We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bungalow in Paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sri Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sri Bungalows
Ranked #17 of 512 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Bungalow in Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I was totally surprised when I saw the bungalow. Did not expect such a big piece of land behind the reception building. We were checked into a family room which was lots of space for just the two people. But it was very much appreciated. It felt like home away from home. The surroundings were beautifully manicured and clean. Particularly liked waking up to the calls of ducks and chickens, and we had a resident cow which would moo away. Great if you like farm living.
The location is very convenient being at the 1/3 top end of Monkey Forest Rd. Good access to good food, shopping and spas all around.
Breakfast is basic, but sufficient to get you going in the morning.
Only drawback, the curtains ought to be heavier. The room came with white see through curtains which did nothing to keep out the morning sun. Can't sleep in even if we wanted to, and the sun rises at 6AM.
Will be back, but maybe the next time, a smaller cozier room rather than the family room which can accommodate 4 - 6 people.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    274
    98
    20
    10
See reviews for
115
238
58
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed in a deluxe room with my mum. It was a really good size room and had a beautiful outlook onto the rice fields, with our own outdoor area. It was great because you wouldn't know that the busy monkey forest rd is just on your doorstep. I loved walking through the rice fields to get to the spa and I loved that the spa was half outdoors. I highly recommend the yoghurt and coffee scrub! The staff were lovely and helpful and I also really liked the look of the standard rooms at the front. Our room was spotlessly clean I have to say, but nothing major. The good outweighed the bad and it was in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller32112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

The front entrance of the hotel is a bit misleading, but once inside, the bungalows set in the fantastic tropical garden and rice paddy are an oasis just off this busy road. Everything is well kept and the garden is meticulously tended to everyday by a group of gardeners. My bungalow was right in front of the swimming pool, and with the sounds of water and the animal life from the rice paddy it couldn't have been more relaxing. I spent 4 nights here and really enjoyed it. The only improvement I could suggest is the lighting in the bungalows -- it is really not enough. But otherwise, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the entrance as possible -- around the swimming pool or rice padd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smagyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Love the room (second floor had a nice view of the pool and rice paddies just beyond it. Perfect for couples. It's spacious and really clean. The staff were really nice too and very helpful if you had queries. I also loved the breakfast options of fresh fruits and choices of main course. The location is perfect as it is right along Monkey Forest Road. Walking distance to lots of restaurant options, to a traditional dance "temple", Monkey Forest, ATMs and shops. It seems busy along the road, but once you get inside Sri Bungalows, it's quiet and feels peaceful and very tranquil. Very relaxing. Just awesome!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the second floor facing the pool or the rice paddies ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Hotel is right in the middle of Ubud in a great location and is set in pretty grounds with a lovely swimming pool. Once you get off the street you feel like you're miles away!
Fantastic view over a rice field with lovely wildlife sounds.
My room was lovely but the only downside was that I could hear everything my neighbours did/said!! Might be that I had noisy neighbours but it was definitely not good.
The breakfast was really rubbish. I travelled in Indonesia for 10 days and it was by far the worst!
That said... this hotel is really lovely with beautiful grounds and friendly safe!

Room Tip: Get a rice field view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank excitedtravellergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We went there as a family and had 2 rooms booked, one upstairs and one downstairs. Overall the accomodation was of general high standard and the views from the balcony of the rice fields were amazing. The hotel is deceptive when entering, but shortly behind the main entrance is a swimming pool and beautiful landscaping. A short walk to anywhere in Ubud, including the markets and monkeys! (Becareful with the monkeys, a couple of tips, firstly, DO NOT get bitten, Rabbi's runs rampent in Bali and secondly, remove shiny articles such as jewelry, sunglasses etc... as this is attractive to them). While your in Ubud, make sure you catch a cab to Naught Noori's (I think I spelt that right?) Its the greatest ribs you will ever have and make sure you book before going. My family and I loved the accomodation, well priced, good service and well situated.

Room Tip: Get one of the new rooms, they were builbing more when we were there in 2011.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stayed in room 15 (pool view, upper level).
The good:
1. The hotel has an unbeatable central Ubud location.
2. Great breakfast set.
3. Absolutely drop-dead gorgeous gardens and grounds.
4. Spacious rooms.
The bad:
1. Bedding - mattresses and linen are worn and tired. We had an issue with bedbugs.
2. Rooms need to be more soundproof. We could hear our neighbours conversing! There's also a click-click whirring sound from the ceiling fan which can get annoying, and yes, we did hear the thump-thump of an electric guitar, though it stopped around 11:30pm.
3. Bathroom is really old. We got only cakes of soap - you'd think a shower gel and shampoo/conditioner are at least the bare minimum.
4. Spotty wifi.
5. In-room amenities comprise only a fridge w two bottles of water a day and a box of tissues. No water-boiler or coffee/tea, no safety deposit box, no hair dryer, no pen and paper.
Don't book this one if a sound sleep is your priority. Staff are nice enough though.

Room Tip: Request for a room towards the back, or book a deluxe - those appear to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvar_Aalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#55 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#33 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Bungalows

Property: Sri Bungalows
Address: Monkey Forest Street (Jl. Wenara wana), Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 512 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sri Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Ubud, Sri Bungalows Ubud is an ideal spot from which to discover Bali. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Also within easy reach are Komaneka Gallery, Monkey Forest Ubud, Ubud Market.At Sri Bungalows Ubud, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are business center, 24hr room service, laundry service/dry cleaning, tours, safety deposit boxes.Sri Bungalows Ubud is an ideal place of stay for travelers seeking charm, comfort and convenience in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sri Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing