We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Ranked #15 of 543 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and cozy”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Madde and Ayu were friendly, attentive and gave good advice on things to do. They served delicious breakfast, especially the green pancakes with banana.

The location were on the outskirts of Ubud, it was nice with the rice fields around, but it is 10 min walk to the center.

Rooms are located in a beautiful garden. They were simple, but cozy. It was nice to sit on the couch outside in the evenings. A little further out on the fields is a great organic restaurant.

One day we took a day trip with Madde, and saw the volcano, bamboo forests, temples, different types of crops, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elias_Moberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    70
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
60
121
110
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed at Nirwa's for 4 nights in June. After walking for a few hundred metres down a small alley (flash light at night a good idea) you get to Nirwa's overlooking paddy fields. It's quiet, clean and the owners are very nice and helpful.

The best part of Nirwa's apart from the peace, is that you can immediately slip away for walks through the paddy fields.

The all the attractions of Ubud are in easy walking, but being on the edge of the town you avoid the noise.

Made and Ayu are great hosts and I look forward to the day I return and spend some more time at their welcoming homestay.

Room Tip: Room No 1 has the best views of the Paddy Fields, though No 2 isn't bad either, and they both sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dxmxnxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The place is quite isolated, therefore you will get some peace of mind. However, the view of the paddy fields was not as great as I had imagined it to be. The owners were quite friendly, and their son is very helpful. The weather at night is just gorgeous - cool.....

Now the thing was that there were so many ants around! I just put my bread for less than 5 minutes on the table, and before you know it was ALL fill with ants! So, remember not to put food around on the table. On the good side - it's near to nature that i could hear the frogs croaking the whole night, the insects and etc. However, there were quite a lot of mosquitos which had attacked us - so we had battlescars the next day.

If you are looking for places to walk about / eat at night, this place is some distance away to the eateries. It was safe walking at night around, but i do not recommend walking alone. Do bring out your flashlight as the pathway to the homestay is not lighted, and a wrong step will lead you into the irrigation canal. (I almost took a wrong step myself into the irrigation canal!)

The breakfast portion was not as big as other homestays, so just know that you may need to refill or eat something when you are out on tours.

A note advice - esp for newlyweds, if possible do not get the single bungalow as it's very "open". The top of the wall is not connected to the roof, therefore if you were having a lot of air in the stomach and you are in the toilet, people walking by will hear you.

Personally to me, the place has pros and cons, but weighing it out, I think it's too overrated and the price is not worth the value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SnowFlakes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Nirwa Homestay was the perfect choice for us - a small, friendly, affordable and traditional homestay in Ubud, situated in the middle of the rice paddies. Nirwa is less than ten minutes walk to the centre of town, but is a gorgeous quiet retreat from the noise and traffic and busy-ness of Ubud. The only sounds to be heard are the crickets and bamboo bells in the rice paddies. Made and Ayu, the Balinese owners, are so friendly and helpful and will do anything for you. Ayu makes fantastic breakfasts - the omelette even comes with delicious wholemeal sourdough bread that she buys from a health food place in Ubud. The rooms are light and spacious with big verandahs and it was such a relief to come back to in the afternoons after trudging around the streets of Ubud. After a couple of days, I didn't want to leave the place at all! Just at the back of Nirwa is Sari Organic Cafe as well as the best massage place in the world. I highly recommend Nirwa and will definitely be coming back. Matur suksama to Made and Ayu for their wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: I recommend the upstairs rooms for amazing views, great verandahs and more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We highly recommend Nirwa - please visit! Having spent hours of research to find the right accomodation in Ubud, we're incredibly happy we chose Nirwa. All in all, we spent 7 days with Madde & Ayu (and cute roomboy Wayan): 5 days in the beginning of our wonderful Indonesian adventure trip and - because we enjoyed it so much - 2 in the end. Nirwa is a really special place - especially because of its adorable, lovely and caring owners. Moreover, Nirwa offers everything: very clean & spacious bungalows, a wonderful garden, great service, food (pancakes & juice :-)), views and location right in the rice paddies. Also, it's very close to the main shopping streets. Just a short walk - and you're there. Thank you so much, Madde, Ayu & Wayan! We had such a great time & we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Before coming to Ubud, I was looking for an affordable traditional homestay near a rice field and I found it with Nirwa Homestay where Madde & Ayu provided a friendly environment for its guests. Breakfast was provided every morning and highlighted with fresh juice and banana pancakes. I don't know if all people from California use Tripadvisor to find their Ubud homestays or whether it was just a coincidence, but two other couples were also from the California Bay Area; that means half of the rooms here were filled with Californians! I almost didn't realize I was sitting in the middle of a rice field in Bali.

Walk into the "backyard" of Nirwa Homestay and there will be a pathway that will lead you to other rice fields and a pathway to take you to the surrounding areas (I don't know exactly where it leads to but I hear you can walk for at least half an hour through the fields). Out in the rice fields during my five minute walk, I found a spa, other homestays, and a little family run convenience store (no, it's not like 7-Eleven). If walking through the rice field is not your idea of a good time, you can stay at Nirwa and use their reliable internet or just lounge out on the seating in front of your room and enjoy the fresh air. Our room had each bed outfitted with a mosquito net which was reassuring but we had mosquito spray as the secondary level of protection. There were a good amount of ants in the restroom/shower area so we put that mosquito spray to good use; it works well on ants when sprayed on directly. You'll also likelyencounter some other bugs due to the areas from the open bathroom area because in the two night stay we were there, we found a katydid in our room and a super ugly five inch long dead spider.

We had a very difficult time finding Nirwa Homestay, but once you go up the dirt gravel hill to the long paved pathway along the water channel to arrive at Nirwa on your left side, you'll know the way back home next time. It wouldn't hurt to bring a small LED flashlight if you come back late at night to show you the way and you won't be met with distinguished lights on the way back to Nirwa.

Room Tip: If there is a rice field room view available, make sure to take it (especially if it's on a top...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank solarsnorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I felt at home immediately when I arrived one September evening from my long trip from Europe. My room and bathroom on the first floor were spacious, the bed was excellent, the verandah a real asset. The owners with their sons are so friendly and good tempered. The homestay is a few minutes away from one of Ubud's busy streets and it is a heaven of peace and quiet. At night you hear the frogs and geckos, no cars or motorcycles. A path leads directly into the rice fields, where you can walk for hours.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#12 of 543 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santana Bali Home Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwa Ubud Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwa Ubud Homestay

Property: Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Address: Jl. Raya Campuhan | Banjar Ubud Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 543 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwa Homestay is a family owned business in Ubud, set in the rice fields. just 5 minute to center of ubud [ 0.3 mile to center of ubud .located in the country side / rice field , but close to center of ubud . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nirwa Ubud Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwa Homestay Hotel Ubud
Nirwa Ubud Homestay Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing