We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for a most memorable holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #3 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place for a most memorable holiday”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The Villas are extremely comfortable, great layout and with highest quality fittings. Food at the Swept away restaurant was some of the best we had in Bali, innovative and mouth watering. Management and staff delighted in making our stay truly memorable and every thing was done with great enthusiasm. The market tour with the chef and cooking class was inspirational and a lot of fun. The pampering at the Spa made it a truly relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Villas fronting onto the river are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill_motteram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    81
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
194
856
28
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We were in Bali for a 4D3N stay, and we stayed in Harris Riverside which came with the package. To end the trip with a better note, we decided to stay at a villa on the last nite. Although the transaction with Agoda is an un-intentional one, and has caused me some unhappiness b4 departing. I'm glad tt the transaction went through becos the stay in Samay is the highlight of our trip. We reached The Samaya, and was welcomed with a group of staff, includes the Relationship manager and butler. The RM, Malsha brought us to the terrace on the same level of the lobby to view the awesome view of the rice padi, and a brief intro of the place. Following that, our butler, Yoga, brought us ard samaya to view the river, spa and gym before sending us to the villa, all these at the comfort of the buggy. He did an intro around the villa, including every single things available for us. He then proceed with our check in at the privacy and comfort in our villa. No sitting, standing at the lobby to do your check in and tell u ur rm is not ready, wait a min, or ur rm is there! U will be treated as royal, trust me. They provide shuttle service to Ubud centre at ur convenience, which means ANYTHING time u like but try to come back to the villa by 11pm so that the staff can rest too.You can let them knw wat time to come back for u or give them a call when u r ready to return. High tea is complimentary and the food is really gd. Breakfast is pinic breakfast but they do have lots of variety. U can request for other food item even if its not in the breakfast list, just let ur butler know and they will be most pleased to arrange for u. Well, our butler for the evening offered to order nasi goreng for us for the bf, which is very nice of her. We requested for late check out which they gladly agreed to. Even when we r late for the check out, they didn't cal to chase us. Half an hr later, I saw Malsha outside our villa, and he sent us to the lobby. Conclusion: nice place with nice ppl.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen_qq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

My partner and I had a wonderful stay at the Samaya Ubud Bali from 14 to 18 May. Our experience was positive from start to finish, the villas were excellently appointed and furnished, our dinner at the resort restaurant Swept Away was delicious, and the entire team went out of their way to ensure that we had an enjoyable time and to explain confusion over hotel policies to us quickly.

The team at Samaya Ubud is nothing short of excellent, and combines service quality with genuine warmth and care - something that we don't find in many hotels these days! Diana drove us into Ubud town at short notice on the very first day of our arrival so that we could have babi guling at Ibu Oka before they sold out for the day, and attended to our requests promptly and professionally. Sweca taught us patiently about Balinese culture and history, recommended mask-makers and ceremonies we could see, and took the initiative to pack our delicate purchases nicely as we were checking out. Jiwa always had a radiant smile and good humour during our breakfasts (on the lawns, overlooking the paddy fields at sunrise!), during complimentary high tea served every day, and looked after us well when we had dinner at Swept Away. The Samaya's manager Wayan has a keen eye for detail and perfection, and personal attention to guests, and is a hidden font of expertise and enthusiasm on Balinese herbs, spices and recipes.

The hotel's location is not a problem at all, as the Samaya runs an efficient and reliable drop-off service using hotel-owned cars, and can ferry guests to and fro anywhere within Ubud Town at 20-30 minutes' notice. After a tiring but fun day out, it was always a pleasure for us to see the shiny new Samaya car, and one of the butlers at the wheel with a huge smile on his/her face.

Facilities are in good condition at the resort, such as the beautiful and spacious villas (we had a pool villa overlooking the Agung which had its own terrace balcony, but we walked past the other villas and they looked very nice too) with his and hers sinks, huge bathtub/jacuzzi, private pool and nice high pressured shower, and the golf buggies that whisk guests up and down the meandering gardens and slopes.

We travel frequently and we certainly do notice the little (and large) things that set one hotel above another. Our heartfelt thanks to everybody at the Samaya for making our holiday in enchanting Ubud so special. We hope to visit you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wnoinotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Staff couldn't do enough for you. Manager was attentive to some problems we had. Only negative is that the "river villas" don't actually have a view of the river - there is a wall for security purposes in front of the villas. Spa was a bit overpriced, but really nice setting. Unlike most places outside of Ubud proper - they offer pickup service as well as the normal drop off in town, which is a huge plus if you are going out for dinner somewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmk029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosmalen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I have stayed in many hotels but I must admit that The Samaya Ubud is the most fabulous hotel I have ever stayed. Again I would like to compliment the staff, our stay 4 weeks ago was absolutely fabulous. Next time when I’m in Bali I will definitely stay at in this hotel!

Kind regards,

Cor Pijnenburg

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I expected something more when i spent more than $300 for a villa per night. Samaya has a good reputation for their property in Seminyak but their ubud counterpart seems different. It just open last year but the property looks already been there for ages. I guess the management doesnt put enough effort for the property maintenance

The butler escort me to the villa by a club car. Nothing so special about this villa, it is like typical modern bali villa. The breakfast is standard. if i can turn back time, i would not stay at this villa but will come here only to have a cup of coffee on their 'cheery' restaurant. I would recommend kayumanis next door for a better stay

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boondavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

After reading all the positive reviews, we decided to stay at The Samaya Ubud. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly driver. During the just over 1 hour comfortable ride, we were given a short introduction to the various areas.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were presented with lovely frangipani flowers. We had selected the Hilltop Villa and it was truly amazing with your private pool and mini garden, not forgetting the Jacuzzi bathtub.
We did not opt for the in-villa breakfast as we preferred to have it at the scene restaurant over-looked the rice paddy fields. My partner simply loved the afternoon tea and their home made jam.

What made this hotel so special are the people. The service is very personalised, they will anticipate and flawlessly arranged across all departments to minimise any unnecessary disturbance to the guests. Everyone is so friendly, even the locals too. On a few occasions we met some locals and we smile and greeted each other.

Thumbs up to Wayang (Hotel Manager) and all the staff of The Samaya Ubud. Thank you for the wonderful experience and this is the best stay that we ever had.

Warmest Regards
Tan & Neo

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 196 in Ubud
1,121 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 196 in Ubud
1,036 reviews
2.0 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 11 in Gianyar
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#14 of 196 in Ubud
1,878 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
713 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#2 of 196 in Ubud
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Destinology, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing