We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swasti Eco Cottages
Ranked #54 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It is an oasis. My room is beautiful , the food is delicious, setting tranquil, and staff very friendly and helpful . The only drawback is that it's located away from the center of town, but that's also what makes it such a sanctuary.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swasti Eco C, Responsable réception at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour Nyreev,

et merci pour vos commentaires qui nous font chaud au coeur.
Effectivement nous faisons notre possible pour rendre votre sejour le plus agreable possible.

Ce genre de commentaires encourage nous tous a Swasti et nous reconforte dans la qualite de notre offre.

Bon voyage
Au plaisir de se revoir
Wayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Swasti Eco Cottages in the village of Ubud is one of the most charming places on earth. It's peaceful, beautiful landscaping, charming staff, and all-natural building materials make this environment better than any fancy 4 or 5 star hotel. Swasti offers organic food from their own garden, massage and manicures, a pool, spotlessly clean cottages and bungalows made of bamboo, teak and thatch, and tours of the area. Bicycles and scooters are easily available to get around town or to explore the island. A delight for families or explorers.

Room Tip: plenty of choices of cottages or rooms in bungalows with nice verandas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atmananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swasti Eco C, Responsable réception at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hi Atmananda,

sorry for the delay in responding to your comment.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on our Swasti Eco Cottages.

this kind of comments means a lot to us. The additional Stars you kindly added to us make a us feel very happy, even though we do not have them really....
But we are striving to get 5 stars as well from Mother Earth ;-)

We wish you all the best.

Wayan and the Swasti Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Arrived at Denpasar airport at 5.30am. Had a full on day exploring with our guide and checked into Swasti at 5pm. We were so glad when we did.

We sat in the reception area with a welcome drink and Made gave us a good thorough breakdown on the accommodation, our location and recommended places to go.

We stayed in the Komang Bungalow for 4 nights. This could easily accommodate two adults and two children. They are simple but, lovingly decorated and private rooms with an outdoor balcony. Each is extended with an amazing concreted bathroom. I could have a hot shower whenever I wanted. Which wasn't often with the beautiful warm weather. The maintenance/service of the rooms and entire property is very, very good. Each morning we were given breakfast, we also had a couple of lunches and a dinner meal here. The best thing about the restaurant was watching kitchen staff walk to and from the garden with fresh vegetables for cooking. If we were not in a foreign country exploring, we could have eaten breakfast, lunch an dinner here everyday and been happy.

I used the spa 3 times on different days during our stay. 1 hour Balinese massage, 1hr back neck and shoulder massage and a 45min Chocolate body scrub. After any treatment you are offered a good herbal tea to drink before leaving. The prices for each were no more the 150idr. I can not compare their spa services to other Bali Spa's but, being able to toddle off back to your own tranquil room instead of fighting with Bali traffic to get home, was a treat.

We enjoyed the walk to and from Ubud and there are taxi drivers everywhere in the center of town. Majority are on a barter system and the most we spent was 50idr, from the other side of town.

Upon checking out, we paid a deposit to book another room for our last day/night it Bali. We stayed in a deluxe/ac room on our return. Has all the amenities of a bungalow except, it is a very different set up but, still very nice.

Would we return again - well we did, didn't we!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a bungalow...It adds to your stay. Just remember these do not come with A/C so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swasti Eco C, Responsable réception at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Kia Ora Lady S,

sorry for the delay in responding to your comment.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on our Swasti Eco Cottages.

this kind of comments means a lot to us.

We wish you all the best back to Rotorua, another beautiful place on Earth.

Wayan and the Swasti Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I were here for 5 nights on our Bali Honeymoon and found this place as a tranquil oasis to the crazy motos & active life of Ubud. We loved coming home each day to the peaceful garden and to our private bungalow that had been made freshly with flowers and loving care.

When we arrived, Ketut took amazing care to help us with Visa extensions and moto rental as well as tips and ideas for the area + a welcome drink :)

The gardens are super peaceful and being among 'growing' food' is very powerful for all the senses.

The staff is super sweet and very helpful for many things.

We have not been so excited about the food... the included breakfast is good, but not enough to inspire us to eat here more. There are plenty of good places around Ubud to eat and then return home for the night time peace.

The price was a little more then other places in the area, but we were 10000% happy to pay a little more for the peaceful ambiance and found it a great value.

Room Tip: Bungalow Gita is perfect for couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelYogiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My girl and I stayed at Swasti Eco Cottages for a few nights back in June 2013. At first we really liked it - we were welcomed with free drinks, the staff was quiet and friendly, the settings felt really peaceful and we loved the idea of those huge gardens with locally grown vegetables. The food at the restaurant was also really nice, our cottage was comfortable and the pool was a nice touch. Although, after some time we really started to feel as though we were missing out on a more authentic Balinese experience - the location is fairly secluded from the rest of the city, on the 'wrong' side of the Monkey Forest (you have to hire street taxis whenever you intend to go back at night, seeing as there are no lights there), and most importantly you can definitely feel that you are in an environment operated by western people instead of locals, and thus you get to experience their take on Balinese culture and food, but not the real thing. That really started to put me off as early as from my second day there on - I felt like I was staying at some holiday camp in France and not in the real Ubud - so after a while we left to check in at a local guest house (Pondok Bulan Mas) and I really felt a lot better there. Also, the prices for everything are a definite luxury - the accomodation is great but might be over the top unless that's what you are going for as a tourist or you are on your honeymoon, and there are countless places where the food is just as good - if not better - in Ubud. The staff is friendly but I don't know, it all screamed fake to me. Otherwise I guess it's a nice place to stay technically speaking if you don't pay attention to such things...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aymeric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A peaceful oasis in busy Ubud! Stayed for 5 nights while we explored the town - Swasti Cottages is a short walk through the monkey forest into Ubud.. Staff very friendly and helpful - a very chilled place. Food is very good and the Balinese evening was great fun! We stayed in a deluxe room with fan - room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleCUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Swasti for 11 nights and where very happy find this place.
We stayed in 2 of the traditional bungalows. The bungalows where all very beautiful and clean and the little touches of flowers left daily by the cleaners where so sweet. All the staff where very friendly and helpful. The pool was great, no chlorine!
We loved that the restaurant was organic and the had a great eco policy but a lot of the food wasn't wonderful. Some was good but a lot of it was very average, though luckily there is a polithera of restaurants in ubud which are amazing. The breakfast was o.k.
The location is great, peaceful, outside the hustle of Ubud though only 20mins walk or a few mins on a bike.
One thing I'd say about 1 room we stayed in "Komung" is right next to a very chatty rooster. If you like to sleep in on your holidays then don;t stay in this room. It was literally just outside and began cocking from day break and didn't seem to pause much until dusk.
Great place though

Room Tip: We stayed in Sandy at first and loved it. Right next to the spa so you have the lovely music they p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#58 of 199 in Ubud
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#35 of 199 in Ubud
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 199 in Ubud
1,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#95 of 199 in Ubud
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swasti Eco Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swasti Eco Cottages

Address: Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#25 Family Hotel in Ubud
#37 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £24 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swasti Eco Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swasti Eco Cottages is a charming hotel situated in Nyuh Kuning, a small and quiet woodcarver village adjacent to central Ubud (1 hour from the airport), of 14 cottages and bungalows with a swimming pool, an organic restaurant and vegetable garden and an Eco-Spa providing 100% natural treatments. Swasti Eco Cottages is a place of its own, where you will find yourself submerged in local Balinese culture and a family-like atmosphere with Serenity and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swasti Eco Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swasti Eco Cottage Hotel Ubud
Swasti Eco Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing