We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Ecellance”
Review of Puri Tupai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Puri Tupai
Ranked #162 of 542 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Private Ecellance”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at the Puri Tupai for 5 days. Very Private two Villas only, divided by water with Koi turtle and frogs. Kids one side (4 Grown up Kids) and adults 4 the other side. private chefs and drivers with car available. Magnificent gardens, huge pool and stunning back drop to forrest. its out of town about 4 km's but well worth it.
The staff are all so helpful and nothing was too hard for them. The rooms are large with just as big semi-open roof bathrooms.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would go again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from kids, all cooking and breakfast that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter and Sharo... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri-Tupai-Bali, Manager at Puri Tupai, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Peter and Sharon Armstrong,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences pertaining your recent stay with us.
I'm glad to learn that you enjoy your holiday whenever you stay with us and choose Puri Tupai for your next stay.
Please send my regards to Sharon, your beautiful daughters, Daryl, and Pene.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next return to our stunning villa.

Warmest regards,
Management Puri Tupai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This gorgeous property is a perfect hideaway for a group of friends or a family who really want to get away from it all for a few days. It consists of two beautiful Bali style main structures with a total of four bedrooms and spacious common areas. The staff of six, headed by the incomparable Ms. Sri, makes sure that every need and comfort is tended to, without ever compromising your privacy. It's world class hospitality delivered with the natural warmth of the Balinese people. The surroundings inspire calm and relaxation in even the most stressed out city creature. The expansive gardens with swimming pool and tennis court are meticulously maintained and the houses themselves offer every modern convenience in a warm and comfortable decor.

Puri Tupai is located in a quiet area within easy reach of the tourist area of Ubud. So, whether you are looking to hide out or are looking for a perfect base for exploring Bali, this property is the place I would choose again and again!

Room Tip: The two best rooms are the ones facing the garden and pool area. But all rooms are lovely and very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkHKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri-Tupai-Bali, Manager at Puri Tupai, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Mark,

A good day to you.

Thank you very much for your time in put such a reviews which is flattering us.
Hopefully you are in fresh condition at the moment after recharged and resume regular activities.

We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities and the overall services that offered during your stay with us.

On behalf of the management and team, we happily look forward to welcomingyou back to this beautiful island for another great special experiences.

Yours sincerely,
PTI team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Kids loved waking up to feed the koi.
Seniors would wake up early to immerse in the sound of crickets and morning dew.
Teens could jump onto the mountain bike or swing into tennis action.
Finally, parenting adults just relaxed inside the hut next to the pool and enjoyed the shady breeze.

Large dining room accommodating 8-9 adults round table seating was perfect for family reunion, while 3 kids grabbed a quick meal at a coffee table next to the adults before sneaking away to continue their play.

Personal cook and driver were always ready at our service. With 2 complementary trips to Ubud town centre daily, spa indulgence at Jaens Spa, Monkey Forest sight seeing and dining out were just 5-10 minutes away. Even the must-go Bebek Tepi Sawah restaurant was just 15-20 minutes away. The much fancied Ibu Oka is an oversold recommendation, and I strongly recommend to instead try it as a take away dish to add to what the personal cook can offer at a reasonable price. Breakfast was complementary but never boring as we could have congee and local dishes for a change, as well as topping up the simple breakfast with sausage, bacon and ham from the supermarket.

The TV with cable channels and DVD titles are strategically placed at the mezzanine floor, making it totally irrelevant to everyone so that we could spend less time starring at the square box. Instead, jenga and card games were the better choice for fun and laughter.

For venturing out to other places of interest such as Tanah Lot, Kuta, Legian or the John Hardy Silver Factory, affordable hourly rate payable to the hotel made it totally stress-free to plan or make last minute changes.

We liked the manager Sri for her warm welcome and farewell, as well as her attentive occasional visits. Her team's hospitality throughout our stay was also commendable.

Firmer beds and more seamless downpayment were the only improvements we look forward to for our next visit.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxOoiline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri-Tupai-Bali, Manager at Puri Tupai, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Mun Siang,

A good day to you from Puri Tupai.

Thank you very much for your time to sharing such a pleasant comment on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities and the overall services that offered during your stay with us.

On behalf of the management and team, we happily look forward to welcomingyou back to this beautiful island for another great special experiences.

Yours sincerely,
PTI team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

A beautiful villa with an amazing garden. With 2 busy kids we greatly appreciated the large garden that my kids could run around in. there are 2 traditional little houses that my kids thought were fantastic treehouses. There are 2 bedrooms in each of the houses which allows for great privacy if travelling with 2 families but if you are travelling with small kids the bedrooms are out of earshot and kids have to travel out of one house through 2 very heavy doors to get to the other rooms, in the dark, across a bridge over a fish pond.

The location of the house is great. It is is only a 5 minute drive into town and there is a small convenience store 5 min walk away for basics.

My only complaint would be that the path to the pool is gravel which meant having to locate shoes every time we wanted to walk back and forth from the house. A stone slab path would be a simple solution.
The villa staff were helpful and the food they prepared was plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karmafishjakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Our family came to stay at Puri Tupai in Ubud. It was our first time in Bali but we had heard of the wonderful hospitality. The house is tucked away from the road down a small unsealed road. It is a typical stunning Balinese house with the most amazing garden. It boasts a massive pool and a tennis court. The house has everything you could want for! Lovely partly outdoor showers in each bedroom. We loved the care given by Ketut the chef and his lovely wife Komang. They would serve us fantastic Balinese breakfast or anything you'd want. Sri the housekeeper was there everyday to arrange any daytrip we wanted to do. The highlight was the white water rafting! Having said that it was so relaxing to stay at the house that sometimes we just didn't feel like going anywhere! The house is close to the shops and restaurants of Ubud so super practical! We would love to go back again and this time we'd probably would take our extended family as the house can comfortably accomodate 4 couples.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineLoubet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yansri, Manager at Puri Tupai, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for staying with us and for spending your precious time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor.
I'm pleased to learn that you've left the Puri Tupai with such a memorable experiences. It's a real pleasure to know that you are satisfied with the services and facilities.
All of us here are looking forward to having you back with us again.

Best regards,
PTI's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The place is hidden, but once you are there, you have the place to your own. This is an OASIS, great place to relax ... great pool, nice grass tennis court and plenty of space to relax and hang out.
Fantastic staff, from the Chef Kutuk to the driver Madi, plus lovely Sri (Manager) who will make all your sightseeing and activities arrangements.
We stayed for 4 nights and 5 days and we saw only a little bid of Ubud and surrounding areas… so much to do, but not enough time.
The food is also outstanding and they cook for you anything, just tell them or show them, they do it.
The water rafting is about 1 hour or so away from Ubud) was outstanding, try Sobek www.balisobek.com , they did a great job, especially with our 7 year old son. There are many other sightseeing areas around; it is up to you what you want to see.

For sure we will be back again and we will bring some of our friends too.

Room Tip: The rooms at the side where the living area is loacated a bit more quiet, compare to the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hierzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yansri, Manager at Puri Tupai, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Peter,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to post a review about Puri Tupai and thank you for staying and spending the time with us here at Puri Tupai.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused so you feel uncomfortable and annoyed with it.
My team and I will continue maintaining comfort in every corner of the room.

All of the staff at Puri Tupai would be happy to have you back again whenever your itinerary brings you back to Bali.

with warm regards,
PTI's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Arriving at PURI TUPAI leaves one open-mouthed in wonder.
Leaving it is heart wrenching.
It is a little terrestrial paradise.
The staff is wonderful. The food is excellent. The service is without fault. The atmosphere is enchanting.
I just wish it could be all mine.
Thankyou for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri-Tupai-Bali, Manager at Puri Tupai, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear David,

Thank you very much for sharing such a pleasant comment on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities and the overall services that offered during your stay with us.

On behalf of the management and tea,, we happily look forward to welcomingyou back to this beautiful island for another great special experiences.

Yours sincerely,
PTI team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.0 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 9 in Payangan
813 reviews
0.0 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.0 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 198 in Ubud
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
0.0 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 542 in Ubud
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Alena Resort
The Alena Resort
#4 of 542 in Ubud
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Tupai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Tupai

Property: Puri Tupai
Address: Anak Agung Gede Rai st, Abiansemal Lod Tunduh | Jl Raya Anak Gunung Rai, Abiansemal Lod Tunduh, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 542 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Tupai 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extraordinary escape in Bali. A spectacularly designed house in a stunning Balinese jungle setting, Puri Tupai Villa provides a measure of pure indulgence and relaxation. It is truly the island retreat you have always dreamed of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri Tupai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Tupai Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing