We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved being here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Ranked #14 of 573 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We loved being here!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

In October and November of 2013, my wife and I stayed with Made and Ayu and their son Alit for three delightful weeks, after which we moved to five free nights at the Tjampuhan. We came back to visit every day at Nirwa. The Tjampuhan has better water pressure, and it's certainly pretty, but their food is terrible, and the basic clientèle seemed extremely boring after the typical travelers we met at Nirwa. (And Nirwa's wi-fi was far better!) We loved the bungalow, the breakfasts, the frog concert at night, and especially the hosts, who are absolutely lovely people. If you want to be in Bali, this is the place. This was our fourth trip to Bali, and we'd definitely stay here again, even though we've always had good luck with accommodations in Ubud.

PS: no car access, you have to walk in from Jalan Raya or the fields on a small paved path, but it's a very quick shot to the heart of Ubud from there. And you're right in the rice fields, which is a splendid place to pass time.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, but this is the classic Balinese family compound—everyone is close together...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tualen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    70
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
60
121
114
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in october and just returned because I liked it so much. They are super helpful and friendly, you get in touch with other easy but it's also very quiet and peaceful. They organize great tours as well. Ubud is very noisy so its just nice to stay at this place which is close to the center (but a scooter is handy) and you can go out for beautiful dinners within the rice fields within minutes walking distance.
They have balinese style bungalows well arranged in a nice garden. The rooms are simple and clean and I think its a true jewel and and good value.

Thank you Made & Ayu

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Made, Ayu, Alex and Dewa made my experience at the Nirwa Ubud Homestay absolutely wonderful. They became my Balinese family while away from home! There is love in the details of their place, with its delicious breakfasts, coffee and tea available all day, help with anything you need and anywhere you want to go, their beautiful lush garden, and their cleaning and care of your room during your stay. Their wifi signal is excellent (not common!). They picked me up and dropped me off at the airport, as well as providing transport for a side trip outside Ubud. This family is so lovely, I had pre-arranged to stay in a villa for part of the time in Ubud, and still went to visit them regularly when I was no longer staying at Nirwa! That's how welcome they made me feel, and what lovely people they are. I was very lucky to find space at their place due to a cancellation by a traveller who'd changed plans, they are often booked very far in advance. Quiet location in the rice fields, set back from the main road, and really fantastic value. If you like big hotels, this may not be for you, but if you like an authentic local experience, you will be delighted. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hirschegg, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Ayu and Made are the most welcoming hosts and I really enjoyed staying with them. The location, next to the rice fields and still only a few minutes into town are just perfect, the lush garden and spacious rooms and the best pancakes for breakfast all just add up to a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Britta
Thanks you for your review on trip advisor , to share your experience .
i glad that you have good time during your holiday in Ubud , i always to tray nake fell at home for the guest , thanks again for your time , i really appreciate that .
hope to see for next your visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Just agreeing with most other reviews. This place is great, especially because of Ayu, Made and their son. And not to forget, Dewa, the friendly cleaner. They were all so lovely to us and our baby on our two week stay. Hope to see you again. :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinglifetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thanks for your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor ,
i so happy that your have great stay with your family for 2 weeks.
Thanks for everything , hope one day we can meet again
all the best your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here.

I stayed here for 7+1/2 days with a school group, and had a fantastic local experience!

The family is very VERY warm and shows so much hospitality.
I especially enjoyed the interaction with them more than anything,
but to mention the environment, the home stay is surrounded by rice fields and great views from the balcony, and the main street of Ubud is only a few minutes away by walk.
Your stay comes with at least 6 breakfast options which are all quite nice. Always comes with fresh fruit!

The family is truly friendly, so you can ask them for help anytime.

Hope your experience will be as good as mine as well!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel_NUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thanks for your review ,to share on TripAdvisor i really appreciate for your time ,
i glad all the student [ 15 person ] have nice time during they here , i am glad they can study Balinese culture, Balinese dancing , all about Bali , i really enjoy to see them every day to learn about Balinese dance , hope your study will be success
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I was there last week for a total of 8 days leading a study trip group of 14 students from a university in Singapore. Everything abt this place is amazing. I believe those who had bad reviews are pampered folks who are better at high class hotels.

The family of Made and Ayu made the stay most perfect. It was like spending some time at ur favourite aunt's. Ayu never let u leave the homestay without checking if u had ur fill or if u had drank enough water.

The rooms are spacious and clean. I personally had the room on the second floor and everyday when i woke up, i was in awe by the view i saw.

Having a group of 15, Made and his assistant Dewa pushed our bags in from the main road with a wheel barrow. The narrow path didnt bother us at all. It just added to the suspense of seeing how the place was gonna be like.

I really loved my stay and I look forward to my next stay at Nirwa.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faezan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.9 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 198 in Ubud
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
0.5 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#10 of 573 in Ubud
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwa Ubud Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwa Ubud Homestay

Property: Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Address: Jl. Raya Campuhan | Banjar Ubud Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwa Homestay is a family owned business in Ubud, set in the rice fields. just 5 minute to center of ubud [ 0.3 mile to center of ubud .located in the country side / rice field , but close to center of ubud . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Nirwa Ubud Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwa Homestay Hotel Ubud
Nirwa Ubud Homestay Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing