We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure in Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swasti Eco Cottages
Ranked #55 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Swasti is one of those hotels/resorts where you end up with an album of envious photos. It is like staying in a posh, exotic kampong in the middle of the rice fields. We went with "Sandy" bungalow that had 2 extra beds including a loft, small deck and a nice outdoor bathroom. The surrounding neighborhood is very quiet & conducive to a good night's sleep. The swimming pool is perfect for a refreshing dip after a sweaty walk through the nearby monkey forest. The Swasti restaurant is "organic" with an eclectic mix of local & french dishes, much of which comes from their own organic garden. The food isn't "outstanding", but does the job well enough. The included breakfast and coffee was a good start to the day. Hotel had decent wi-fi to help plan the next day's excursions. Rooms/cottages don't have A/C (only fans) but in the cooler hills it is quite comfortable.

Swasti it is actually located on the other side of the monkey forest (but there is a little 5-minute walk of a path that goes around to get to Ubud center, no need to pay to go through each time but look out for the scooters). Visiting the center of Ubud is easy, no need for taxis or scooters. Take a bit of mosquito repellent (goes for most places in Bali anyway). A little exploring and you can "stumble" onto the rice fields from the side path just next to the monkey forest (hint, there is a staircase that goes up past a barrage opening).

A few small drawbacks:
Careful booking on-line notably with other booking agents, they book on a 2-person theory but Swasti will add additional if there are more (even if it fits the bungalow's capacity) - supposedly to offset the included breakfast.
Finally Swasti doesn't take credit cards (& the local ATMs give out money in the equivalent of $5 bills) - keep a stash ready for checkout after the meals and massages. If Swasti had a way to top-up over internet (Paypal or something) it would remove this logistical annoyance.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalows for a change...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwasshoppah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swasti Eco C, Propriétaire at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013
Google Translation

Merci encore
Wayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
There are newer reviews for Swasti Eco Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

On our honeymoon, we had the pleasure of staying at this fantastic location. Many people comment on how Ubud has become too busy and commercialized. This is not so, for Swasti. It has all of the benefits of being close enough for a trip into town for dinner, shopping, etc..yet, it's location on the opposite side of the Monkey Forest, keeps the 'hustle and bustle' at bay. While we did try eating in town, but we kept coming back to the delicious food, fresh from Swasti's gardens, as they were the best meals we had during our 3 week stay in Bali. The property in laid out like a fantasy garden, with gorgeous bungalow's and structures carefully placed to ensure tranquility. We stayed in 'Sita', which wasn't a bungalow, but was recommended by the impeccable staff via email, before we arrived. As recommended, Sita was the perfect honeymoon choice and was kept in order daily by the tremendous staff (flowers)! We were lucky enough to partake in one of Swasti's special events, involving dancing, great food and wonderful staff. Here, it is oh so easy to see how the owners of Swasti have created a unique and thriving community of fantastic people! There is lots of laughter and fun to be had.

Room Tip: Sita is perfect for couples or romance getaways!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swasti Eco C, Responsable réception at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hi J and Laura,
sorry for the delay in responding to your comment.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on our Swasti Eco Cottages. We are so happy for you that your honeymoon has been a memorable and enjoyable for you both, and that we contribute a little bit to it.

this kind of comments means a lot to us.

We wish you both all the best back to Vancouver.

Wayan and the Swasti Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

From the reviews here and LP guide we stayed at Swasti expecting great organic food but what we had (breakfast and teatime) was terrible... tasteless. Surely not what you imagine for a French run place. The garden and pool and tranquility matched our expectations however. The rooms were comfortable but a funny type of decoration (at least to our taste). Overall we found it quite overpriced for Bali. Sorry but would not recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anka0298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swasti Eco C, Responsable réception at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hi Anka 0298,
sorry for the delay in responding to your comment.

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Swasti Eco Cottages. We are sorry to hear that our restaurant menu did not reach your expectation. As we run an organic restaurant we are dependent of mother nature and we privilege natural flavours from the ingredients themselves rather than offering a traditional French menu. We believe that our clients wish to experience a different food than the one they are accustomed back home.
Regarding your comments about the decoration, we try to give through our website a true picture of our Hotel and rooms, to give clients an as close as possible idea of what thy will experience in our cottages.

Anyway, we take into account your comments, and keep striving to satisfied as many customer as possible .

Regards

Wayan and the Swasti Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It is an oasis. My room is beautiful , the food is delicious, setting tranquil, and staff very friendly and helpful . The only drawback is that it's located away from the center of town, but that's also what makes it such a sanctuary.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swasti Eco C, Responsable réception at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour Nyreev,

et merci pour vos commentaires qui nous font chaud au coeur.
Effectivement nous faisons notre possible pour rendre votre sejour le plus agreable possible.

Ce genre de commentaires encourage nous tous a Swasti et nous reconforte dans la qualite de notre offre.

Bon voyage
Au plaisir de se revoir
Wayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Swasti Eco Cottages in the village of Ubud is one of the most charming places on earth. It's peaceful, beautiful landscaping, charming staff, and all-natural building materials make this environment better than any fancy 4 or 5 star hotel. Swasti offers organic food from their own garden, massage and manicures, a pool, spotlessly clean cottages and bungalows made of bamboo, teak and thatch, and tours of the area. Bicycles and scooters are easily available to get around town or to explore the island. A delight for families or explorers.

Room Tip: plenty of choices of cottages or rooms in bungalows with nice verandas.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atmananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swasti Eco C, Responsable réception at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hi Atmananda,

sorry for the delay in responding to your comment.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on our Swasti Eco Cottages.

this kind of comments means a lot to us. The additional Stars you kindly added to us make a us feel very happy, even though we do not have them really....
But we are striving to get 5 stars as well from Mother Earth ;-)

We wish you all the best.

Wayan and the Swasti Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Arrived at Denpasar airport at 5.30am. Had a full on day exploring with our guide and checked into Swasti at 5pm. We were so glad when we did.

We sat in the reception area with a welcome drink and Made gave us a good thorough breakdown on the accommodation, our location and recommended places to go.

We stayed in the Komang Bungalow for 4 nights. This could easily accommodate two adults and two children. They are simple but, lovingly decorated and private rooms with an outdoor balcony. Each is extended with an amazing concreted bathroom. I could have a hot shower whenever I wanted. Which wasn't often with the beautiful warm weather. The maintenance/service of the rooms and entire property is very, very good. Each morning we were given breakfast, we also had a couple of lunches and a dinner meal here. The best thing about the restaurant was watching kitchen staff walk to and from the garden with fresh vegetables for cooking. If we were not in a foreign country exploring, we could have eaten breakfast, lunch an dinner here everyday and been happy.

I used the spa 3 times on different days during our stay. 1 hour Balinese massage, 1hr back neck and shoulder massage and a 45min Chocolate body scrub. After any treatment you are offered a good herbal tea to drink before leaving. The prices for each were no more the 150idr. I can not compare their spa services to other Bali Spa's but, being able to toddle off back to your own tranquil room instead of fighting with Bali traffic to get home, was a treat.

We enjoyed the walk to and from Ubud and there are taxi drivers everywhere in the center of town. Majority are on a barter system and the most we spent was 50idr, from the other side of town.

Upon checking out, we paid a deposit to book another room for our last day/night it Bali. We stayed in a deluxe/ac room on our return. Has all the amenities of a bungalow except, it is a very different set up but, still very nice.

Would we return again - well we did, didn't we!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a bungalow...It adds to your stay. Just remember these do not come with A/C so if...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swasti Eco C, Responsable réception at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Kia Ora Lady S,

sorry for the delay in responding to your comment.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on our Swasti Eco Cottages.

this kind of comments means a lot to us.

We wish you all the best back to Rotorua, another beautiful place on Earth.

Wayan and the Swasti Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I were here for 5 nights on our Bali Honeymoon and found this place as a tranquil oasis to the crazy motos & active life of Ubud. We loved coming home each day to the peaceful garden and to our private bungalow that had been made freshly with flowers and loving care.

When we arrived, Ketut took amazing care to help us with Visa extensions and moto rental as well as tips and ideas for the area + a welcome drink :)

The gardens are super peaceful and being among 'growing' food' is very powerful for all the senses.

The staff is super sweet and very helpful for many things.

We have not been so excited about the food... the included breakfast is good, but not enough to inspire us to eat here more. There are plenty of good places around Ubud to eat and then return home for the night time peace.

The price was a little more then other places in the area, but we were 10000% happy to pay a little more for the peaceful ambiance and found it a great value.

Room Tip: Bungalow Gita is perfect for couples...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelYogiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#59 of 199 in Ubud
917 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swasti Eco Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swasti Eco Cottages

Address: Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#25 Family Hotel in Ubud
#37 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £28 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swasti Eco Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swasti Eco Cottages is a charming hotel situated in Nyuh Kuning, a small and quiet woodcarver village adjacent to central Ubud (1 hour from the airport), of 14 cottages and bungalows with a swimming pool, an organic restaurant and vegetable garden and an Eco-Spa providing 100% natural treatments. Swasti Eco Cottages is a place of its own, where you will find yourself submerged in local Balinese culture and a family-like atmosphere with Serenity and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swasti Eco Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swasti Eco Cottage Hotel Ubud
Swasti Eco Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing