We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing ..Just what I neded” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Ranked #62 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing ..Just what I neded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

It was beyond what the pictures looked like. Pure heaven. Wish I could have stayed longer. View, Service, food, and rooms were impeccable. Can't wait to come back! =)

I visited in 2011 and my friend just returned last week saying it is 100% better since the renovation. I can't wait to return

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Costanza1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Costanza1975,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to read that you enjoyed staying at the Chapung Se Bali Resort. We are always looking for new ways to improve and deliver better services to our guests. For example, we are currently building a 30m infinity pool. When you come back to see us in the future, you will have the pleasure to try it out.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    50
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
85
169
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have returned to Chapung Sebali a few times over the years, it keeps on getting better! It's a great place to get away from Singapore for a long weekend or to celebrate a special occasion. We have stayed in a few of the villas, all of which were lovely "tropical style" open air pavilions for lounging with separate a/c bedrooms. What a welcome change from business hotels with barely enough space to move around! The villas are beautifully decorated in a modern, Scandinavian style - no surprise given the owner is a high end furniture designer with great taste. The staff is a good mix of Europeans and locals (including from the village next door) and everyone is really friendly and focused on making sure you've got everything you need (or could possibly want). At the same time, it feels very private - you don't have other guests on the next sun lounger over, or overly attentive concierges lurking around every corner!

We like the location because it's a good base for taking advantage of the activities in the Ubud area - biking, rafting, yoga, etc. It's only a 10 min. walk (or shuttle ride) to town, but you're away from the heat and noise in the middle of rice paddies by the river! Each time we come back the place has grown and offers even more options. We especially love the new restaurant - fresh, organic fusion food, generous servings and a to-die-for location above the river. The lady who runs the spa has developed a really complete "menu," has great hands and also uses natural products. While the private villa pools are great for relaxing, we're looking forward to getting a few laps in the huge common swimming pool next time we come!

Just a word on some of the earlier comments on the fauna - this is the tropics, so everything flourishes, including the bugs and frogs. I think the resort does a great job keeping the bugs at bay naturally with citronella spray and the frogs also help with that!

So, great place, beautiful villas, yummy food, relaxing spa and friendly staff. Highly recommended - we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vazisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear vazisp,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to read comments from one of our regular guests. You are right, we always keep on improving and developing. Yet, we will always keep our tranquil and discreet identity and our service will always be attentive and personal.

We are looking forward to welcome you back for your next getaway from Singapore.

Regards,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

As an architect, I appreciate the beautiful design and attention to detail of Chapung Se Bali. From the careful siting of the buildings in the terraced landscape to the design of the villas and the hotel pavilions themselves, with their delightful gardens and views of the rice patties and forest beyond (not to mention the amazing contemporary furniture collection!), the whole place betrays an unrivaled attention to detail and a passion for design that fuses local vernacular tradition with the best aspects of modernity. My stay here was simply great, and I found myself impressed by the special qualities of this place. The only drawback is its somewhat distant location from Ubud, although in another regard this can also be seen as yet another of its virtues.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank architourist101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear architourist101,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am pleased to hear thatyou appreciated the design of our resort. We are proud of our concept, modern elegance close to nature, and spend a lot of time to carefully choose every detail in design and decoration. Next time you come to see us, you will see our beautiful new pool and bar area.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We are in our 4th day here and this is a really tranquil environment in Ubud in a nice location with rice paddies and what looks like a big jungle basin view from the restaurant. The best part about it is the people who serve you. I would almost give a 4 star because I don't think any of these place are "The Four Seasons" but the service made me give it a 5-star. Starting with El who is the very nice Greek woman who manages the place. Her Uncle owns it and built it 7 years ago. We are staying in Villa 4 which is one of the two bedroom Villas. Villa 1 is also a 2 BR Villa and Villa 2 is by far the biggest most luxurious 2 BR villa (called The Residence as her Uncle used to live in it as the property was being built). 7 years ago Villas 1 - 4 were built and all are 2BR except Villa 3 which is a 1 BR. Villas 5, 6, 7, and 8 are all 1 BR villas and were built 3 years ago. I would say they are a little nicer than the 2BR Villas by maybe 15% but my family of 4 were very happy in Villa 4.

If you only need 1 BR, Villa 6 is by far the best villa on the property. It was the old SPA location and was converted into a Villa. It has great views on both sides and is quite luxurious.

If you are two couples or a family with elder kids, go for the only two attached one bedroom villas on the property (Villas 7 and 8). You can leave the interconnected door open and both have very big luxurious spaces with two pools.

We are staying here now and there are only 2 or 3 total villas rented so you might be able to swing Villas 7 and 8 together for close to the price of a 2 BR Villa. We went through Orbitz (who I am not a huge fan of) and rented for $450 per night for a 2 BR Villa.

They obviously need to make some money but if I were El I would rather have the place fully booked than not.

The breakfasts are included and are really good. The fresh fruit juices and smoothies really blow be away. It is the best Orange Juice I have ever had. The eggs are great (try the Greek Omelet) and the Vanilla French Toast is excellent as well.

A driver is not included but since we are one of only a few people staying they have been very generous driving us anywhere we would like within a half hour for free. Town center in Ubud is 15 minutes away.

The Chapung Sebali Cafe is very good and actually reasonably priced. There are many excellent local lunch and dinner places in town too.

Things we have done so far:

River Rafting on the Telaga Waja River - The cost was $140 for a family of four including transportation to the river and home (1.5 hours each way) and a 2.5 hour river rafting day and lunch afterwards. Get your tickets in the Ubud town center as the price on the pamphlet was $220. The town center adventure tour places (there are many of them) have contracts with these companies and get the best prices vs. going through Chapung Sebali who simply don't have the contracts. This is a class 3 or 4 river but my wife and two girls (9 and 13) loved it. It is fast but your guide is great and it is a ton of fun. There is another more popular river called The Ayung but the rapids are nowhere near as good.

The Monkey Forest (20 minute walk from town center) - This was the best $6 I have ever spent - $2 per adult and $1 per child. I thought I would be underwhelmed here but was blown away. You hold a banana above your head and the monkeys will literally climb up your whole body, and sit on your shoulders while eating the banana making for some insane pictures.

The Elephant Safari (20 minutes from Chapung Sebali). Chapung Sebali drivers drove us there and picked us up 3 hours later for free. Entrance at the park was $177 for family of four which is cheaper and better I think than all these tours that bundle it in.These are Sumatran elephants (not the big African ones) but still weigh 4,000 pounds each and eat about 500 pounds worth of food a day and drink 20 gallons of water a day. They live to be about 70 years old and many are 30 years at the park and eldest is 50. They have had 4 babies born there and are looking to breed more. It is a very clean and well run park. You might think $177 is a lot of money for this but think about how expensive this must be to do in a humane fashion which they do. They let you pet the elephants and will take your camera and take incredible pictures FOR YOU USING YOUR CAMERA instead of making you pay $20 for the stupid polaroid one shot that other parks do. They let you get very up close and personal with the elephants. The ride was 35 minutes and an elephant show is 15 minutes which was great. We spent 3 hours in total walking around the park and having a light lunch in their very expansive cafe. There are very few places in the world you can ride elephants so we went and did it. Tremendously nice beasts!

Messages - We each had 3.5 hours message, body scrub, and facials for $70 each. They were fantastic and overlooking the jungle. Back home in California a 60 minute massage is $100 so take advantage of this for sure.

The other thing we did lots of was relaxing in our villa and chilling playing games, reading books, and using pool.

We also splurged ($200 for 4 with wine) and had a dinner at Bridges in Ubud which is very high end - check it out on TripAdvisor.

The thing that drives me the most crazy about Bali is the wine prices and wine quality. Because of government taxes and shipping costs markups are easily 400% but what is frustrating is that a place like Bridges should be able to pick the GOOD $10 - $20 Australian wines and not the crap ones which they do. They have a big wine list but I tasted all three whites they had by the glass and all 2 reds by the glass and they were complete swill. And I like Aussie and Kiwi wines a LOT!

We had one negative in that the shower water or bath water was not hot but they came by and adjusted the gas and temp settings of the Rennai instant hot heaters and fixed it quickly.

Good people who do the right thing for their guests get 5 stars in my book!

Room Tip: Two Bedrooms in order of quality: Villa 2 Villa 1 Villa 4 One bedrooms in order of quality: Vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punkleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear punkleg,

Thank you for taking the time to make such a comprehensive review of our resort. I am delighted to read that you are happy with our services.

I am pleased you underline the service given by our team. Every member of our team is passionate about creating the best experiences and great memories for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future!

Regards,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

The Chapung is absolutely perfect for a romantic getaway or a family holiday. Hidden in the lush tropical landscapes of Ubud above a stunning river the Chapung has everything you could ever need - amazing fusion food served in a stunning restaurant overlooking a vibrant green valley, private villas that are perfectly styled to incorporate Bali's unique culture and arts with all of the modern comforts all only 10 minutes from downtown Ubud. Have a leisurely bike ride or take trek down to a secluded river - it's amazing. I have lived in Bali for 27 years and this is truly the best of the best.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avaloncarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort. We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future for another romantic getaway.

Sincerely,
Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 nights and it so happened that for most of the nights we were the only guests in the villa, which was amazing. It's a little ways out from Ubud Centre, but worth it, as this is the perfect place for privacy and feeling as though you are in the middle of nature while still enjoying first-class service. We stayed in villa 6 which was incredible; the bedroom opened right into a beautiful pool which was quite large, about 12 metres long. In the mornings a farmer or two wld appear on the rice fields surrounding our villa and they were always friendly and smiling. Service was available 24 hours and impeccable. Food at the restaurant was great and breakfast was delicious - the homemade papaya jam was very yummy with the yoghurt and raw cacao nibs. We did the 90m hot stone massage which was one of the best massages we've ever done, draining all the tension right out from our bodies. Only complaints would be that we did not get reception for several of the movie channels for most of our stay due to the rural location, and the WIFI was really spotty, pretty much accessible only at the restaurant and sometimes not even at the hotel reception. However, it's a small price to pay for a slice of paradise.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Director of Sales at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Charlene P,

Greetings from Ubud!

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the treatment at our Sabai Spa.

We look forward to having you again in the future!


Warm regards,


Indri Harsono
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We have visited Chapung Se Bali a few times and will definitely be back. The villas are divine and immaculately furnished, the gardens are like a botanical garden and individual villa pools are
so lovely. The restaurant and in villa food options were terrific too.
The location outside of Ubud is perfect, if you like the Bali from the book ''Eat, Pray, Love'' you must stay here! We took advantage of the villas mini shuttle bus to go to Ubud most days.
Although kids normally prefer big beach side resorts, my 3 children also loved this resort due to the activities offered such as bike riding in the rice fields, the private pools and it was just such a different experience from the one normally associated with 'beach' bali.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Director of Sales at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Colleen J,

Greetings from Ubud!

Thank you for your review and we would also like to thank you for choosing Chapung SeBali for your regular stay in Bali. I am happy to hear that you and your kids enjoy the different Bali experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

P.S: We are constructing an infinity pool project that will be opened this year!

Warm regards,


Indri Harsono
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.7 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#38 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#27 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
2.4 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#61 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa

Property: Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Address: Jln. Raya Sebatu, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Ubud
#29 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#48 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#53 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapung se Bali Resort & Spa is not your usual Balinese style villa retreat. Rather it calls on contemporary lines and interiors to produce a modern lush resort. Each one or two bedroom villa is equiped with a private pool and designed with a retro classic furnitures and arts. The Resort provides a Spa offering various massages and therapies, a fine dining Asian-Mediterranean restaurant and the famous Jungle Fish pool bar and restaurant. The property covers almost two hectares of untouched landscape that extends down to the banks of the Osh river. Accessed by a meandering path of stone steps, the river is a continuous flow of mountain fresh water with extraordinary properties to nurture body, mind and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapung Sebali Hotel Ubud
Chapung SeBali Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing