We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay in Ubud”
Review of Dewangga Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dewangga Bungalow
Ranked #26 of 592 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favorite place to stay in Ubud”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I come from Hawaii and live in a spot surrounded by nature; however, the Dewangga blows me away! The older bungalows are in need of some upkeep, but who cares as long as the beds are comfortable and the bathroom is clean? Someone earlier complained about breakfast, but the two beautiful Balinese young girls who daily served me scrambled eggs and toast and coffee could've served me Spam and potato chips for all i cared... The grounds are a masterpiece of art and architecture. The swimming pool is a godsend... If and when i return to Bali the Dewangga is going to be the place where i shall park myself!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunggung007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    57
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
27
56
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My residence of choice while in Ubud is the Dewangga. The central location is perfect, the
bungalows isolated, comfortable, and pleasant, and the price very reasonable. There are
close-by restaurants that are reasonable and high class. Recently, Dewangga added a
swimming pool, which should make this accommodation one of the best secrets in Ubud.
It is on the beaten path, yet off.

Room Tip: #9 is very special / two floors with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UbudHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights recently and loved it! The friendliness of the staff as well as the quiet tranquility of the place made it for us. Really nice setting, rooms and art gallery in amongst trees and nature - even though it's right in the heart of ubud it felt peaceful...
We spent the first night in one of the older two storied Bungalows, and swiftly moved to one of the newer one level rooms which were the same price and by far more comfortable in every way... Lovely clean room and comfy beds, nice balcony and the staff were just so friendly and welcoming, we loved them. For 500k rupiah you can't expect the world so happy to take the very low shower pressure and average breakfast in exchange for all the fab things.
The location is fab, easy to get to hanoman and monkey forest road and had great cafes on our street. Mingle cafe which was right next door did an excellent breakkie so we just went there instead, worth the extra few dollars.
recommend for sure, but get the new rooms ;)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have recently returned from Ubud where we stayed 8 nights at Dewangga, before returning later with friends for a further two nights.

We stayed in one of the brand new bungalow rooms with a really comfy bed and lovely huge, light and clean bathroom. Bargain for 500,000 IDR a night

Dewangga's location is brilliant, such a short walk to everything in town. The new pool is amazing. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have stayed at Dewangga for to extended stays in Bali. Mega & Gusti are both beautiful artist. Gusti has created a magical garden which is wonderful for yoga and meditation. Dewangga is in the heart of Ubud without the noise of the traffic.

Dewangga is one of the original homestays. I still remember the days when it was one of the only places to stay.

There rooms are comfortable, appropriately priced and great for small groups. I was leading a small yoga retreat.

Room Tip: My daughter and I stayed in 202 a second floor room which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Dewangga Bungalow is centrally located in the heart of Ubud's cultural district. It has tropical garden with ponds, shrines and exquisite stone carvings.

The facilities are very basic and they started minor renovation for the Bungalows. The room furniture and fittings are worn and out dated however it gives a unique feeling while staying. The outside doors are lock by hanging lock and there is no safe in the rooms.

Don’t forget to bring mosquito repellent as Ubut is surrounded by Rice farms. The staff already provides mosquito coils for the balcony and bathrooms.

The Bungalow staffs are very friendly and hospitable. We had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Have stayed here previously with the same wonderful staff and would return again for the attentive staff, secure,clean, quiet, central position with ability to walk everywhere and the price is great. New pool and buildings will give the option of newer rooms with maybe better bathrooms etc but for a short stay you can't go passed being in the centre of Ubud.Wayan is wonderful and remembers everything!

Room Tip: Love the back room although all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 197Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.2 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#14 of 592 in Ubud
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudiana House
Sudiana House
#15 of 592 in Ubud
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#3 of 592 in Ubud
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#28 of 592 in Ubud
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Teja Guest House & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewangga Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewangga Bungalow

Property: Dewangga Bungalow
Address: Jl. Dewi Sita, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 592 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dewangga Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Zenrooms, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dewangga Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewangga Bungalow Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing