We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Ubud bar none. Look no further”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Ubud bar none. Look no further”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This brand new resort is the sister to the much heralded Samaya in Seminyak and it does not disappoint. Stunning private pool villas with proper swimming pools in an enviable location right on the Arung River..

The restaurant has the best food (not cheap) Ive eaten for about 15 years. Our dinner was truly memorable and its worth eating there just for the butter alone!

Close to the centre of Ubud if you want to go there and all the rafting and adventure companies will pick you up from this resort too.

The rooms are beautiful, the staff fabulous and the whole place is such good value for what you get. It puts the rest of the 5 star places into second place.

A real gem

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,148
    81
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
193
855
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

My mum and I arrived in Ubud after spending five nights at The Samaya in Seminyak. We thought the standard of the Seminyak property would be impossible to match.... but boy, were we wrong!!
Our villa was down by the river and we would wake up and fall asleep to the sound of the rushing water. The villa comes with a private pool (somewhat smaller than the one at Seminyak), an outdoor relaxing area complete with wooden canopy and comfortable pillows (perfect for an afternoon nap!!) and an outdoor table and chairs overlooking the river. A good place to have your breakfast or your afternoon tea :).
We had a memorable dinner at the "swept away" restaurant sitting right by the river. The setting is perfect for a romantic dinner (they will give you mosquito spray to keep the bugs away!), the food was delicious and the service kind and attentive. You will want to sit there all night with a Kir Royal and good company ;)! The river provides a welcomed breeze...
The staff is just as lovely and friendly as in the Samaya Semyniak, you will always be greeted by name and with a smile. The service was impeccable and of the highest standard. They make you feel like you are part of the family.
The hotel is surrounded by stunning scenery. If you choose to have your breakfast at the "Scene" restaurant, you will be treated to gorgeous views of the nearby jungle and rice fields, not to mention a chain of mountain in the distance. It feels like the garden of Eden....
Thumbs up to the gardeners who are doing an amazing job keeping the property lush, green and full of multicoloured flowers.
Treat yourself to a spa treatment, the therapists are among the best I have encountered. The double rooms have huge windows looking right on the river, they are truly amazing... You feel relaxed just by sitting in those rooms!
Our stay was most enjoyable and I can warmly recommend you this hotel. You will be blown away!
A big big thank you to Mr. Ray Clark and Mr. Wayan for making our stay in Bali our best holiday ever. Keep up the great work! You guys are the best!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valintheuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We just came back from Bali last weekend and having stayed 6 nights at the Samaya Ubud. Well, it is hard to describe in words how wonderful this place. Samaya provided a free complimentary pick up from the airport in a luxury van where we were greeted with cool towels, water, strawberries and cashew nuts, a really nice touch after a 19 hour journey from Europe. The journey took us through beautiful villages and after around 75 minutes you see a sign at the side of the road in a little village saying The Samaya. It is located 10-15 mins drive from Ubud itself, it is totally integrated into the forest and local community, this is lovely. The little access road to the entrance has local people, chickens, little houses, dogs etc... On arrival we were given a flower garland each and taken via golf buggy to our villa. We stayed in a hillside villa and it was amazing. The villa itself is spacious and beautifully designed, with high vaulted wooden ceiling, large bed, sofa area, big flat screen TV (which we didn't switch on the whole time we were there), Bose iPod dock, hug bathroom with walk in shower room, jacuzzi bath... Outside, the garden was beautiful, totally private, full of wonderful flowers and green tropical plants, a deck with table and chairs, sun beds and an large private infinity pool, there is also an outside fully covered pergola with cushions and a table for relaxing, sleeping etc... It has a real wow factor. Breakfast is complimentary and could be taken in the room or in the room, we opted for the room option as it was so nice to enjoy the villa in the morning. You can also have complimentary afternoon tea between 3-5pm, again in your villa or the restaurant. The food at the Samaya is superb, always fresh with local ingredients, attention to details is excellant. We ate a couple of evenings in the hotel, once in the restaurant and once in our villa and were not disappointed, delicious. There are plenty of restaurants locally in Ubud itself or the local area, we particularly would recommend the Bridges restaurant which had great food and a beautiful romantic setting. The hotel provides free shuttles in the local area, this is a great service and makes it really easy to get around. We also got a drive from Ubud to take us on a couple of day outings, these work out very inexpensive. We cannot speak highly enough about the staff at the Ubud, they are exceptional, they took wonderful care of us at all times and were always responsive when we need them. The manager is so friendly and makes you feel so valued as a customer. Our only regret is not being able to stay longer.... We will be back for sure... Oh one thing I forgot, the setting of the Samaya is beautiful, an amazing view of the rice fields and a fast flowing river which winds through the bottom of the hotel near the restaurant, it is wonderful.... Gosh I want to go back just thinking about it...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We booked this hotel without knowing much about it other than some very good reviews on TripAdvisor. Now I can see why everyone has been raving - it's just wonderful!
It's an all-villa property, so you don't have to fight over who gets the private pool. The only choice at this stage is between the hillside (for views of the rice paddies on the other side of the valley) or the river (for the relaxing sounds of rushing water).
Each villa features a great pool, an outdoor gazebo for relaxing during the day, a huge and incredibly comfortable bed, and possibly the biggest bathroom I've ever seen - dominated by a raised jacuzzi bath.
Breakfasts are included and either served in-villa or in the restaurant. The selection in-villa is a little limited (though all very yummy, especially the mixed tropical fruit juices) but they have a menu of alternatives if you dine in the restaurant. It's all a la carte, so everything is prepared fresh rather than sitting on a buffet table. We also ate one meal from room service - an absolutely delicious mee goreng (Indo style friend noodles). Food and drinks are reasonably priced for the standard of the property, but there is much better value available in Ubud town itself.
The hotel is a fair way from town (a warning to anyone who likes to walk out of the lobby and be in the centre of the action), but they offer a free shuttle service that is very flexible - just tell them when & where you want to go and they'll arrange it, then call them when you're done and they'll come to pick you up - great service!
Speaking of service, this is where the hotel really stands out from the crowd - every single staff member (from top management down to the cleaners and gardeners) is impeccably trained, super-friendly and very knowledgeable about the hotel and the area. They're mostly local (some coming from the village next door to the hotel), and they're very proud of their culture and heritage, and very happy to share it with you. The staff seem to anticipate your every need and desire, always asking how they can help. Obviously this is great for business (giving them the opportunity to sell value-add services), but it never feels like they're being pushy.
I honestly can't fault this hotel. It's getting everything right at the moment, and as more people discover it, I'm sure it's going to receive a lot of awards/accolades.
Congratulations to the owners and management for creating a distinctive and luxurious experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We stayed at The Samaya Ubud for 6 nights in March and i cannot praise this hotel enough. I have no words to describe the service we received from Wayan and his staff. The villa we stayed in was absolutely beautiful and the service was second to none. The staff were very professional and met all your needs. If you are looking for heaven then this is the place to be at.
Thanks Ray, Wayan and all the staff

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We had a truly relaxing and memorable stay at the Samaya Ubud for 3 nights (wish it had been longer)..the reception was very personal and welcoming, made us feel at home right from the start. The service throughout our stay was undoubtedly one of the best we have ever experienced in any hotels. The staff were very attentive and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as it could be. Basically they treated us like royalty. We are especially grateful to our butler (Joe) who catered to our every need.

We stayed at one of the hillside villas with an unimpeded view of a vast jungle and rice terraces, reminding us we were at Ubud at all times. The villa was immaculate, well-designed with all the modern amenities you need. The bathroom was spacious with all the right amenities. The pool was huge and the garden was lovely. Being a city girl, I've often found several hotels in Ubud to be a bit too antique-ish for me, but this is the kind of hotel where you can experience all the comforts at your home while truly experiencing the natural beauty of Ubud.

We had an amazing experiences at both the scene and swept away restaurants. The food at both restaurants was simple but executed with aplomb with a clear focus on fresh local ingredients. At swept away, we really loved the traditional crispy duck. Being indonesians, we had had different versions of this duck, but this was tender on inside and really crispy on the outside, gorgeous! We had a really romantic and memorable dinner at the Scene restaurant, where they literally surrounded our dinner table with petals from hundreds of flowers and lots of candles. Def one of a kind! The degustation menu was excellent and they were willing to accommodate our personal requests regarding the menu.

All in all, a really memorable and relaxing stay. Although it rained everyday while we were there, we still enjoyed the experience so much. Thank you pak Wayan and the rest of the staff for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiouser_curiouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

This place is fantastic from the minute you arrive, the service is second to none, and food is of a high standard. We spent a couple of nights here while on our honeymoon, and wish it had been longer. We had planned to go into Ubud for a look around, however as we were enjoying everything so much we didnt leave the complex.
We also had a hot stone massage at the day spa, this was a real treat.
We would definatly return to The Samaya Ubud.

Room Tip: We booked though Wotif, shop around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_inglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,117 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 198 in Ubud
1,034 reviews
2.0 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 198 in Ubud
1,874 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 145 in Seminyak
711 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 198 in Ubud
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Destinology, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing