We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, friendly owners, delicious breakfast!”
Review of Bali Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bali Moon
Ranked #235 of 543 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, friendly owners, delicious breakfast!”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We loved our stay at Bali Moon Guesthouse.

Location
About a 15 minute walk from the center of Ubud, we were grateful to be out in the middle of a beautiful rice paddy. There are views of the mountains in the distance and greenery all around.

Breakfast
The breakfast was delicious and fresh each morning, a different dish each day. We had omelets, fresh fruit, fruit smoothies, egg sandwiches, pancakes and french toast along with Bali coffee.

The rooms were large with a bed raised up off the ground and mosquito nets, however we rarely saw mosquitoes. The bathrooms included a shower and bathtub and western toilet. Our favorite part was the veranda outside to sit on and enjoy breakfast or read. Made and Wayan are gracious hosts, always willing to go out of their way to help.

We would recommend Bali Moon to anyone staying in Ubud.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper level. On the lower levels people can see right into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTW42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    24
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
40
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Rooms were clean and newly renovated. Gorgeous bathrooms and large terrace outside of each room. Staff was very helpful and nice albeit a bit unprofessional. Breakfast sometimes took awhile but was well worth the wait.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leser52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at Bali Moon. It's tucked away and slightly secluded, with gorgeous scenery all around. The staff are very friendly and we enjoyed having a healthy breakfast served to us every day on our terrace upon waking up. This is a great and affordable location to start off a trip to Bali, with plenty of things to explore within walking distance.

We moved on to a resort in Nusa Dua after three nights at Bali Moon, but soon wished we had stayed here a little longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Friendly and helpful staff . Nice view of rice fields. Warm welcome and great experience. Good breakfast. Will return

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XtremeAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Bali Moon is a piece of heaven on earth amidst the rice fields on a quiet, safe street just outside of Ubud. Traveling as a female alone, I had a local friend stop by to see if it was a good fit. He was right...it was perfect! He picked room #6 upstairs, in the back. My wood carved doors opened to the sunrise each morning and to the left of me I was able to watch the workers begin their day in the rice field. There were also some other very nice villas across the way. I enjoyed the early morning sounds of roosters and Bali "waking up" in the countryside, but those who are used to sleeping in could just pack some earplugs. I actually missed these sounds when I moved to my next location!

If you are worried about no air conditioning, there is an adequate breeze that flows through with all the windows and doors open. This is how I kept it when I was home. At night you can use the mosquito net which elegantly drapes around the bed. Safe?...Absolutely! No worries whatsoever and much better than villa rentals in Penestanan. The walk to town is perfect and only about 5 minutes to the main street in Ubud and 7-10 to the market on that same street. There is also a great massage place where you enter to walk back to Bali Moon. It is called Lily's and it has a pink sign out front. You can get an hour massage for 60,000 Indonesian rupiah (just over $6) or an aromatherapy massage for 70,000. They have several other treatments, and don't miss the frangipani oil! This is the best place by Bali Moon. Bisma market is the closest place for large bottles of water (just a few doors down if you turn left by the waterway where you enter. They have 24 hour markets and Circle K's on the main street for quick needs.

The room is large, spotless, and tastefully decorated with the wonderful natural touch of stones under the bed. The bathroom has a tub and separate shower and beautiful wood carved windows that push open to the rice fields. There is a lovely deck where Wayan brings coffee/tea and breakfast each morning along with fresh flowers, which the owner Wayan purchases each morning at the local market. Both Wayans are there when needed, but offer privacy as well.

Wayan and I had the opportunity to visit and share the differences between the eastern women and the western women, as well as men. Although we are on opposite sides of the world, we share similar issues. I enjoyed her friendship.

Her place is located off the street a bit, so it would be advantageous to call when you arrive and young Wayan can come out to the street to assist you with your luggage. It is a bit of a trek if you have a couple suitcases. He is always helping with a smile!

Although noted as under $30 with breakfast, i paid just over $40 a night so it would be best to confirm the price before you stay. All and all Bali Moon is a winner! I will be back to stay in a few months! Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: Room #6 is upstairs in the back and private with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at this property for four nights in December. We were given room #6 on the 3rd floor of what I believe is the new wing in Mr Made's property (there were a total of 6 rooms).

Pros:
1) Room #6 was high up with great views of the surrounding rice fields and resident ducks. Fall asleep to the cooling breeze through the casement windows and wake up to the sounds of Ubud nature
2) Room was clean and well kept. Breakfast was served at our room open terrace
3) Free and reasonable trouble-free wifi
4) Friendly Made and his wife took care of all of our needs. We did a great homestay cooking class with them. They aren't the fastest or most efficient- but this is a homestay, not a hotel, and service was friendly and personal
5) Bathroom was nice and well ventilated

Cons
1) The only con I could really think of was that the water pressure to our room was rather poor - slowed down to a trickle on one of the days. Would have given the stay 5 stars if not for this - a nice shower is something I would really have liked after a day of traipsing around ubud.

Room Tip: Our room was great on the 3rd floor (most other properties around have mostly up to second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Bali Moon has a good atmosphere and you can feel at home there (as far as this is possible in a tradionally built Balinese homestay). The staff is friendly and helpfull, the breakfast tastes wonderfull and on top they put fresh hibiscus in the rooms each day.
Our fiftth time in Ubud ... it's like Monkey Forest many years ago.
Thank you Made & Wayan.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.8 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hibiscus Cottages
Hibiscus Cottages
#98 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Home Stay Griya Jungutan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ala's Green Lagoon
Ala's Green Lagoon
#270 of 543 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puji Bungalow
Puji Bungalow
#61 of 543 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kama Bisma Cottage
Kama Bisma Cottage
#53 of 538 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Moon

Property: Bali Moon
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 543 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bali Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Moon Hotel Ubud
Bali Moon Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing