We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it here”
Review of Sri Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sri Bungalows
Ranked #21 of 654 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Sri Bungalows became our home in Bali, we stayed there for most of our trip and became very fond of it. It is a peaceful place with friendly staff who keep it very clean and tidy. We found it charming. The room was elegant in a simple way and it was airy, cool and clean. It was on the second floor and there were trees with several different birds nesting in them just next to our balcony. We had a pretty view over the small rice field and I enjoyed watching the herons fly over every evening. The rooms are tastefully simple and they do not have all mod cons but we did not want or need this. We found it to be good value and I have only good things to say about it.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SueJH_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

From the street you would never guess there was a tropical paradise hidden behind the entrance. Air conditioned rooms were spacious & clean, included a made to order breakfast, great swimming pool, close to shops and the monkey forest and helpful staff.....didn't need anymore than that!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daylily17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Royal Kamuela for a few nights when we first got to Ubud and wish we stayed at Sri Bungalows the whole time instead. It was nice to have a villa, but it wasn't worth it. Downtown Ubud is very compact and it's easy to walk to most places (including the Monkey Forest), and Sri Bungalows is in a really great location. We stayed in the second story of a room overlooking the rice fields, which was quiet and nice. The room was clean, there were a few ants but nothing to worry about. The shower had decent water pressure. There are no toiletries and no bottled water, but there is a Circle K very close and you could buy little things you would need there. The breakfast was not good, but we were able to request extra servings of fruit (which was pretty fresh) and that held us over until lunch (try Sari Organik- worth the walk!). There is an ATM directly in front of the hotel, which is convenient. Check out Agoda for good rates- we got a great value. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the rice fields. Peaceful and pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roundtheworld30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in a standard double room at this hotel for 1 night before taking a tour of the island and staying at Nusa Dua. We hope to return to Ubud again, and if we do, we will stay at this hotel for sure. The hotel was in a convient location -- between monkey palace and ubud palace, with plenty of shopping, convience stores, and restaurants just steps away.

Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable -- especially the beds. Our room had a small fridge which had beverages available for purchase at a fair price. The AC worked great and kept the room at a comfortable temperature. The two downsides of the room are that it was rather dim at night and the door didn't create a perfect seal, so it was possible for mosquitoes to get it. To prevent mosquito attacks, we bought a plug-in mosquito repellent for 11,000 IDR (about $1.12 USD) at Cocos (near Dirty Duck). It was silent and soundless to us, but it kept the room mosquito-free. The bathroom was basic (no-frills) but clean, though there were a few stained tiles in the shower area. The water pressure is weak.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful, and make you feel like you are in an oasis, not on a well-trafficked road; however, to keep the grounds looking so lovely, the yard work begins around 8:00 am. The pool was small but clean and comfortable. There were lounge chairs near the pool with beach towels available for use. The pool looks out over a lovely little rice field.

We enjoyed the breafast and the daily tea service.

The staff was helpful, friendly, and honest. When we locked our valuables in the safe (located in the reception area), the staff attendant turned away out of respect/modesty/honesty.

Shopping Tip: Next to the Dirty Duck is Cocos, a large supermarket with fixed-price items. This is a good place to stock up on groceries/snacks/personal care items you need. If you are going to Nusa Dua, stock up here first, because the Cocos in Nusa Dua is twice the price.

Restaurant Tip: When leaving Sri Bungalows, turn left and walk about 10 minutes. You will find a great restaurant called Sagittarius. The pizza (especially the BBQ Chicken pizza) is delicious and the food is cheap. We got 2 pizzas, garlic bread, and 2 sodas for under 80000 IDR (about $8.80 USD).

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow #13. It was at the back of the hotel grounds, so it was quiet and across from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lt1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The bungalows are well located on Monkey Forest Road - and like many similar establishments the accommodation provides a quiet retreat from the hustle of the road.

Our bungalow was a ground floor one near the pool and rice paddy. There is a large verandah and the room was a good size if a little dingy- particularly the toilet and wet room. No hot water to the sink - that's pretty common.

A small fridge with beer that was CHEAPER than anywhere else. This was a first and something that all hotels should do!

Lighting at night was on the dim side of romantic - all very atmospheric but you couldn't read by it and finding things at night could be tricky.

Breakfast was pretty standard- plate of fruit and choice of eggs and toast and jam. Very strong Balinese coffee - not to everyone's taste.

Maybe my impression was coloured by the fact that it is 30 years since I last visited Bali and I was dismayed by the growth of traffic, commercialisation and pollution on the island. Sri bungalows was OK but not worth more than the US$ 60 we paid

Stayed: April 2012
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Beautiful rooms surrounded by rice paddies. Easy access to restaurants and shops. Great service. Friendly staff. All round a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkpixie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Made a booking from a travel website based on the reviews from tripadvisor. We arrived early (about 10.30am)and was pleasantly surprised that they checked us in. We requested for an extra bed(booked a deluxe room) and was told that if we paid a little extra we could get a twin double bed "suite" including breakfast for the third person). We agreed and was taken to our room(no.34) It was right at the end of the property, next to the Spa. The walk there was thru the paddy fields and view was amazing and peaceful. It is quite a walk and there are stairs at the end going towards our room so I woould advice those who have problems with stairs to avoid the last few rooms at the end.

THe room has a balcony which faces a very small stream(there was a bit of litter all around, which was a pity). There were ducks in the stream at some parts of the day and it was a very nice sight and the kids enjoyed looking and listening to the ducks.

Room was spacious, clean, two double beds, with airconditioning, no ceiling fan. There was a tv and a fridge. I was a bit disappointed that there was no coffee/tea making facilities especially since the room was a bit far off from the reception area AND there is no internal phone, so one would have to walk all the way to the reception to request for anything. THey did provide one flask of tea everyday and we collected from the reception a flask of hot water everyday. Spa staff were a bit noisy at times. THe other staff working on the property(mainly male) were not too friendly/helpful.

Breakfast - you get a choice of a main dish ( pancakes, eggs with toast, jaffles etc), a plate of fresh fruits, coffee/tea. It was sufficient for us so we have no complains. THe breakfast area is not very big and hence can be crowded. The staff can be a bit slow and miss out on some of your order.

There is one pool on the property, we tried to look for the second pool which was mentioned by another reviewer and found that there was one but it belonged to another property next door.

We asked for a late checkout but since it was a Friday, the place was fully booked and we had to check out at noon.

I would recommend this place if you are staying in Ubud as its rooms are clean and comfortable and it's location is close to the palace and the market and monkey forest.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the paddy field or if you don't mind the walk and stair climb, the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutedino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#61 of 197 in Ubud
631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mawa House
Mawa House
#11 of 654 in Ubud
363 reviews
0 mi away
Lumbung Sari Cottages
Lumbung Sari Cottages
#24 of 615 in Ubud
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#2 of 654 in Ubud
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.9 mi away
Green Bird Villa
Green Bird Villa
#23 of 654 in Ubud
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Bungalows

Address: Monkey Forest Street, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £28 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sri Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Ubud, Sri Bungalows Ubud is an ideal spot from which to discover Bali. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Also within easy reach are Komaneka Gallery, Monkey Forest Ubud, Ubud Market.At Sri Bungalows Ubud, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are business center, 24hr room service, laundry service/dry cleaning, tours, safety deposit boxes.Sri Bungalows Ubud is an ideal place of stay for travelers seeking charm, comfort and convenience in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sri Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing