We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Puri Darma Agung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Puri Darma Agung
Ranked #91 of 520 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Wangaratta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secluded Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Our family of 5 spent 5 days in Ubud staying out of town in amongst the real Bali; surrounded by rice paddies and palm trees at the Villa Puri Darma Agung. We only wished we had stayed there longer!! The staff were fantastic - they could not have been more obliging to our needs.
The Villa is spacious, comfortable and good value. So glad we stayed away from the traffic of Ubud. Would not hesitate to book there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    13
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

On a recent visit to Bali we were fortunate to have two days (but we would have preferred more) in what I call the "real Bali" at Puri Darna Agung set amongst the rice paddies.
Host Barry could not have done more for us during our stay.
The artistic villas and superb gardens are the ultimate in luxury.
Forget the glitz in other areas, just don't miss this bit of paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

This place is simply spectacular. The grounds are breathtakingly beautiful and the rooms generous and stylishly decorated with modern artworks. Our second time to Bali but our first to the Ubud area - who would have thought that such an amazing tranquil place would sit down a dirt road literally surrounded by ricefields. The raised bale with Balinese xylophone was our favourite place to relax. Easy 10 minute trip to all the colour and culture of Ubud - but just as happy to dine in at the villa. Or take a cooking class in town, grab some spice at the markets and try it yourself. The staff were attentive and wonderful with the kids. Ayu cared for them while we enjoyed an evening at the Jazz Cafe. Singing Indo pop in the front seat with Eka was a highlight for our younger son. Very private, very relaxing and perfect for families or couples.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 123bridget123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I thought that I would take a moment to set out my strong positive recommendations for Villa Tujuh and Puri Darma Agung as the places to stay in Bali. This was my family's first time to Bali, and staying at Villa Tujuh the first part of our trip was really quite refreshing and an extraordinary experience. The staff were extremely attentive and the chef restaurant quality. We particularly enjoyed the more traditional Indonesian food which he is expert at. The villa itself was perfect for our introduction to Bali – there was plenty of space in the 4 bedrooms and the en suite facilities in the master bedroom would be at home in an architectural magazine. There is plenty of water on the property, ranging from steps over koi ponds in the middle of the villa to an infinity pool. We spent the majority of our time in the outside lounging and dining area, which was large, comfortable and very private. This Villa was a perfect place to use as a launching point for day trips throughout the island, allowing us to come back to peace and calm after some hectic days in the main tourist areas of Bali. We had a wonderful 8 days.

We also booked 3 days in the Ubud area, at another Villa which we arranged through Chilloutbali – Puri Darma Agung. This property is amongst the rice fields 10 min. outside of town and shares many of the superlatives of Villa Tujuh described above, although this is not a Chilloutbali owned property but rather, one that they act as agents for the owner. The owner, Barry, is a total hoot and a walking Wikipedia. If you do stay there, make sure you avail yourself of one of the early morning rice field walks with him. The staff were very attentive and after 3 days, felt like family. The villa environment is extremely peaceful – the grounds are filled with statues, water ponds, a garden gazebo overlooking endless rice fields. The rooms were large, airy and very comfortable. The main compound has two large bedrooms plus en suite bathrooms as separate buildings flanking the main walkway. We also used one of the bedrooms above the secondary building just outside the compound. All in all, a very comfortable stay, and we wish that we would have been able to spend more time here. The tranquility of this location could be addictive.

I would enthusiastically recommend both of these Villas to anyone visiting Bali; these two are very high quality villas.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Its alwayd nerve-racking booking a place online and being unsure about what to expect, but this totally blew our expectations out of the water! We were two young couples and the villas were perfect for us, with two speperate sleeping bungalows with amazing outdoor bathrooms! The whole setting is just unbelieveable, with the gardens and pool epitomising Bali, and them surrounded by lush rice paddys. It also so peaceful! A bit thanks to David who was fantastic at coordinating everything for us and the rest of the wonderful staff! Will definately be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelinci88, Owner at Villa Puri Darma Agung, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you for your comments. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay us, It was our pleasure to be of service to you and hope to see you again at Villa Puri Darma Agung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We needed a four bedroom villa in Ubud for the family holiday this year. There were not too many to choose from and Puri Darma Agung was recommended by a friend, although the friend had not stayed here themselves.

The property is pleasant enough although the configuration is much more suited to two couples than a family. There are two villa rooms on the main property where the bure and pool etc are, the other two rooms are outside of the main area, but still inside the gates. They are upstairs above the staff quarters and are ok, but not luxurious.

The two main villa units have one large room with a large comfortable bed, a day bed, walk in robe and as expected the Bali style bathroom. However for a reason as yet to be discovered the airconditioners dont work, or at least while we want them to work. After three days of trying to get it resolved we gave up and put up with no aircon, which is fine at night when its quite cool up here in Ubud, but during the day if its hot there is nowhere to escape the heat other than going out in the car with the aircon on. Not ideal. The staff seem incapable to resolve this issue and no doubt work on the basis that eventually you will go local and give up like everyone else. I stress this is not a major issue for us but its annoying that it cannot be fixed, or even any serious attempt being made to do so.

The bure itself is lovely and very functional but the seating is not luxurious. There is a mixture of furniture but if more than four people want to sit down there is just not enough sofa/day bed furniture for this to happen withoutt someone getting the uncomfortable chairs.

There is one television on-site which is a rather small but perfectly functional flat screen which is right next to the kitchen. There are only two chairs from whch the TV might be watched so too bad if more than two want to watch, may require a bit of furniture removal exercise, all good holiday fun I suppose.

The pool looks small but we found it to be very functional and nice, its cool though so be warned, unless the sun has been out all day. We very much enjoyed being able to plunge into the pool in the afternoon after a day out in the car sight seeing.

On a more basic level, the bathrooms work well. There is plenty of hot water, with good pressure and the hot is hot so beware. Everything else in the bathroom worked and there was plenty of shelving for odds and sods, but no laundry baskets, anywhere?

The wireless internet works very well for Bali standard, but dont expect to be using YouTube or streaming videos on it, its perfect for web browsing and email but that is it, but as I said for Bali its of a high standard.

The gardens are lovely and lots of flowers and statues, lots of fish in the ponds swimming around day and night, these kept the kids well entertained. Nighttime to yard is full of gekkos, frogs, lizards and other creatures, we loved the noise and sit with no other sound than the animals each night just listening. During the day the odd squirrel (tupai) will come to visit as will a few skinks who are almost friendly enough to come and chat, if you sit still enough.

Unlike a lot of Villas in Bali this one does not do laundry on-site. The ad says that laundry is included but we are still uncertain if this is the case as it has to be sent out each day, guess we will find out when we pay the final bill? Answers to this question were a little vague, even when asked in Indonesian, so if you expect to do a lot of laundry ask very detailed specific questions until you get the answer you want, or understand.

The staff here are ok, friendly enough, but not always around when you need them. They seem to work a rolling shift of some sort so not always certain who is going to be on when. There is a gong in the bure to summon them when you need them and they will come quickly enough to make coffee or tea, set the table or get towels etc when needed.

One thing to note about this villa is that for all that is good about it, and there is a lot, it is not anywhere close to Ubud township in terms of being able to walk.

If you did try to walk there is a very long and winding road through the rice paddies and then down and up a very steep ravine that is not for the unfit or feint hearted. I estimate that if you made it to the Ubud market in one piece it would take at least two hours of solid walking to get there. For this reason the villa will run you into Ubud when you need to go there or around the corner to Delta supermarket for supplies. Even by car its 10 to 15 minutes depending on the traffic jam.

You will need a car if you want to go anywhere other than the rice paddy next door.

Overall we have thoroughly enjoyed out time here, its our first time inUbud and we have enjoyed being closer to Kintamani and other mountain side places than before in Kuta/Seminyak areas. The villa has been comfortable and clean, serviceable, it just needs a few little things to make it 5*. These would include better casual seating in the bure, the aircon to work when you need it and the staff to be a little more attentive, by which I suppose I mean pro-active.

If you want quiet, scenic, comfortable and in Ubud, but know you need a car to get anywhere, then this is an excellent place to stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aegisint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

I was nervous booking a villa i've never seen before based on pictures. I feel like the pics on the villa's website DO NOT do this place justice. The location is 15 min outside of the center of Ubud, which is perfect as Ubud gets loud/crazy. The villa is in the middle of a rice paddy field - so enchanting. The setup is perfect - each couple as its own 'house' so you can lock rooms and not pay for them when not in use. You can enjoy the villa as 2 couples of even 4. Gazebo was my favourite part (see villa pics). Book with owner directly to avoid booking fees with a villa rental company.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kokonuts1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.7 mi away
Swarapadi Villa
Swarapadi Villa
#125 of 520 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#7 of 520 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 520 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kano Sari Ubud Villas
2.5 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#11 of 520 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pajar House Ubud
Pajar House Ubud
#16 of 520 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Puri Darma Agung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Puri Darma Agung

Property: Villa Puri Darma Agung
Address: Banjar Sala | Bali, Ubud, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 520 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Puri Darma Agung 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Darma Agung is a luxurious privately owned villa with 4 air conditioned bedrooms and ensuites,2 with bath tubs. Large open air living and dinning pavilion overlooking pool,jacuzzi and spacious tropical gardens,giving you the highest level of luxury,and traditional Balinese service,set amongst beautiful rice fields only 10 minutes from Ubud. Free Wi-FI, TV, DVD - CD player. Full dinning service available. Private Airport Transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Puri Darma Agung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Puri Darma Agung Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing