We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the money - just about”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sri Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sri Bungalows
Ranked #16 of 529 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
174 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“On the money - just about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

The bungalows are well located on Monkey Forest Road - and like many similar establishments the accommodation provides a quiet retreat from the hustle of the road.

Our bungalow was a ground floor one near the pool and rice paddy. There is a large verandah and the room was a good size if a little dingy- particularly the toilet and wet room. No hot water to the sink - that's pretty common.

A small fridge with beer that was CHEAPER than anywhere else. This was a first and something that all hotels should do!

Lighting at night was on the dim side of romantic - all very atmospheric but you couldn't read by it and finding things at night could be tricky.

Breakfast was pretty standard- plate of fruit and choice of eggs and toast and jam. Very strong Balinese coffee - not to everyone's taste.

Maybe my impression was coloured by the fact that it is 30 years since I last visited Bali and I was dismayed by the growth of traffic, commercialisation and pollution on the island. Sri bungalows was OK but not worth more than the US$ 60 we paid

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    278
    99
    20
    10
See reviews for
115
241
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Beautiful rooms surrounded by rice paddies. Easy access to restaurants and shops. Great service. Friendly staff. All round a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkpixie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Made a booking from a travel website based on the reviews from tripadvisor. We arrived early (about 10.30am)and was pleasantly surprised that they checked us in. We requested for an extra bed(booked a deluxe room) and was told that if we paid a little extra we could get a twin double bed "suite" including breakfast for the third person). We agreed and was taken to our room(no.34) It was right at the end of the property, next to the Spa. The walk there was thru the paddy fields and view was amazing and peaceful. It is quite a walk and there are stairs at the end going towards our room so I woould advice those who have problems with stairs to avoid the last few rooms at the end.

THe room has a balcony which faces a very small stream(there was a bit of litter all around, which was a pity). There were ducks in the stream at some parts of the day and it was a very nice sight and the kids enjoyed looking and listening to the ducks.

Room was spacious, clean, two double beds, with airconditioning, no ceiling fan. There was a tv and a fridge. I was a bit disappointed that there was no coffee/tea making facilities especially since the room was a bit far off from the reception area AND there is no internal phone, so one would have to walk all the way to the reception to request for anything. THey did provide one flask of tea everyday and we collected from the reception a flask of hot water everyday. Spa staff were a bit noisy at times. THe other staff working on the property(mainly male) were not too friendly/helpful.

Breakfast - you get a choice of a main dish ( pancakes, eggs with toast, jaffles etc), a plate of fresh fruits, coffee/tea. It was sufficient for us so we have no complains. THe breakfast area is not very big and hence can be crowded. The staff can be a bit slow and miss out on some of your order.

There is one pool on the property, we tried to look for the second pool which was mentioned by another reviewer and found that there was one but it belonged to another property next door.

We asked for a late checkout but since it was a Friday, the place was fully booked and we had to check out at noon.

I would recommend this place if you are staying in Ubud as its rooms are clean and comfortable and it's location is close to the palace and the market and monkey forest.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the paddy field or if you don't mind the walk and stair climb, the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutedino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed in Sri Bungalows in March for 4 days. My mother and I loved the hotel. Spacious rooms, nice terrace with a fresh pot of tea every day. The bungalows are located in the centre of everything, monkey forest, shops, bars, restaurants are just a few min away.

The only thing we didnt like very much is the restaurant for breakfast. But there are a lot of nice cafes around so its not really a problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

As it was my first trip to Bali, so confused about many thing especially choosing the hotel and the area and I was traveling with my kids and parents.

Thanks God, I made the right choice.

It was a awesome stay here in the Deluxe Bungalow of Sri Bungalow's! Very clean and the greenery surroundings (in Ubud this is the specialty, calm and quiet and much green).

Loved the pool as the sun directly hits on it and clean. Pathway from the main entrance to the bungalows an experience!!

If you like to pass a relaxing time with your dear ones, this is the best place with a very good price tag.

The downside is, breakfast is insufficient and very limited choice (no buffet, only select from any one set from the menu). And yes, no phone in the bungalows. You have to walk to the reception for any needs.

But these were minor issues for me (but I suggest to the authority to consider about these things). Very perfect for family vacation. I enjoyed the totally relaxing environment of the hotel and the Ubud area, and will back again and again when get time!

Room Tip: Deluxe Bungalows are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

As Tegal Sari and Greenfields were fully booked and we could not get in contact with Sri Bungalows so we decided to just turn up. It was a lovely surprise and better than expected!

After being shown the rooms, we neg on the family room at the back for a fantastic price. It can sleep 6 adults on 3 dbl beds and is 2 storey. The room is very clean and modern and have lovely views from every window. There are 2 balconies, one of which is huge and they serve lime tea on the balcony each afternoon.

We cannot fault this gorgeous place at all. The location is very central and we were able to walk to the markets and monkey forest even with 3 lil kids. It's located on the flat part of monkey forest road and there are many restaurants and cafes.

Free wifi is fantastic but only accessible from your room.

My advice is not to eat inside the room and throw out rubbish asap otherwise you will find a lot of tiny lil ants in your room. It is expected being in such natural settings.

When you go out, leave the a/c on...we had a huge room and the a/c worked great...most importantly, it kept the mosquitoes away.

There's a path through the rice paddy fields that leads to the rooms at the back..Just beware that after dark there are loads of frogs and crickets jumping over the path...I was too scared to go out so made hubby go out and get take away for dinner both nights!

Bfst is fantastic. First time we tried Jaffles and it's a must as well as the banana pancake! You also get a plate of fruit each. We had been eating heavy resort buffet bfst so this was a really nice change. We loved it.

The family room is ad $200 p/n but we were able to neg a lot less there. Highly recommend this hotel. The deluxe rooms with a canopy are also lovely for couples!

Room Tip: Request for a room at the back over the rice paddy fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Loved the position of hotel and we stayed in a deluxe bungalow which was great. Clean and a lovley balcony with a sofa bed, loved it. We also had a smaller balcony at the back of the room where the bathroom was. Different going out of the room to the bathroom.Loved the sounds of the wildlife, was great. Must say did not like the breakfast area, very small only about 6-7 tables, not big enough & very small and dismal. They are talking about putting the breakfast room overlooking the rice fields which would be great. The breakfast we found to be very nice and plenty for us to start the day off. Also they are supposed to be upgrading the pool area. Position great for walking & sightseeing. Went to a great spa & massage Bali Bliss in the rice fields, was just so good & so different.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room, just so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanga43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#56 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Bungalows

Property: Sri Bungalows
Address: Monkey Forest Street (Jl. Wenara wana), Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 529 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sri Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Ubud, Sri Bungalows Ubud is an ideal spot from which to discover Bali. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Also within easy reach are Komaneka Gallery, Monkey Forest Ubud, Ubud Market.At Sri Bungalows Ubud, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are business center, 24hr room service, laundry service/dry cleaning, tours, safety deposit boxes.Sri Bungalows Ubud is an ideal place of stay for travelers seeking charm, comfort and convenience in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sri Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing