel - friendly staff, delicious breakfasts, clean rooms, quiet and beautiful location. We couldn't have said it better ourselves! We are thrilled we had the opportunity to host you and your girlfriend and provide the experience you were looking for.

Thank you for recommending us, and we hope we can have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Mary and Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Wanna away from the hustle and bustle of city life? You may consider Sawah Sunrise.
We stayed here for 2 nights during March, the view of green ricefields was refreshing! We're staying upstairs so we can enjoy the view not only from our bed but also breakfast time.

Room: The bedroom was nice but personally I'm not satisfied with the bathroom. Should at least have some maintenance done on the shower.

Location: Not reachable by car. The staff will help you carry your luggage with their motorbike and by walking it take at least 5 min. Unlucky of me, it was raining during my stay and the road did irritate me.

Breakfast: Very good for me. And there are 5 or 6 choices (I don't remember the exact) to choose from. And they did allow us to refill our water bottles from their kitchen ;-)

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nt_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryKresnaYasa, Owner at Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Sawah Sunrise!

We are so glad you enjoyed our wonderful rice field views and the home cooked breakfasts each morning. Hopefully, the walk to our property along the footpath is worth the views we enjoy! Sorry it was raining during your stay, making the walk less enjoyable- ahh life in the tropics! We take the 'good' with the 'bad' as they say...

Our apologies regarding the shower in your room during your stay- We did complete a shower repair/renovation in March after your visit. The problem has now been repaired.

Thanks again for choosing Sawah Sunrise B&B and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Mary and Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tytsjerk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was not the first time we visited Sawah Sunrise and also this time it was excellent.
Small homestay with friendly staff and a very nice location in the middle of the ricefields.
The rooms are comfortable and clean and every day they make up the room and clean and that all for a very pretty price.
When we visit Bali we allways stay here for a few nights (we always travelling around) this time in total 10 nights.

Baukje en Wim de Haan Tytsjerk The Netherlands

Room Tip: all the rooms have the same view, there are two upstairs and two rooms groundfloor location is unsu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank thijs048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryKresnaYasa, Owner at Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Baukje and Wim,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review of Sawah Sunrise! We are so pleased to host you in Ubud in between your many travels to other Indonesian islands. You top our list of guests who are well traveled in Indonesia and known for island hopping adventures. We hope to see you again in the future on yet another one of your exciting journeys!

All the best,
Mary and Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#171 of 195 in Ubud
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 195 in Ubud
440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gerebig Bungalows
Gerebig Bungalows
#123 of 523 in Ubud
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Agung Raka Resort & Villas
1.4 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast
Address: Jalan Subak Sok Wayah, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 523 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast is a beautiful home located in central Ubud village. Our tranquil garden accommodation, set amid centuries-old cultivated rice fields, is off the beaten path yet still an easy 10 minute walk from all Ubud attractions: restaurants, museums, temples, spas, the traditional market and royal palace. Each of our 4 guest rooms offers stunning views, en-suite bath with hot water, and private balcony for relaxing to the sights and sounds of Balinese farming life.Sawah Sunrise is a "secret garden" in Ubud's tourist center, with all amenities and luxuries within reach. Our Balinese host family will welcome you and assist with all of your holiday needs: tours, rentals, transportation and special requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawah Sunrise Hotel Ubud
Sawah Sunrise Bed And Breakfast
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing