We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful Will Always Stay Here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desa Sanctuary, The Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desa Sanctuary, The Village
Ranked #195 of 513 Ubud B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful Will Always Stay Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

My partner and I stayed for 10 days in June/July 2011. The staff and wonderful and helpful and everyone and the accommodation exceeded our expectations. We were so happy with everything. This is where we will stay every year we come to Bali! I am even brining my mother this time! The food is excellent - I think I tried everything on the menu and it is great just being that little bit out of the centre of Ubud so that you can have a relaxing break from it all.

RECOMMENDED!!!!

:-)

Kami mencintaimu Rumah David - ketemu lagi!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxFras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    39
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
46
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My wife and I originally booked just two nights of a 5 night trip to Bali here however we loved Ubud/Desa Sanctuary so much we extended to 5. Tucked away off one of the main roads leading into Ubud the sanctuary is a lush green compound with the houses set around a great little swimming pool. We stayed in Rumah Tinggi and loved the space, large bed and outlook over the surrounds.

Hiring a scooter ($4-5 per day) in town is recommended as although it is walking distance to Ubud centre it probably took us 25 minutes each way. Otherwise a driver is also easy to arrange at about $2-3 per way.

Thank you for a wonderful place to spend our Bali trip :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antlowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a splendid stay at Desa Sanctuary (Rumah David). The staff is extremely helpful, the ambiance is true paradise, and the ready availability of a knowledgable, low-cost driver to tour the area made it one of the best vacations we've every had. We enjoyed ounging by the pool as well. Only the rosters in the neighborhood disturbed the peace, but within a day or two the sound just blended into the atmosphere. We hope to return to Bali, Ubud and Desa Sanctuary in the future.

Room Tip: Having the airconditioned bedroom was important to us, though during the day the pool was the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiEpplerAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My family and I just returned from a 2.5 week vacation in Bali. There were nine of us in our group with ages ranging from 11 to 65. We rented out all of the units at the Desa Sanctuary for 7 nights. Some of us didn't make it that long. Pros: Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast, particularly the banana pancakes, was a hit. Grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Cons: NOISY, NOISY, NOISY. If peace and relaxation is what you are looking for in Ubud, do not stay at Desa Sanctuary. Based on the other reviews re: dogs and roosters, I came prepared with earplugs and Bose headphones. Still not enough. In addition to dogs and roosters, there is the constant noise of the moterbikes downshifting and gunning their motors to get up the hill right next to the resort. There is also hours of tile cutting saws, chainsaws and other contruction occuring in the property directly behind the "village." We were there over New Year's so expected some additional noise associated with the holiday. What we didn't expect was pot banning, firecrackers and other noise going on all night from the family next door. One of the staff told us that sometimes people make noise so that the resort will give them money to stop. Hard to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings with the constant clamor. Enough about noise ... you get the point. The property is a bit of a walk from town, but we all made it regularly. Although some have mentioned the concern about no sidewalks, we were more concerned about the barking dogs that cross the road and follow you for awhile. If you want to take a cab, ask the staff to arrange approx. 15 min before you want to go. Cabs will try to charge you various amounts to take you to town ranging from 80,000 IR to 25,000. We normally paid 30,000 or so.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mnelle64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtlifePancakes, Owner at Desa Sanctuary, The Village, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
We always appreciate when guests take the time to review us and, we are grateful that through Trip Advisor the owners are also allowed to respond.
We understand that there was a lot of noise that happened while this guest was visiting with her family, but I just want to remind other folks who might be reading this, that it was New Years Eve and that it is a noisy night just about everywhere in the world...including our little village. We certainly understand that some would like a quieter experience but we don't have any control over our neighbors celebrating on this night of nights.
In regards to the tile cutting and construction noise, again, we are very sorry but we did take care of it the very next day. We paid the construction crew to shut down for the period of this guests visit.
One of the beauties of our Village is that we are "in a village"....in Bali. There is wild life and greenery and roosters and there is also the influx of modern life...cars and motorcycles. Welcome to Bali! The streets don't have sidewalks and when they do, are uneven at best. However Bali is a special place ...we invite you to look beyond your comfort zone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Thank You Desa Sanctuary for a wonderful place to stay while we were in Ubud. We loved every minute of our 8 day stay... From the moment we walked in the beautiful doors of the sanctuary we were taken care of by the wonderful, smiling, caring staff. Our breakfasts which were included in the cost were always fresh and delicious, we looked forward to it every morning. (the best muesli I have ever tasted) We hired our own motor scooters so transport was not a problem at all. We thought the rooms were extremely comfortable and very tastefully designed, the gardens and pool also very special. It exceeded my expectations and I cant wait to go back again. Yes, the roosters are a little noisy but after a while I didn't notice them. I highly recommend the Sanctuary/Village to anyone travelling to Ubud, soooo much nicer than staying in a hotel... love love loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed in the larger cabin and found the amenities to be very nice. The fittings and furniture are beautiful, the beds so comfortable. The pool and garden areas are lovely. It is located on at the bottom of a steep drive and we had some "taxi drivers" refuse to take us all the way down, but the short walk from the road is not bad. There are no sidewalks to take you into town, so a taxi is needed to get you there ( about 5 mins away by car).
We came with our 2.5 year old and found the community of closely built cabins not child friendly. The welcome books asks to respect all staying and to keep the voices down, especially children. We had a hard time keeping our son quiet while swimming and got looks for other guests-we felt bad, as adults were not pleased at the sight of a child. The staff was super friendly and we did our best to keep him calm and quiet. The steep stairs leading up to the bedroom were a bit of a hazard for our toddler and there is no bathtub-but the shower is outside and fun. I would stay again without kids.
One thing that was pretty unavailable but worth mentioning is the LOUDEST roosters in the world who crow all night long. We had a difficult time sleeping with the roosters and dogs and workman starting at 6 am every morning just behind our cabin. It was very loud. There is no insulation as these are cabins, so you hear everything....As this is a cabin, there are bugs..so be aware and bring lots of spray.
Breakfast was great each day and I really liked the little offering each evening that were placed at our cabin.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

This wasn't for us. We got one of the smaller houses here - not as enticing as it looks on the website, shower didn't work and we really didn't like being asked by a staff member's husband EVERY DAY if we wanted to go on a tour.

The Sanctuary is located on a very busy road, and quite far from the centre. We felt a bit stuck at night, being people that want to go for walks in the evening.

The staff, though, are friendly and the wi fi works well.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Furrballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtlifePancakes, Owner at Desa Sanctuary, The Village, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you for the opportunity to address this review. We appreciate the good things you said about us....our great staff and super WIFI. We wish that you had come forward and told us of your experience since our job is to make your stay a pleasant one and we are committed to doing our JOB. We apologize for our overzealous staff member who asked too many times if you wanted to go see Bali. The location is not in the center of town, which for some is a relief from the busy-ness of Monkey Forest and for others, it may be not their cup of tea. We try to accommodate those that want to go to town by having staff on night duty everyday to assist anyone who needs to get a ride to town. We would love for you to come back and let us make this right for you...We'll even throw in free massages for you and your husband!...Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.5 mi away
Sandat Glamping Tents
Sandat Glamping Tents
#53 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
By Dorry Bed & Breakfast
By Dorry Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 45 in Gianyar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indigo Tree
Indigo Tree
#316 of 521 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Royal Tulip Visesa
Royal Tulip Visesa
#19 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#5 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desa Sanctuary, The Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Sanctuary, The Village

Property: Desa Sanctuary, The Village
Address: Jalan Pengosekan | Pejeng Kawan, Gianyar Bali, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderland In Bali has Ubuds best kept secret Villa's. RiverView Villa is the Grand Dame of them all. Imagine waking up to the sound of the rushing river. Our home is perched in the tree tops, sharing the same views as the Maya Ubud, a five star resort. Eat, Dine and Rejuvenate. Our staff can provide traditional and contemporary meals served to your pleasure. A spacious grande room with ironwood floors throughout, is the perfect place for relaxing, yoga, reading & dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desa Sanctuary, The Village Hotel Ubud
Desa Sanctuary, The Village Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing