We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scandinavian design in tropical paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Ranked #80 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Scandinavian design in tropical paradise”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

If you're looking for private tranquillity and stylish comfort in the middle of a Balinese paradise, then Chapung Resort is the place to stay. Perched above rice paddies on the outskirts of Ubud, individual villas are ingeniously designed, incorporating local materials and Scandinavian design. We stayed in a very spacious “one bedroom villa”, surrounded by lush gardens and distant rain forest. Sliding doors in the bedroom and bathroom opened directly to a private pool, so you could seamlessly transition from bed to pool to bath to pool to adjoining terrace, and so on, at intimate leisure.

While respecting our privacy, the resort personnel were extremely friendly and attentive, and I had a world-class massage (and as a movement professional, I’m very picky) in the open-air spa, which is built from parts of a Balinese temple – as is the roof of the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent and the vista from the restaurant was breathtaking. Resort buildings are connected by rustic, stone pathways and hillside steps, which, although very charming and aesthetically fitting, are not easily accessible for those less mobile – especially at night. It helps to bring a flashlight or download a “flashlight app” on your smart phone.

All in all a luxurious retreat in a beautiful, secluded location!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Director of Sales at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear JamDenmark,

Greetings from Ubud!
Thank you for choosing Chapung SeBali for your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation as well as the treatment at our Sabai Spa. I really appreciate your feedback regarding the walkways, and we are considering providing flashlights for our guests in the near future.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future!


Warm regards,


Indri Harsono
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    51
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
93
178
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My boyfriend and I spend 3 nights in one of the wonderful villa's and we absolutely loved every minute of it. The private pool belonging to the villa was wonderfully cool and the interior suited the villa perfectly.
The Spa, where we tried to hot stones massage on recommendation from Yann the Manager, was leaps ahead of other spas we have tried in Bali. The quality of the treatments there is fantastic!

All in all, this was such a nice place, that we really didn't wanted to leave. We hope to come back again in the future and try the infinity pool, which looks like it will be very nice. -When it's finished.. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piakjaerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Director of Sales at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Piakjaerr,

We would like to thank you for choosing Chapung SeBali for your stay and I am happy to know that you enjoyed every minute of it, including the treatments at our Sabai Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Warm regards,


Indri Harsono
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Situated a few minutes from Ubud and a little hard to find but well worth it as it is an undiscovered gem. Fabulous architecture, beautiful furniture and total privacy in your private villas all different sizes and designs. Great value massages overlooking the paddy fields

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quintadelarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear quintadelarosa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Chapung Sebali Resort & Spa. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Chapung Resort is simply an experience of perfection. We slept like babies in a gigantic bed covered with mosquito net so fine and beautiful that you feel like princes. The first morning, we opened our eyes on a paradise view of water, flowers and green vegetation. From the room, you drop directly in a giant private swimming pool. The room is furnished with exquisite inventive designs by the owner, it is a charm all by itself every where you look. There are so many different personal cares offered, that you can spend a month there without wishing for anything else. From the restaurant, the food is so lively and delicious you wish to hire the cook and bring him home. And we enjoyed talking with everybody because the staff is well educated and competent in English as well. Yann, the manager, is so funny and well informed that we feel we did not miss a single thing to see in the vicinity. We highly recommend the place to anybody looking for peace, love, food, care and beauty.
Eric & Marie-Claude from Quebec

Room Tip: Villa 7 was our choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear eric f,

It was true pleasure to welcome you and Madame at our resort. I enjoyed spending time discussing with you and sharing my knowledge of beautiful Bali to help you enjoy your vacation as much as possible. We are looking forward to welcome you again when you come back in the future!

Sincerely,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My boyfriend and i travel a lot for our jobs and we didn't want to stay in a hotel style place as we do that all the time.. Chapung was exactly what we were looking for and it truly lives up to all the photos and past reviews of it.. We had a lovely time and especially on Xmas day when there outstanding Indonesian Chef came to our villa and cooked us and some friends an amazing Indonesian Feast! The staff are wonderful! the guys who worked up on the front desk were so helpful in sorting anything you needed. The villas are spectacular, best pools! the setting even though there are other people around you feel completely alone and there's no bother with any noise from other villas.. The Spa treatment we had in our room was amazing and i totally urge anyone who goes to have this service 3.5hrs of total bliss!
Thanks Chapung for revitalising us!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesa2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Leesa2311,

Thank you for reviewing our property. I am happy that you have enjoyed your vacation with us and that you have truly experienced our Sabaï Spa and the private BBQ in your villa. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A small boutique style resort where beautiful villas are adorned with lovely furniture. Nestled in-between rice paddies just outside Ubud and perched on the edge of a river valley, the views are wonderful. Staff are exceptionally friendly and wifi is free throughout the resort and villas. Food is deliciously prepared with fresh organic ingredients and the menu is focused on quality instead of quantity. Use a free shuttle to Ubud for more dining options, shopping and cultural experiences. The spa is an open style spa with really good treatments. They are in the process of building what looks like will be the largest pool in Ubud too! In house tour options are many to chose from and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cisco_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Cisco_ct,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am happy you enjoyed your time with us. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future so you will be able to enjoy our new pool.

Sincerely,

Yann Houdayer
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from a week at Chapung SeBali and it was an incredible space. Do yourself a favour and book a trip here.

The villas are set in large rice paddies that tier down towards a ravine area that is filled with lush greenery and palm trees. Driving in you are immediately struck by how special the place is.

The restaurant overlooks the ravine and while we were there they were finishing the construction on what looks like it will soon be an absolutely stunning pool.

The villa we stayed in was gorgeous - large with a private pool, an outdoor covered living area, a large well appointed bathroom and decorated with absolutely beautiful furniture. The whole resort has absolutely stunning furniture (a highlight of the space - jaw-dropping gorgeous design).

We used the spa several times and it was incredibly affordable and super relaxing. The spa space is open (covered roof with no walls) and overlooks the greenery - nothing more relaxing than having a massage while the wind blows through the palm trees and rice paddies around you.

Staff and service was outstanding. A shuttle brought people into town (a short drive away - it was nice to be a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud). Every morning we had a delicious breakfast.

This is one of the most incredible places you will ever stay in your life. Do yourself a favour and book it now.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dardar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear dardar14,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am happy to know that you appreciated your vacation with us. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,

Yann Houdayer
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.5 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#70 of 198 in Ubud
716 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#43 of 198 in Ubud
947 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#23 of 198 in Ubud
219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#14 of 198 in Ubud
755 reviews
1.5 mi away
Puri Wulandari Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa

Property: Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Address: Jln. Raya Sebatu, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Ubud
#29 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#62 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#68 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapung se Bali Resort & Spa is not your usual Balinese style villa retreat. Rather it calls on contemporary lines and interiors to produce a modern lush Resort, located high in hills, 10 minutes’ drive from Ubud. Nature, minimalist, modern, intimate, spacious and design are the keywords to define the Resort's concept. The Resort opened in 2009, with the architectural inspiration of the owner, who is a professional furniture designer. Slowly, his vision grew with two restaurants, a large Spa and a wide infinity pool perched on the side of a ridge overlooking the Osh River Valley and its verdant jungle. With 8 large Pool Villas and 14 Suites with valley view, the Resort aims to offer a memorable experience : swim amidst the lush jungle in a large infinity pool, enjoy a new fusion Mediterranean-Asian cuisine and highly qualitative Spa healing therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapung Sebali Hotel Ubud
Chapung SeBali Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing