We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Ranked #82 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 nights and it so happened that for most of the nights we were the only guests in the villa, which was amazing. It's a little ways out from Ubud Centre, but worth it, as this is the perfect place for privacy and feeling as though you are in the middle of nature while still enjoying first-class service. We stayed in villa 6 which was incredible; the bedroom opened right into a beautiful pool which was quite large, about 12 metres long. In the mornings a farmer or two wld appear on the rice fields surrounding our villa and they were always friendly and smiling. Service was available 24 hours and impeccable. Food at the restaurant was great and breakfast was delicious - the homemade papaya jam was very yummy with the yoghurt and raw cacao nibs. We did the 90m hot stone massage which was one of the best massages we've ever done, draining all the tension right out from our bodies. Only complaints would be that we did not get reception for several of the movie channels for most of our stay due to the rural location, and the WIFI was really spotty, pretty much accessible only at the restaurant and sometimes not even at the hotel reception. However, it's a small price to pay for a slice of paradise.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Director of Sales at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Charlene P,

Greetings from Ubud!

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the treatment at our Sabai Spa.

We look forward to having you again in the future!


Warm regards,


Indri Harsono
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    53
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
94
182
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We have visited Chapung Se Bali a few times and will definitely be back. The villas are divine and immaculately furnished, the gardens are like a botanical garden and individual villa pools are
so lovely. The restaurant and in villa food options were terrific too.
The location outside of Ubud is perfect, if you like the Bali from the book ''Eat, Pray, Love'' you must stay here! We took advantage of the villas mini shuttle bus to go to Ubud most days.
Although kids normally prefer big beach side resorts, my 3 children also loved this resort due to the activities offered such as bike riding in the rice fields, the private pools and it was just such a different experience from the one normally associated with 'beach' bali.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Director of Sales at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Colleen J,

Greetings from Ubud!

Thank you for your review and we would also like to thank you for choosing Chapung SeBali for your regular stay in Bali. I am happy to hear that you and your kids enjoy the different Bali experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

P.S: We are constructing an infinity pool project that will be opened this year!

Warm regards,


Indri Harsono
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is the second visit we have made to Chapung Se Bali. We were blown away by the great service we received the first time we visited. Unfortunately they have turned over a lot of staff recently and the new ones do not quite have the same experience necessary for a place such as this. Putting this aside It is a stunning property with huge private Villas which really do make you feel like you have the place to yourselves. The antique Danish furniture is a quality touch and adds to the premium nature of the place. The restaurant was just starting to find its feet when we were there last. With the stunning location of the restaurant looking out over the valley if they get it right it will be one of the few missing pieces of the puzzle. We have stayed in two and one bedroom villas here and they are both very good. The two bedroom residence is bigger than the two bedroom villa however they are both huge so you do not need the extra space. The main difference between them is the second bedroom on the two bedroom villa is smaller than the first. We stayed in the second bedroom when we stayed with friends and it was not an issue.
While overall I felt the place had slipped slightly from our first visit in terms of service, It is still a magnificent place with the largest villas I have come across. We will no doubt be back at some stage.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolo_Tim_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Director of Sales at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Lolo_Tim_Tim,

Greetings from Ubud!

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoy your stay at Chapung Se Bali Resort. Just to inform you, we are currently constructing an infinity pool located below our Di Abing Restaurant overlooking the gorgeous valley.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our resort in the future!


Warm regards,


Indri Harsono
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed here with my partner and the service and Villa was above expectations! Beautiful, Tranquil place that over looks the rice terraces. 24hr butler service and can get you what ever you need. Highly recommend this place for privacy and luxury. Best place I have stayed in Bali. We had the 2 bedroom Villa with your own koi fish pond and pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaniazTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Director of Sales at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear TaniazTravels,

Greetings from Ubud!

Thank you for your review and we would also like to thank you for choosing Chapung Se Bali for your stay. For your information, we are currently constructing an infinity pool below our Di Abing Restaurant, overlooking the gorgeous valley.

We are looking forward to having you again in the future!

Warm regards,


Indri Harsono
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed here recently with our 4 and 6 yr old and found the location and rooms delightful. We stayed in 2 bedroom Villa #1, and the pool, bedrooms and living areas were beautiful. We made use of the in room dining a few times, and found the quality of food great, and the speed of service also great. The breakfast buffet is yum, with a few organic and local additions such as cacao nibs and yoghurt with organic vanilla a real surprise.We also made use of the spa, and because there was some construction being completed at the time, the spa attendants moved me to a vacant one bedroom villa for more privacy during my treatment which was just bliss. Sabai Stone Ritual is 90 mins of your life you'll want to experience over and over again! Only thing for us that wasnt completely ideal is the proximity of one bedroom to another. The bedrooms in this villa are quite far away from each other, which meant we didnt feel as though we could hear the children from our bedroom, and my husband and I ended up sharing one room with them each for peace of mind. Also, keep in mind the property is located 15 mins from Ubud town centre, and shuttle access is sketchy, so if you plan to spend time in town, might be best to go for a property closer. And, if you're averse to creepy crawlies, this might not be the place for you. Because you are located where you are, in stunning rural countryside, and the living/bathing areas are al fresco, you do get a good share of ants and bugs sharing your space. Frogs and lizards are also regular visitors to your living room and shower!

Room Tip: Villa # 1 2 bedroom is close to reception, 2 bedrooms are quite far apart from each other (cant hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We chose Chapung SeBali because of the reviews we read on TripAdvisor, and didn't get disappointed. We visited Bali in August 2012, with 2 children, aged 6 and 4 and were looking for a peaceful and relaxing experience. Chapung SeBali didn't disappoint. We reserved a 2 bdrm villa (the only option when you are traveling in a party of 4). One surprise was that the bedrooms were not in the same building (what you get at Chepung is a compound that contains 2 buildings, a fish pond and a swimming pool), so I ended up sharing the master bedroom with the kids, while my husband had a whole room and bathroom to himself. Once we got over the "disappointment", we thoroughly enjoyed everything this beautiful hotel had to offer.

Staff was very courteous, they arranged for an airport pickup which was a big relief given the fact that we arrived at 9p.m. and that Ubud was 1.5h drive away from the airport. The price was fair, $40 for the one way for all 4 of us. When we arrived late at night our room/compound (#1) was ready. Accommodations are beautiful, the nature surrounding it is stunning, and the food at the hotel restaurant was the best we tasted in Bali. The breakfast buffet was diverse and had something for everyone. Our children loved the private pool, and just being surrounded with such beautiful setting.

For those who are not comfortable with nature (i.e. bugs, frogs, snakes (we saw one in our courtyard)), Chapung SeBali may not be the best choice. The living room and bathrooms are mostly outdoors, and wild life is everywhere so you may see a trespasser or two.

Overall, it was an incredible 3 days, and we would go back in a heartbeat. It is just too bad that Bali is so far away from Canada. :-(

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Director of Sales at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Guests,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Chapung, and hope that you will keep us in mind for the next time you plan to visit beautiful Bali!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed with my sister and a friend for a ladies getaway. We were pleasantly surprised that they had upgraded us to a 2 bed villa where the plunge pool was so impressively clean and allowed the 3 of us to have a good swim at the same time! The whole place had a luxurious feel, surrounded by lush greenery. Lily/Louts ponds and trees were everywhere, yet there wasn't a huge problem with mosquitoes, which meant a lot to me as I get bitten a lot and only got bitten about twice during our 5 day stay.

As others have said, the outdoor lounge and kitchen/ dining area is spacious and we just used it to make tea/coffee. The room decor and bathrooms are modern but there is a twist - the toilet, shower and bathtub are semi outside so you kind of feel exposed as you can see the sky in parts - Balinese style? I think this is only true for 2 bed villas and the one beds we saw had normal indoor bathrooms. On this note, it would have been good if there was an inside toilet in the 2 bed villa as well because we had to unlock the glass doors to use the toilet during the night and contend with Mr. Toad which made us feel a bit uncomfortable (screamish and pathetic but everyone has a weakness!). However, the layout and design is very tasteful and cleverly private, and we didn't worry about Peeping Toms etc as its very well thought out in this respect. Its kind of makes the hotel stand out and we will remember Mr. Toad fondly! We are city folk and it is lovely to be surrounded by nature and to hear the crickets and all, making the holiday more memorable compared to other lovely hotels we have stayed at.

We had two batches of Spa treatments which were wonderful. Due to work being done on their new outdoor pool, some workmen were standing around the area of the outdoor spa. Since we had body massages, it felt a bit awkward being somewhat naked, but luckily, the workmen were finishing up and all was relaxing and heavenly! We requested the second spa treatments to be done in our room which was much better as it was more private and actually easier to shower off etc. The staff really tried hard to meet any requests and they seemed so cheerful. The treatments are good value though not the best I have had. However, considering the price, we were extremely happy customers! We would recommend the half day Spa for sure! It's best to book treatments in advance and ask them if they can accomodate you if you want a treatment ending later than their closing time at 6pm (they did this for us as we had trouble fitting in spa and a cycle tour). We would have had another treatment but just couldn't fit it in!

Moving on to food. Breakfast was presented excellently with a good choice of fresh smoothies/juices and coffees/teas. They have an a la carte menu which is inclusive (free) and portions were generous and always fresh. Eggs Benedict was a favourite as were pancakes and crepes! Fresh fruit platter was delicious and couldn't ask for more! We could have sat there all morning, enjoying the view and fabulous surroundings. I had read some reviews about breakfast being average and of poor variety, but can't understand what anyone could actually want more of! Sure, it's not like a massive buffet you may find in other large hotels, but the quality and service are impeccable and the staff always asked us whether if we wanted more coffee etc and all was very freshly made to order. We were impressed that they did not to waste food by putting out lots of food on the buffet.

We dined at the hotel one evening and ate in Ubud for the other 3 evenings and didn't find the location of the hotel inconvenient at all. Location is good with free shuttle into Ubud, taking about 20 mins and if you miss the shuttle, you can easlit call hotel or get a Taxi in Ubud. The paddy fields surrounding the hotel are so calming and the sounds of nature just totally relaxing. We even walked leisurely to Ubud one day and really enjoyed the scenery and local galleries and cafes on the way.

Despite a new pool being built, we didn't find the work noisy and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay again but not with young children because it is not really baby/toddler friendly (because water and lilly ponds are all around and steps are randomly here and there). It is a fantastic retreat to nature and tranquility for adults and so romantic that it must be honeymooner's paradise! We would definitely stay again and though it's not the cheapest, it's certainly worth the little extra!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HkRainbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Director of Sales at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear friends of Mr. Toad,

I really enjoyed reading your review, sitting in the office here at Chapung, laughing out loud to myself (without trying to sound like a lunatic, but who cares? Mr Toad doesn't, that's for sure!).

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Chapung and know that you are always welcome to come back!
And then there will be no workers (aka Peeping Toms) taking a sneak peek ( Which we do apologize for!), as our construction work will be finishing soon!

Thank you for some great advice and comments, we are always open to hear what improvements we can make and really appreciate any suggestions our guests may have!

One comment about Bali: The fact of the matter is, this beautiful little island is and will always be surrounded by and immersed in nature. Even if you close all doors and make a box of a building, I believe somehow those little crawlies will still manage to sneak in somehow. So a note to any travelers who wants to come to Bali: Be prepared. Even in a 5 star hotel or resort, insects and animals will be present, if not in your face, then at least you will be able to hear them and we cannot really get rid of them, nor would we want to change the natural way of life in this magical place!

As to the mosquitoes: We do actually use a natural insect repellent spray that our lovely gardeners so generously whiff around weekly, so I am glad to hear that someone noticed and made a comment of this fact!

We hope to see you again at your earliest convenience! And I know a certain Toad who will be very happy when you do manage to return!

Andrea - Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.5 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#73 of 196 in Ubud
718 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 196 in Ubud
977 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 196 in Ubud
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.2 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#21 of 196 in Ubud
224 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa

Property: Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Address: Jln. Raya Sebatu, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Ubud
#29 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#62 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#68 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapung se Bali Resort & Spa is not your usual Balinese style villa retreat. Rather it calls on contemporary lines and interiors to produce a modern lush Resort, located high in hills, 10 minutes’ drive from Ubud. Nature, minimalist, modern, intimate, spacious and design are the keywords to define the Resort's concept. The Resort opened in 2009, with the architectural inspiration of the owner, who is a professional furniture designer. Slowly, his vision grew with two restaurants, a large Spa and a wide infinity pool perched on the side of a ridge overlooking the Osh River Valley and its verdant jungle. With 8 large Pool Villas and 14 Suites with valley view, the Resort aims to offer a memorable experience : swim amidst the lush jungle in a large infinity pool, enjoy a new fusion Mediterranean-Asian cuisine and highly qualitative Spa healing therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapung Sebali Hotel Ubud
Chapung SeBali Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing