We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“No so bad..... kids love the grounds!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taman Indrakila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taman Indrakila
Ranked #347 of 502 Ubud B&B and Inns
darwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No so bad..... kids love the grounds!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

We checked out early from another Ubud hotel after getting the feeling our children (4 and 6) were "interrupting" the staff and other guests tranquility. What can I say...2 little boys will make noise, laugh and play. So we moved on to Taman Indrakila and we were not disappointed. Kids could relax and be kids and that allowed us to finally relax. We stayed for 3 nights in a bungalow. Sure, the rooms were tired on the inside but sufficient for the price asked, and the outsides were lovely (there was always fresh flask of nice coffee and bali tea), fantastic breeze, gardens and views over the valley, nice swimming pool with kids paddle area (the 2 rickerty old wooden deck chairs had not move since our stay last year). The staff were fine (if you want something just ask, but language is abit of a barrier, so learn some Bahasa Indo or Balinese) . The restaurant was great, food was really nice and affordable. The kids loved playing with the cat and the local kids who lived next door, and I enjoyed the gorgeous massage centre across the road...... they serve you the best ginger tea and fruit platter! Very convenient, quiet location that cost only $1-2 to get into Ubud centre by taxi. For the cheap price, privacy and peacefulness of the location, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grastine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
18
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

This hotel is in an amazing location about a 20 minute walk to the centre, away from the constant noise of traffic you seem to get all over Bali. Iinstead you get the sound of the river below matched with stunning views of the campuan ridge ahead from all of the rooms.
Sadly this is this hotel's ONLY positive feature. Having spent many days on tripadvisor scouring reviews we decided to go ahead and book this hotel. The reviews above are for the private villa, however we stayed in one of the standard bungalows.
The Bungalows themselves on the outside are atractive: semi-detached, of a good size and with their own veranda. Sadly the inside is lacking such appeal. It is not the basic standard of the room that we found disapointing (tired furniture and a dated and slightly damaged bathroom), but the level of cleanliness was totally unacceptable. As soon as you enter the room, what you can see from the poor lighting is not welcoming: the bedding was incomplete, badly stained and torn (and remained so for the duration of our only night there causing us to sleep on top of towels). The pillows (covers not provided) were so filthy I wouldn't have put them in a dog kennel.The mosquito net was also full of swat kill remains and on closer inspection the top was covered in layers of thick chunks of dust. This same layer of cobweb-covered dust was on the rusted light fittings and the tops of furniture. The bathroom also had a good layer of scum around the bath and a cockroach that tried nestling into my clothes when I took a shower. Just incase you were uncertain of where the smell of damp was coming from the efflorescence (a kind of cottonwool/candyfloss type mould) growing on the walls made it obvious.
On the belief that we may both just be a little tired from travelling and therefore over-sensitive, we decided to go for a swim and breakfast. Oh Dear, the pool itself is of a cloudy, milky colour, a sign of bad maintenance, the wooden loungers so badly damaged and decrepit, they looked as if they would crumble if you laid on them, and the grassy area around it covered in dog dirt (belonging to the owner). Breakfast was spent listening to the "chef" in the kitchen below us constantly gobbing up - into what God only knows - and picking out the dead ants from the food we had been served.
Had we booked this hotel for one night it would have served a purpose, but as we were to stay in Ubud for 5 nights we checked out the following morning. The receptionist was neither surprised or apologetic, giving the impresion that this has happened many times before.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ubud hotels

nashville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

Totally disappointing. We wanted a decent place to land when we came to Bali for our honeymoon. I reserved with TAman Indrakila and paid online and when we showed up they had booked over our reservation. They spent quite a bit of time scratching their heads and didn't even offer to help us find a new place to stay at 6pm on our arrival there. This was a bad entry into Bali, especially since it was our honeymoon!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank magikgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byron bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed in October in the Private Villa at the egde of the property,and it was amazing.
The villa is on the edge of the hillside and has no other neighbours ,the sound of the rapids below and the view was sensational.
We decided to have breakfast delivered to our room each day even though we had a lovely kitchen in the villa
I would definately recommend the villa to anyone looking for a unique and private escape.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minkie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
#128 of 190 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alam Terrace Cottages
Alam Terrace Cottages
#53 of 502 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Padma Ubud Retreat
Padma Ubud Retreat
#33 of 502 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ananda Cottages
Ananda Cottages
#73 of 190 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
0.9 mi away
Nick's Hidden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Indrakila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Indrakila

Property: Taman Indrakila
Address: Jl. Campuhan, Sanggingan, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Taman Indrakila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Indrakila Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing