We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BALI 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at one of the Villas for three days and it was magnificent.
Unbelievable service and care for guests needs. We will remember the high
quality of the food served in the restaurant by the river.
The architectural design of the villas is simple but stunning and full of all the
latest modern fittings and furniture.
A top experience of shear luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

My wife and I had the most fantastic 3 days at THE SAMAYA Bali. The resort was stunning, the staff were very friendly and their attention to detail was amazing. They have such grace and nothing is too much trouble. The resort hugs the river and whilst there is not that much to do in Ubud itself one can get lost and have a very relaxing time at The Samaya for days. The afternoon tea is delicious and we had beautiful dinners every night at the hotel. No need to leave. A pity that the SPA is expensive. A great stay and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our stay at the Samaya Ubud was absolute perfection. I had read positive reviews and was impressed by the photographs on the Hotel’s website, but the reality was much more beautiful than I could have imagined. This resort is set in the most majestic and breathtaking landscape and those staying have amazing views of the forest, rice fields and the Ayung River.
Every aspect of our villa, which included a deep pool for our private use, was beautifully presented. Our every need had been predicted and taken care of by friendly and kind staff. I enjoyed the quiet privacy this hotel offers. When we needed anything we were quickly helped.
All of the staff enjoyed their work and were very sincere. I appreciated the way the staff were happy to share their knowledge of Ubud and its surrounding areas, all of which they were very proud. They made our stay very enjoyable.
The Samaya offers its guest’s free transport into Ubud – and this was invaluable. The freedom to go into town whenever we liked – even for dinner – in air-conditioned comfort was wonderful. When traveling in with the Hotel’s driver we would be shown points of interest and had interesting conversation about their family life or interests.
We chose to eat at the Hotel often because the two restraints in the Hotel serve authentic Balinese and Indonesian food as well as having and international menu – all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. In addition the hotel gives all guests a full breakfasts with everything we wanted as well as afternoon teas that included much more than we could finish. It was the only Hotel that served Western food - such as scones and vanilla slices that were just like home and I have to admit that was a nice treat.
I would especially like to thank the staff of the Samaya for being so friendly and fun. We really enjoyed their company and insight. A special thanks to our butler, Marcel, who took the time to get to know our 5 year old, and was constantly helping us, especially on the last day when our flight did not leave until 10:10pm; Wayan who took the time to show us special sites around Ubud and helped my Husband find a very special woodcarving; Yoga, Ngurah and Angus who played with our 5 year old and brought him extra strawberries and treats; and IB Loka who took us on a master class in Balinese cooking – his careful and clear instructions were great and he communicated with a real passion and love for what he does.
Anyone chosing to stay at the Samaya will have a very special love for Ubud Indonesia and its people, thank you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. Those with children may need special care as pools have no gates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karina e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The rooms are spacious with a beautiful taste non ostentatious.
The “Samay Bali resort is well located in the center of “, we recommend this address which is one of the best in Bali ”.
The staff is very competent, friendly and classy

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 365Annawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I arrived at the Samaya, Ubud after a terrible flight and I just needed to relax! It was our 3rd stay at the Ubud branch and I would prefer that one to the beach one! I actually booked that hotel by accident but it was the best hotel mistake I've ever made! The room was neat, modern and spacious! It had a beautiful view of the rapid river (must eat at the resterant by the river!) and kingfishers swooped down from the lush trees. The service is the BEST I have ever experienced; I have a diary allergy and the manager looked after me well. I am 14 years old and it is a place where parents can relax and kids can cycle and swim! Must Go!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrSlim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

When we make reservation, we only rely on Tripadvisor comments, and we try to experience and stay for 5 days at Samaya Ubud.

We were not disappointed ! Samaya Ubud is not only a hotel but a second home. We were warmly welcomed with garlands of frangipani and Mr Marcel made us very comfortable with the place. We are overwhelmed by the nature, the river and Anjung villas. The restaurant Swept Away serves delicious and typical Indonesian dishes and international menu . The chef comes to you to know your needs. We can also enjoy an excellent tea time, admiring the river. The service is impeccable and professional.

Our holidays have been marked by the presence of Mr Kadek Hartawan who always takes care of you and looks after you. Above all, it is not Samaya Ubud if you do not meet Mr Wayam Suambara (Hotel Manager) who is always present and makes you like you're at home, he attends to all your requests.

After spending 5 nights at Samaya, we left for another hotel near by the beach but we still missed the first one, so we came back for lunch. We found the same hospitality again, asl it was in the beginning.

Finally, we thank the wonderful team of Samaya Ubud for making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meliann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This is our second visit to a Samaya resort in Bali, the first being to the excellent Samaya Seminyak. This visit was to be 6 days of pure bliss, we had high expectations..... They were surpassed!!

The Samaya Ubud resort is a small intimate resort ideal for couples wanting to get away from it ALL be it for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. Relaxation and intimacy come easily. I made a bit of a joke to some of the staff that I was finding the relaxation very tiring, I think they appreciated my point.

Our villa was in the centre of the group of riverside villa's with clear views to the Ayung River below and good privacy from the hillside parts of the resort. The villa was spacious, very well appointed with a modern decor.

The staff were absolutely amazing, seeming to have some sixth sense about them which enabled them to always know who we were, address us by our correct names and know what we were going to be doing during our stay, it made us feel very special and as if we were the only guests in the resort. It was obvious that the level of communication between the management and staff behind the scenes was extremely high and focused on all matters relating to your enjoying the experience.

Breakfast is included and we tried both the in room and Scene Restaurant options. The menus were simple and the quality excellent, departures to include your favorite day starter were cheerfully accepted.

We enjoyed the Afternoon Tea both in room and at the Swept Away Restaurant a lovely treat of small sandwiches, cakes and scones with stunning home made jams.

Evening meals for those nights we did not venture out were taken either in room or at the Swept Away Restaurant. The in room menu was simple with the food being of excellent quality and presentation. The menu from the Swept Away Restaurant offered a good range from simple staples to the more exotic degustation option to cater for all palettes. The meals we enjoyed, which did include the Degustation Menu were excellent, high quality and beautifully presented.

My wife enjoyed her time in the Day Spa and we both had an enjoyable morning when we took the in house cooking classes which included a visit to the morning market in Ubud.

Overall a marvelous experience, we were very sad that we had to leave and touched by the farewell given by the staff as we left.

A heartfelt thanks to all the staff at Samaya Ubud, especially Mr Wayung Suambara and Mr Kadek Hartawan, you are to be commended for the quality of the resort and the attentiveness of your staff who made our stay an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra few dollars go for the Riverview Villa's around the middle of the av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaeyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,263 reviews
2.0 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#2 of 199 in Ubud
508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £231 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Destinology, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing