We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guesthouse, friendly staff, good prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dewangga Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dewangga Bungalow
Ranked #44 of 523 Ubud B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great guesthouse, friendly staff, good prices.”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

There's so many places to choose in Ubud, and all of the places I've been have been great in their own way. Dewangga is one of my favorites though as the staff are so friendly. One guy found out we liked mangosteens so every day he gave us a bag from his wife!

There's cheap rooms with fans and more expensive ones with aircon and some on 2 floors.

The grounds are beautiful, and its a nice break from the populated streets of Ubud.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David_H_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    50
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
45
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed here for four nights.

Pros:
- excellent location: plenty of dining, shopping and spa options around (highly recommend tapas at cafe Havana, ja juice, and devilicious on nearby jl gootama)
- very very spacious room and bathroom (we stayed in their best room type),
- modern bathroom,
- warm, friendly service, always willing to go above and beyond,
- great value (we payed 400k rp a night including breakfast and all taxes. We were walk ins, and it was the week before xmas. We thought this was amazing, as we'd looked at a number of home stays before coming to this hotel, and there were some like agung cottages and nirvana on jl gootama which were asking 300k for much smaller rooms, and ancient, tiny bathrooms).

Cons:
- breakfast: we ate their the first morning as it was included in our room rate, and we never went back. There weren't many options, and the banana pancakes I had were terrible. Overripe bananas, and the pancake itself was very dry. The tea was super weak.
- the towels. Might sound a bit strange but there's nothing like a fresh, clean towel, and those were not the kind of towels at this hotel.
- although the toilets were new and modern, the flush was a bit tricky. It worked fine if you knew just how to use it. The drains occasionally smelled, which seems to be a common problem in bali.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Very much enjoyed my week at Dewangga thanks to Ibu Mega ,
Pak Gusti,Wayan and friendly staff!
Perfect quiet location in center of Ubud , a beautiful garden and pool
Thanks again to Ibu Mega for introducing me to woodblock printmaking Started a new chapter in my printmaking
Will be back again in near future!!

Room Tip: liked the two storey bungalows in far end of garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

In brief: we moved out after one night (planned to stay two or three nights) and rather would not like to go back there. The main reason is that we could not get a good night sleep since some animal (frog?) was making loud noises the entire night. Also, we did not like the fact that they keep the monkey on a chain leash for the fun of the guests (I suppose). You need to pass by that poor monkey on your way to the hotel and every time see how it is suffering and trying to release itself.

On a plus side, the location is excellent. It is placed in the heart of Ubud, close to everything. But, due to this fact, you also get a loud noise from the streets at night (ear plugs recommended). At the time we were there, the place was undergoing renovation, thus we decided on an antique cottage and not a suite which smelled with paint. The cottage was quite spacious with two stories (on the ground floor there is a bathroom, while bedroom is on the first floor). The rooms were rather filthy; I had the impression that the bedclothes were not changed. They have swimming pool there which is ok, but they provide only two deckchairs with extremely dirty mattresses (makes you do not want to use them). The surrounding is nice – like a garden with a small pond which is nice considering that it is in the center of town. But on the other hand, the animals may make it difficult to sleep (see above). Breakfast was the worst I had ever – just a plain black coffee and an awful pancake.

The customer service is ok, the staff is very pleasant.

After all, it is not the value for money.

Message to the management/owner: PLEASE RELEASE THE MONKEY! It really hurts to look at it while it is trying to release itself from the leash. One of the reasons we moved out so quickly was that we were not able to look at this monkey’s suffering. You’ve got a hotel there, not a circus!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margareta X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I come from Hawaii and live in a spot surrounded by nature; however, the Dewangga blows me away! The older bungalows are in need of some upkeep, but who cares as long as the beds are comfortable and the bathroom is clean? Someone earlier complained about breakfast, but the two beautiful Balinese young girls who daily served me scrambled eggs and toast and coffee could've served me Spam and potato chips for all i cared... The grounds are a masterpiece of art and architecture. The swimming pool is a godsend... If and when i return to Bali the Dewangga is going to be the place where i shall park myself!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunggung007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My residence of choice while in Ubud is the Dewangga. The central location is perfect, the
bungalows isolated, comfortable, and pleasant, and the price very reasonable. There are
close-by restaurants that are reasonable and high class. Recently, Dewangga added a
swimming pool, which should make this accommodation one of the best secrets in Ubud.
It is on the beaten path, yet off.

Room Tip: #9 is very special / two floors with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UbudHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights recently and loved it! The friendliness of the staff as well as the quiet tranquility of the place made it for us. Really nice setting, rooms and art gallery in amongst trees and nature - even though it's right in the heart of ubud it felt peaceful...
We spent the first night in one of the older two storied Bungalows, and swiftly moved to one of the newer one level rooms which were the same price and by far more comfortable in every way... Lovely clean room and comfy beds, nice balcony and the staff were just so friendly and welcoming, we loved them. For 500k rupiah you can't expect the world so happy to take the very low shower pressure and average breakfast in exchange for all the fab things.
The location is fab, easy to get to hanoman and monkey forest road and had great cafes on our street. Mingle cafe which was right next door did an excellent breakkie so we just went there instead, worth the extra few dollars.
recommend for sure, but get the new rooms ;)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Amoya Inn
Amoya Inn
#55 of 523 in Ubud
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sayong House
Sayong House
#115 of 523 in Ubud
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alam Terrace Cottages
Alam Terrace Cottages
#50 of 523 in Ubud
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kampung Ubud Ibunda Bungalow & Spa
0.4 mi away
Padma Ubud Retreat
Padma Ubud Retreat
#31 of 523 in Ubud
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Bumi Muwa Ubud
#63 of 523 in Ubud
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewangga Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewangga Bungalow

Property: Dewangga Bungalow
Address: Jl. Dewi Sita, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 523 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dewangga Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dewangga Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewangga Bungalow Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing