We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“green paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Ranked #76 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at this place and loved it. The villas are beautiful, the furniture and feel is geourgios, they are really big and the pool in front of the door is just great - absolute privacy. However, be aware that the pools are really deep and not secured f you travel with small kids.

We loved that the place was so quiet, outside the masses in Ubud but it is quite a ride to down town (6 km).

On the down side, the owner was there for a couple of days and obviously didn't think it necessray to great his guests which I found quite rude. The service staff is very kind and friendly, the quality of the service when it comes to requests is very good but should be no less than excellent given the rom rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elinor15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I stayed in Villa 6 for 5 nights in the second week of June 2012. We have nothing but praise for everything about Chapung SeBali. The staff are incredibly attentive, they greet you by name at all times and the gardens are just what we were looking for as they are beautifully kept but still have a rural feel about them, including an endless array / species of water lilies, dragonflys (Chapung means dragonfly), frogs and birds.

We fell in love with our villa from the moment we stepped through the entrance. We chose villa 6 based on comments from other Trip Advisor reviews. Villa 6 like all Chapung villas is overly spacious, clean and has very comfortable indoor and outdoor furnishings - perfect for relaxing. Its swimming pool is exceptional, approx 10 x 3.5 metres, almost 2 metres deep and is fed with natural spring water. The real bonus about villa 6 is the views as it sits atop of the terraces upon which Chapung is built. The rice fields literally abut the rear and one side of villa 6 and the view over the hills and trees from the bedroom, outdoor lounge and the pool are exceptional (see photos). Of course you can step straight from the bedroom and bathroom into the pool.

You can casually walk into Ubud from Chapung (approx 45 - 50 minutes). It is a relatively easy walk and well worth doing. The resort also run a free return shuttle service into Ubud at prescribed times during the day and night. Travelling outside the set times will cost approx $5.

Close by to the resort are some small local (village) shops selling beer, soft drinks, cigarettes, snacks etc. They are about a 5 minute walk (turn right on the road after exiting Chapung SeBali).

Would we stay at Chapung again - absolutely. Apart from the quality of the villas and the attentive and first rate staff, the peace and quite at Chapung means you can relax and refresh in heavenly surroundings. There are only 8 villas at Chapung and all are private.

Finally, my wife had a massage and facial from Sri at Chapung and is still talking about how wonderful it was. One more thing, we had a candlelit dinner in our room and loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here earlier this year and both loved the hotel. The villas are beautifully decorated, lots of space, and the pool deep enough to dive into. The locaton was amazing, with breakfast over the valley peaceful and secluded. Food was good and resonably priced, and afternoon tea a nice touch. Overall we were here 14 days and other guests were couples, with no kids, so very quiet.

The free shuttle into Ubud was hardly used by other guests so we also used it for day trips to temples etc which meant we didnt need to hire a car.

All in all, a fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalyncarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at an open air villa, this resort, and a major chain hotel while in Bali. We really liked this resort property for the spacious villas and pool, the gardens and terraces, massages in the villa, resort ammenities, and the ability to walk to Ubud. The staff was excellent.

We booked a 2 room villa which was actually 2 connecting villas. It was a huge amount of space! The bedroom and bath section had doors and air conditioning if you need it. We left one space open and one with a/c for when it was warm.
The property is located off the road so there was very little noise. We didn't hear any other guests either. There was nice privacy.
We had a wonderful massage in the villa instead of the spa and would recommend that.
There is an interesting path down to the river with decent number of steps. Its a pretty diversion after a full breakfast.
We took the walking path to Ubud and took the resort shuttle back. It was a nice balance of convenience and exercise.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Travelsal0t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Chapung is an incredible property with beautiful staff and we can’t recommend it highly enough! We rented out all of the Chapung villas to host our wedding in June 2012. It took weeks for us to search villas in Bali and we finally chose Chapung based on the excellent reviews written on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed as the property is absolutely stunning.

We stayed in the master 2 bedroom residence but got to see in every villa as our friends and family where staying in the others. Each villa is unique and incorporates Scandinavian design with lovely views, gardens and sparkling clear swimming pools.

What made our wedding so special was the incredible staff who went above and beyond our expectations to be warm, friendly and incredibly helpful. They learnt all our names and even made a special flower board saying congratulations, which was so thoughtful. On top of this the breakfast buffet is the best we’ve ever had and the massages divine!

We hope to come back and stay for our anniversary one year and experience this little piece of paradise again...

Room Tip: All of the two bedroom villas are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our stay at Chapung SeBali was nothing but first class and indulgence at it's best. From the moment we arrived we were amazed with the beautiful gardens ,architecture and interior design.
This truly exquisite villa hotel is set amidst lush green rice fields and has views of jungles and mountains (including Bali’s highest, Agung). The villas are modern tropical style, generously spacious with a private pool and unique set of designer furniture.
We are regular travellers to Bali and let me say that this little oasis is a find indeed ! Whilst other, more expensive resorts can dream, this little slice of heaven has a definite soul !
We have stayed as well at Four Seasons at Sayan and Alila Villa Uluwatu But Chapung SeBali Viilas is the best value high standard boutique luxury accommodation on the Island.
It truly was a hard place to leave!
Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a lovely resort nestled in among the picturesque fields just outside Ubud.

My husband and I stayed in the 2 bedroom villa with my sister, husband and 2 children. It was clean, tidy and beautifully decorated. We had a lovely time relaxing by our own pool which enjoyed views across the valley towards Ubud. The resort was close to full when we stayed but it felt like we had the place all to ourselves.

A must do when you are staying here is walking to town (the staff can advise you how to walk to town without being on the road), you walk past artists selling reasonably priced artworks (much cheaper then you will pay in town) and can enjoy the countryside. There is also a free shuttle into town offered by the resort.

Breakfast supplied by the resort is fresh and tasty, with amazing views.

One of the nicest things about the resort are the staff always warm, helpful and smiling. Able to offer great suggestions about things to do while you stay in Ubud, also the resort offers day trips and spa treatments.

Looking forward to staying again real soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#21 of 197 in Ubud
442 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 197 in Ubud
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#2 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#28 of 197 in Ubud
661 reviews
4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 197 in Ubud
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Sebatu, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Ubud
#29 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#57 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#64 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £174 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapung se Bali Resort & Spa is not your usual Balinese style villa retreat. Rather it calls on contemporary lines and interiors to produce a modern lush Resort, located high in hills, 10 minutes’ drive from Ubud. Nature, minimalist, modern, intimate, spacious and design are the keywords to define the Resort's concept. The Resort opened in 2009, with the architectural inspiration of the owner, who is a professional furniture designer. Slowly, his vision grew with two restaurants, a large Spa and a wide infinity pool perched on the side of a ridge overlooking the Osh River Valley and its verdant jungle. With 8 large Pool Villas and 14 Suites with valley view, the Resort aims to offer a memorable experience : swim amidst the lush jungle in a large infinity pool, enjoy a new fusion Mediterranean-Asian cuisine and highly qualitative Spa healing therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapung Sebali Hotel Ubud
Chapung SeBali Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing