We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Ranked #60 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hands down amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Have done Bali to death, and was blown away by this place. Putri, one the managers, was the best proprietor I've ever come across. The villas were perfect. The 45 min walk to Ubud is stunning and a wonderful way heading back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wsargent98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    50
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
85
169
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at Chapung at the end of October 2012. From the beginning till the end it was a wonderful experience. Chapung is a gorgeous and magical place to relax, they have done such a good job there. We loved the organic vegetable and butterfly garden in particular, where all the food is grown for the restaurant.The staff and it's services are excellent! The villas are beautiful, ours was decorated with Scandinavian design vintage furniture. There are 8 villas but you hardly ever meet or see the other guests which enhances the feeling of total privacy and relaxation. All in all a 5-star experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaKaassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Peaceful. Relaxing. Excellent staff. It was everything that you wanted from a hotel. We loved it. My wife did not want to leave and when we are back in Ubud we will easily stay there again. If you have a chance to do a couple of trips, book it through the hotel,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gremlin-Kremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Chapung se Bali early October 2012 - unfortunately it was only for 2 nights and we were extremely sad to leave!

The spacious Villa room, bathroom and changing room were all very modern. There are only 8 villas at Chapung se Bali, which makes one feel more at home. The staff were exceptionally helpful at all times.

Our villa had a lovely outdoor dining/lounge area with kitchenette and bar fridge (I think all the villas have the same setup). The best part of the villa was the private pool which is directly accessible from the bathroom and the main bedroom. The views from the villa - of the rice paddies and valley - are simply stunning.

We ordered room service the evening we arrived - the food was delicious and beautifully laid out. The only disappointment was that we were looking for some western food after 2 weeks of eating Asian food and ordered a pizza and hamburger to the room. The pizza was actually a pie pastry base with topping, and my Husband's burger was a fancy ciabatta bun - also very expensive and not quite what we wanted.
We had breakfast at the villa on the day we were leaving and the breakfast, which is included is buffet for the 'general' foods (rolls, cereals, fruit etc) and ala carte for the main meals so that everything is freshly made - this was a nice option to the standard scrambled eggs and sausages which you get at most hotels/resorts.

We had massages at the spa pavilion on 2 occasions - 60min full body massage on the 1 day and a lovely 45min foot/leg massage on the day we were leaving - I think the fact that we fell asleep during both massages speaks for itself!

On cleanliness: everything was satisfactory - bedding, bathrooms, toilet etc. The only problem I had, which is not quite a cleanliness issue, is the amount of ants that come under the bedroom sliding door (the 1 that opens onto the pool). perhaps some sort of sealing mechanism or pesticide can do the trick.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to any1 visiting Bali to stay in Ubud if you want to have a feel for the TRUE Bali. to walk amongst the rice paddies, to see the village life and culture. Many people head to Nusa Dua, which I have heard is very touristy with top-end hotels. However, staying in a villa in Bali is the ultimate way to experience it! Another nice touch at Chapung se Bali is the complimentary shuttle into central Ubud - gosh what a buzzing place that is! Filled with all sorts of art, crafts, souvenirs, food... everything!

Thanks all at Chapung se Bali for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Latisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Chapung SeBali is a magical place. We booked through the internet and even though it had excellent reviews, were still a little nervous about what we would find. We needn't have worried. They arranged a driver to collect us from the airport when our flight arrived at 1am. He was on time, friendly and helpful. On arrival we were given the residence which is truly spectacular for one night then moved to another villa the next day for the remainder of our stay. All very seamless.

The setting of the resort on a ridge overlooking a lush valley and rice paddies is wonderful. Add to that the clever design that ensures absolute privacy for each villa and you have the perfect place to relax and unwind. The villas are large and well equipped with everything you could need. The outdoor bath and shower were a nice touch and the private pools are a real treat. The staff were always very friendly and helpful and after a few days knew us all by name and nothing was too much of a problem.

The resort is a 15 minute drive or 40-50 minute walk from Ubud township so is a bit out of the way if you want to spend your time shopping and enjoying the night-life. This however is part of its appeal as it is very secluded and peaceful. The resort runs a free shuttle service into town at fixed times during the day and for a small fee outside those times which we used to get into town to do activities during the day and for dinner in the evenings so its still very convenient.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Chapung Se and hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Chapung se Bali Villas genuinely merit the high praise received here. The villas are gorgeous, tastefully decorated, expansive, quiet and peaceful, just a tremendous value. The restaurant and spa are also haute cuisine and high-end, respectively. The best part about how great they are, is how competitively priced everything is... This is one of those properties you see in Conde Nast Traveler type magazines and think you'll never be able to afford. But you can! We're a 41 and 35 year old couple in quite good shape but one of the bicycle tours really taxed us, we were partly at fault for telling the hotel staff "up or down doesn't matter, we just want the prettiest scenery." It was extremely steep at times, we had to walk the bikes plenty, and overall it just kind of felt like a war of attrition to some extent! We also did the Ayung river rafting through the company the hotel arranges and thought it was wonderful. Easy 40 min walk from the hotel to Ubud town too... Huge thumbs up for Chapung Se!

Room Tip: We stayed in two villas, #3 and #6. I preferred the former, my wife the latter so that's no hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BB2Seoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

could not agree more with all the reviews this place is truly perfect.
From the moment we walked in we knew we had chosen well! the staff were brilliant always smiling and could not do enough to help us.
We had 2 bedroom villa 4 which was idyllic own pool 2 great rooms one main very large bedroom with outdoor bath and shower area 2nd bedroom smaller with outdoor shower.
Great open lounge and kitchen overlooking pool and trees and paddy field to right.
Used shuttle to Ubud only less than 10 mins ate out every night there for 3 nights first night would have eaten inbut restaurant closed before we arrivedat 9pm so no access to anything but welcome drink.
Booked cycle ride through paddy fields at 7.30 too hot any later had guide wonderful especially when I fell into paddy field and had to be taken home via doctors inUbud who looked after me well with 16 stitches in my foot.
Hotel transported
Me back and ensured I wasok
Had fantastic facial and massage with the best view

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.7 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#37 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#63 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#27 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#14 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa

Property: Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Address: Jln. Raya Sebatu, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Ubud
#29 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#47 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#52 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapung se Bali Resort & Spa is not your usual Balinese style villa retreat. Rather it calls on contemporary lines and interiors to produce a modern lush resort. Each one or two bedroom villa is equiped with a private pool and designed with a retro classic furnitures and arts. The Resort provides a Spa offering various massages and therapies, a fine dining Asian-Mediterranean restaurant and the famous Jungle Fish pool bar and restaurant. The property covers almost two hectares of untouched landscape that extends down to the banks of the Osh river. Accessed by a meandering path of stone steps, the river is a continuous flow of mountain fresh water with extraordinary properties to nurture body, mind and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapung Sebali Hotel Ubud
Chapung SeBali Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing