We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swasti Eco Cottages
Ranked #51 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2014. It was ok -- I think my friends and I liked the concept more than the actual experience. Booked a cottage room online and was charged extra for our 3rd person even though the room had a double bed and a twin bed (to be fair, it was mentioned on agoda that there might be a surcharge, but we thought that with such a big room that might have been a mistake). Bathroom was open to the elements, which meant when it rained your feet got wet if you used the toilet. Lots of frogs hung out in the room with us, and there was mysterious amphibian poop everywhere, including on the bamboo bedrail at night. To get to downtown Ubud, you can walk through the monkey forest or down a narrow motorcycle path (with lots of motorcycles going every which way down it). Breakfast is great though. We moved after two nights.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superblueridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 703 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stay here for three days and fell in love with the hotel. Our room was awesome and the atmosphere surrounding it was even better: nature, green.. It makes you feel apart from everything; definitely a great place to relax and enjoy quietness. Unfortunately the massage experience went badly. We order and Ayurveda massage (Abhyanga) because we usually take this kind and let us very disappointed. The therapist was sick and keep coughing all over us, she did sides differently, interrupted several times to talk to another colleague and the quality was poorly. It's a nice place to spend the night and relax in the garden and pool, but we suggest to take a massage outside this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Rather unique (and least for me) rustic earthy vibe. Great healthy food which I found was somewhat of a rarity with Balinese/Indonesian cooking. Very chill. Unfortunately the lack of windows made it a bit noisy at times so not good if you're an especially light sleeper. The open air concept is also conducive to unexpected nature visits if that doesn't bother you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here between 17-24 November 2013 and very much enjoyed our stay here. All of the staff and Komang were exceptional, naturally friendly, and made us feel right at home. The best parts of Swasti are: the staff, the pool, the food, the room, the eco-ethos, the garden, and the location - not necessarily in that order. Being half-Indonesian and familiar with Bali since before I can remember this to me was like a visit back in time, the tranquility of the garden, the lovely staff who were more than just people who did things for you because that was their job ... sometimes Ubud can be a bit hard too handle these days, the traffic, the selling, but Swasti was the perfect antidote to that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBallEco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Be carefull, some weird bugs and another animals can be sleep in your room. We booked a room with air cond, i pay more expensive because of that and i stayed ia a room without air and the bugs loved it!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marcela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The place is very nice. Five minutes walk from the Monkey forest, quiet and green. The cottages are well equipped and sweet. The pool is clean and the restaurant looks great.
The bathroom is huge, there is enough space between the cottages and there is a privacy.
We were disappointed by the food. Overall impression was that it was tasteless. We have been waiting for 40 minutes for a toast, which was average. At our departure we have been served toasts, prepared the evening before, just because we had to leave at 6.45 and the breakfast started at 7. Better to not serve a breakfast instead ti give us this.
The other concern that we had is the lack of POS terminal - the hotel excepts cash only, which for an area as UBUB is very inconvenient. They accepted our Euro, but the exchange rate was much different than the exchange rate in all money changers and banks. It is not a question about 10 euros, but it leaved in us a bad impression.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I planned to be in Bali for six days and I stayed at Swasti Eco for the second half of the stay. It was a good coincidence that I stayed at Swasti for my second half because I ran myself into the ground staying in the busy beach side of Kuta/Legian and I was beginning to feel irritable and sick from the noise and fast-food type places around that area. I initially didnt pay a lot of attention when I booked a stay with Swasti so I had no idea what this was about. When I got there though, I found the staff to be friendly and helpful and I preferred the eco cottage to the western rooms in Legian/Kuta. The organic restaurant eased me back onto food ( I was hardly eating food in Legian because I was sick of it) and the quiet nature allowed me to sleep a full night since I arrived to Bali. Swasti IS tucked away in a huge garden/forest scene so you can expect mosquito bites, it's a fair trade for the live drumming performance and cottage patio to enjoy a book. Had I been able to take better care of myself prior to entering Swasti, I could have definitely enjoyed more of what this resort had to offer. I would recommend this place for families, couples and anyone that appreciates a quiet, simple space to relax for holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#50 of 197 in Ubud
546 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#34 of 197 in Ubud
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#64 of 197 in Ubud
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#61 of 197 in Ubud
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 197 in Ubud
368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 197 in Ubud
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swasti Eco Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swasti Eco Cottages

Address: Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#21 Family Hotel in Ubud
#37 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £19 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swasti Eco Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swasti Eco Cottages is a charming hotel situated in Nyuh Kuning, a small and quiet woodcarver village adjacent to central Ubud (1 hour from the airport), of 14 cottages and bungalows with a swimming pool, an organic restaurant and vegetable garden and an Eco-Spa providing 100% natural treatments. Swasti Eco Cottages is a place of its own, where you will find yourself submerged in local Balinese culture and a family-like atmosphere with Serenity and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swasti Eco Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swasti Eco Cottage Hotel Ubud
Swasti Eco Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing