We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Ranked #69 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We booked a two bedroom villa and we couldn't ask for a better place to stay. The hotel is far enough out of town to feel like you're in the middle of nowhere, but an interesting and at points beautiful 40 minute easy walk into the centre of Ubud. (By car it's 15-20 minutes.) The service is wonderful; everyone there really seems to enjoy helping in any way they can. The view from the restaurant over a deep valley is spectacular. The food is outstanding -- we ate enough at breakfast to keep us stuffed until late afternoon. The spa pavilion is open to the elements, so lying there listening to the birds and feeling a gentle wind blowing over your body is just fantastic.

If I had to be picky and find fault, I'd say the Wi-fi access in Villa 4 was spotty (it's great in the public areas), but that's about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    50
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
90
172
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We wanted to book villa 6 after reading some reviews however, due to availability, villa 5 was recommended by hotel staff which was amazing, having same views and privacy as of villa 6.

since we entered our villa, I felt more than I'm at home. the setting of the place and decoration is relaxing. interior design has 60's/70's. Pool is very big (10x5M) and has access to it from the living area (outdoor area), bedroom, or from bathroom...so whenever u wanna swim just jump from the nearest door and u'll enjoy the average temperature water.

the living area is amazing, it has one big and relaxing sofa, where we have had many naps during our 6 night stay, a dinning table and a kitchennete which includes all tools u might need during your stay.

The bedroom is spacious (around 7x5M) and has a nice bed, sofa, chair, closet and desk. Getting connected to a spacious bath room with an extension for standing shower and toilet leading to the dressing room.

Surrounding views are breathtaking as from one side you have rice fields, and from the other side you have a deep valley which will take your sight for several minutes every day at least at breakfast as the nice restaurant located on the edge of this valley.

Breakfast is very good and is a combination between buffet serving cheese, cereals, cold cuts, crossants,..etc and ala carte menu from which you can choose from 7 styles of eggs, dessert or drink.

Tip: try the french toast with banana and passion fruit,.....wow...

The place is unique as it grows organically all vegetables inside the hotel land, all food ingredients are fresh (same day) except seafood (this is a sentence written on the food menu)

Staff is welcoming and amazing and feel like u stay in a family village where you are not a guest, but u r member of this small community.

The hotel has a rich list of wine.

The hotel provides free shuttle bus services to Ubud (15 minutes away) 6 times a day at 10 & 11 am and 3, 4, 7, 8 pm. return trips are 20 minutes later than those timings in addition to last one at 10 pm. If you need this service in other times it costs Rp 50k for single trip and Rp 80k for round trip.

We also took the hotel 6 hours trip to the rice terraces, coffee plantation, the volcano and temples,...it was a very good trip and reasonable priced at US$ 75 ++ per car. Folloing days we rented the hotel car with a driver on hourly basis. although this was more expensive than other hourly rates, but we did ourselves good by avoiding unnecessary bargaining and safety precautions.

The massage is good and spa staff are professsional with a possibility for a special request to have ur treatment in villa.

The hotel is an experience,....when i stepped in the villa i put my Ipod in the fashionable player and played Louis Armstrong & Ella fitzgerald song "Heaven...I'm in Heaven..." as i really was..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Fattah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The moment we stepped in to our villa, we knew this home. We booked the hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and the photos on the website for 6 nights, we requested villa 6 based on the reviews which was not available so they booked villa 5 for us, since the hotel is built on tiers and villa 5 and 6 are at the top tier, they enjoy the same view at the front with the open rice field at the back.

Villa : spacious, squeaky clean, modern comfortable furniture inspired by the 60’s. the villa consists of: --big outdoor living area with a loaded minibar, water boiler, complementary tea and coffee, and cups and plates.
-Bed room with a lounging couch, TV and ipod player.
-Bathroom with both bath tub and standup shower.
- Nice dressing room.
All living area, bedroom and bathroom have a view and access to the pool, while the dressing room has a view on the rice field at the back.
Pool: not small 10X5 meters which gives a chance for some swimming.
Privacy: the villa is very private, only a few times we had to close the shades in the dressing room as it has a view on the open rice field at the back with a farmer around, but its not gonna bother you.

Service: Bali is known for its high standard of hospitality, it is hard to find a place with no smiling welcoming people however Chapung se bali is topping this high standards with its outstanding service and its friendly staff. The staff is always doing the extra step for the guests and they offer the service with a pure honest smile. With only 8 villas in the place you are known by the name to the staff and you get very personalized service.
Food: the hotel has its own organic farm growing vegetables and herbs to be used in the kitchen, so freshness is guaranteed. I even asked for some herbs for my flu they got me fresh green mint leaves from the garden which was awesome.
Breakfast: yummy, since they only have few guests at the same point, so you choose cereal and bakery at the buffet and you order your eggs and pancake through the menu, they cook them in no time.
Dinner: We had dinner twice at the hotel, which was not bad all (2 fillet mignon for $60) a bit on the expensive side if compared to the island but still reasonable, also they have nice wine menu. We attended the kacak dance with the Balinese dinner night, which was both nice, the dance is not as sophisticated as the one performed in uluwatu temple but it gives you chance to take photos as it is more of a private show as oppose to the uluwatu temple show which is extremely crowded.

Spa: the 4 hand Balinese massage is a must try experience. Being inside the hotel is very convenient with an option to have your massage in the villa and has an open view. They close at 6pm but they can stay longer if you make reservation. I also tried the facial which was not bad. The spa is a reasonably priced if compared to same ranked spas (an hour Balinese massage costs $30++) but of course there are much cheaper places in ubud.

Location: it is located 15 minutes away from central ubud however they offer shuttle service for drop offs and picks ups 6 times a day. the first one at 10am while the last one leaves ubud at 10pm. For any special transportation from or to ubud, they charge 50,000 rubiah which is around $5.

Transportation: we rented the car with a driver for the 6 hours trip (rice terrace, coffee plantation, temple …etc) it costs $75 per car. We also rented the car with the driver the following day for a free tour in the wood carving villages; they charged us $10 an hour. Both was ok since it saved us the hassle of negotiating with taxi drivers.

Notes: i totally recommend the hotel for couples, people looking for quietness and privacy, however it is very friendly for small children, specially the private pool area with its stone sharp edges.
sometimes you get small forest visitors i.e frog, cat, bat, lizard... they didnt bother us except for one visitor who insisted on making some noise at night and early morning (we still arguing if it was a bat or a geco) , so remember you are in the tropical forest and this is their natural habitat. the good part is that i have hardely seen any mosquitos.

Overall, the hotel is slice of heaven with outstanding staff, attention to details and personalized service.

Room Tip: villa 5 was nice since it is at the top tier with an view on the rice field at the back. at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shera111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with husband and parents in law. First when we arrived, i was greeted by the typical bali below the standard hospitality when it comes to local guests/tourists.. On the other hand, they were so nice and friendly to my husband and his parents who are not local/ Indonesian. Once they realized i am "part of the group", they quickly adjusted their behavior towards me.. This is not new to me, though wasnt expecting it from a 5-stars property like this.. But all of those feelings quickly forgotten after we checked in and experienced this luxurious villa.. BREATHTAKING!
The villa was so private with an amazing decor and natural surroundings.. The breeze, the sound of the leaves.. Majestic! Love it...

Room Tip: Do try the in house massage.. Any massage.. A bit pricey, BUT the whole experience and the feeling o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankiekiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My partner and I stayed here for four days in September of 2012. We had spent ten days in Seminyak and were contemplating where to spend the final four days of our two-week Bali holiday. We considered the Gili Islands and Nusa Lemobongan, but eventually decided upon Ubud. We were so glad we did. Just as we were that we booked our accommodation at Chapung SeBali. As has been pointed out by several other reviewers, from the very moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. Every member of the staff at this resort, from the check-in staff to the restaurant staff to the people tending the grounds, were overwhelmingly friendly, sincere and hospitable. Our villa was faultless. It had a very high-end feel to it, with gorgeous, slightly quirky, furnishings. To be able to step directly from the bedroom and from the bathroom into our swimming pool was truly decadent. The villa and its yard area were bigger than the size of most houses. The garden was immaculately kept and had a breathtaking view, looking out across the adjoining jungle. Even though we know the place was almost fully booked, we felt like we were the only people staying here. We had several treatments at the spa area, which were divine. Each evening, two men would play traditional Balinese music from the spa area, the sound of which could be heard throughout the resort. On one evening, we heard a soothing chanting in the distance. The whole place had a magical, spiritual, calming feel to it. The only criticisms would be that the temperature of the pool was too cold for anything other than a very quick dip in and out and the variety of choice of food/beverages (wine) at the restaurant was a little limited. Otherwise, this place was a cut above just about any other place I've stayed in the entire world. I would have no hesitation in recommending and hope to get back here again some time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tezza1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Simply luxurious, private, stylish and friendly. A wonderful mix of European style and Balinese tranquility.

Note that pools are deep and not fenced off so if your kids can't swim, maybe go when they are older, but definitely go!

Room Tip: Suites are huge. Outdoor bathroom suites the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doucra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in July and I wish we had been able to stay a lot longer. I can't say enough positive things, as this is probably the nicest resort I've ever stayed at. From the moment you arrive, the staff is unbelievably welcoming and friendly. Everything the other reviewers have said holds true: you get a lovely welcome drink upon arrival; the stay includes a free massage, daily breakfast, and an airport transfer. We were actually upgraded, to our surprise, to a 2-bedroom villa on our second night, which was beyond amazing. There's a free shuttle that takes guests to Ubud, and the driver/guide (who was wonderful) actually escorted us to Monkey Forest, the markets, etc. all free of charge. The setting, the service, and the personalized attention are unparalleled. All in all, the trip of a lifetime. I hope to return soon!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, the 2-bedroom villa is out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.6 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#47 of 198 in Ubud
904 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#67 of 198 in Ubud
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#26 of 198 in Ubud
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
1.5 mi away
Puri Wulandari Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa

Property: Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Address: Jln. Raya Sebatu, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Ubud
#29 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#52 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#60 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapung se Bali Resort & Spa is not your usual Balinese style villa retreat. Rather it calls on contemporary lines and interiors to produce a modern lush Resort, located high in hills, 10 minutes’ drive from Ubud. Nature, minimalist, modern, intimate, spacious and design are the keywords to define the Resort's concept. The Resort opened in 2009, with the architectural inspiration of the owner, who is a professional furniture designer. Slowly, his vision grew with two restaurants, a large Spa and a wide infinity pool perched on the side of a ridge overlooking the Osh River Valley and its verdant jungle. With 8 large Pool Villas and 14 Suites with valley view, the Resort aims to offer a memorable experience : swim amidst the lush jungle in a large infinity pool, enjoy a new fusion Mediterranean-Asian cuisine and highly qualitative Spa healing therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapung Sebali Hotel Ubud
Chapung SeBali Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing