We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desa Sanctuary, The Village
Ranked #276 of 640 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I loved staying at Desa Sanctuary. What a beautiful little oasis amongst an already gorgeous island. The rooms are pretty, clean, and comfortable. The service the best. We loved meeting the other guests, everyone was so friendly. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennylanexox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

I don't want to say too much or I will never get a booking again due to being packed out.
A gorgeous small resort of 6-7 units. nice, quiet and relaxing away from the hubbub off Bali, yet within a 20 minute casual walk to Ubud.
The accommodation was clean and airy and I loved the down stairs bed and both bathrooms.
The staff were on hand to offer advice of where to go and how to get there without being pushy.
Breakfast was delivered daily as part of the cost and other meals could be ordered in from outside venues if you couldn't be bothered moving after a hard day.
The pool area was cosy and intimate and one is not harassed by a thousand screaming children.
Yes I would go back again, in fact I'm hoping to get back there in August this year 2013.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lizzie402001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Our stay at Desa Sanctuary was amazing and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful sanctuary in Ubud. The staff (especially Sak Ming!) goes out of their way to make sure you are well taken care of and that everything is to your liking. The houses are beautiful and there is something for everyone! My boyfriend stayed for 3 weeks to do some work and I stayed with him for a week and it was perfect! It's a little out of Ubud but if you get a motorbike or bicycle it's an easy few minute ride. We're already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a great time staying at Desa Sanctuary. The place is clean and quaint. My son really likes hanging out at the pool and the location is not very far from central Ubud. We would recommend staying at Desa Sanctuary.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alarasati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here along with two of her relatives in February. Our week was wonderful. The service at the sanctuary is top notch. They are happy to help accomodate any special needs. The houses are a bit closer together than we thought based on the websites descriptions but they still offer enough privacy. We stayed at the place closest to the pool so when other guests were in the pool we were pretty close to them whether we wanted to be or not. That said, everyone is happy in Ubud and the guests were polite and not rowdy. This would only be a problem if there were young kids in a family making a lot of noise and I think the property might encourage families with certain aged kids to stay elsewhere. We'd return to this place for sure if going back to Ubud.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bkl0unge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our stay at Rumah David Sanctuary was very (very very) good . Very well designed and maintained apartment. Elegantly decorated and equipped with all modern needs. And just outside Ubud (what we experienced as positive --> nice and quiet). The ideal base from which to explore Ubud. After a day of touring the pool is a pretty great place to unwind. I can recommend anyone who goes to Ubud! No need to look further ;-).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 0611nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

i found the sanctuary online and booked lotus lumbung for one month of my 6 months stay in ubud. i did not believe it could be as beautiful in reality as it looked online. when i arrived, i was delighted to find it was BETTER than it looked. i could have moved, tried other places during my 6 months sabbatical. truth is i fell deeply in love with the staff that works there, and the incredible, loving service they provide. this is truly a sanctuary. the beds are super comfortable, the houses, all 5 of them, unique, very tasteful, with great furniture and a wonderful vibe. the tropical garden surrounding the little houses is green and an oasis steps away from busy ubud. the walk into town is easy, and motorcycle services are readily available. they make a fantastic breakfast delivered to your table with a big smile, and they will do anything to make you comfortable and happy. it is also completely safe. i ended up staying 6 months at the sanctuary, switching between lotus lambung, ganesha and saraswati. all three houses are perfect. this is an amazing place and i have not seen another one in ubud that comes even close.

Room Tip: all are great, question of size. kampung does not have much outdoor space, it is fully enclosed whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ursfath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
3.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.2 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
4.1 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
2 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desa Sanctuary, The Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Sanctuary, The Village

Address: Jalan Pengosekan | Pejeng Kawan, Gianyar Bali, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £31 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderland In Bali has Ubuds best kept secret Villa's. RiverView Villa is the Grand Dame of them all. Imagine waking up to the sound of the rushing river. Our home is perched in the tree tops, sharing the same views as the Maya Ubud, a five star resort. Eat, Dine and Rejuvenate. Our staff can provide traditional and contemporary meals served to your pleasure. A spacious grande room with ironwood floors throughout, is the perfect place for relaxing, yoga, reading & dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desa Sanctuary, The Village Hotel Ubud
Desa Sanctuary, The Village Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing