We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You want a perfection? Then stay at the Samaya-Ubud - You won't be disappointed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samaya Bali Ubud

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #3 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You want a perfection? Then stay at the Samaya-Ubud - You won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My family and I just recently returned from our first-time visit to Bali -- back in May, I made a booking at the Samaya-Ubud from reading all the wonderful reviews on the TripAdvisor as well in several travel guidebooks.

Let me first state that our 6-day stay at The Samaya was the best vacation EVER for all three of us. From the time I made a reservation back in May, the reservation officer (who I believe is from the other Samaya, in Seminyak) had been extremely kind and informative. Soon the e-mail communication moved to the Executive secretary of the Samaya-Ubud, and this person helped us SO much with our 6-day stay, from suggesting some activities, booking reservation for Dolphin Watching and others, arranging transports, etc. Mind you, all these took place PRIOR to our arrival.

The day we arrived, the Samaya once again surprised us with arranging the "Fast-Track" service at the airport for my family who were arriving from Japan (I was flying in from Jakarta) - which meant my parents didn't have to wait in line for lengthy immigration process (normally takes around 45-50 minutes) instead they had arranged the official to take care of immigration/customs which sped up the whole process into about 15 minutes! The driver from the Samaya picked us up without any problem, in the car ride, he gave us cold towels, chilled water bottles and fresh strawberries :) By then my family and I were completely blown away by the service - and we were in more surprises (great ones, I must add) once arriving the Samaya. Even though our arrival was rather late (close to 11pm), the members of the reception welcomed us so friendly, gave us each flower-necklace. Upon check-in, a butler took us to our villa by a "baggie" (think of it as a 4-seater golf car).

Once we arrived in the Ayung Villa, we were speechless. Once you enter the villa, you immediately saw a private swimming pool plus a gazebo, the view was phenomenal! In fact, I swam in the private pool daily, and what a luxury that was! The Villa looked like a cottage, inside there was a high-ceiling room with an extra-Kingsize bed, TV, mini-bar and couch. In the bathroom, they had a jacuzzi, separate shower room, and small "stone garden" which was such a nice addition :) We had an extra bed (yes, it does cost extra) but the bed was also very good - not one of those extra beds you see in hotels where you get up with lower-back pain.

We had our breakfast at our private gazebo (a butler will come get the order the night before) or sometimes at the Scene restaurant (there you had more breakfast choices). Every morning we had freshly made fruit juices, freshly baked baguettes/breads, and some eggs :) Then you also receive complimentary afternoon tea service -- this, too, you can have it at your villa, or at "Swept away" restaurant while watching the Ayung River view.

The Samaya-Ubud offers several activities - Trekking and Cycling for free (which, unfortunately we didn't do as we had other plans). We signed up for a cooking class - first the chef takes you to the Ubud Market (explained to us some interesting fruits and spices), then after a break, we learned some of the traditional Balinese/Indonesian cuisine. It was such a special feeling that you can be in the kitchen of the Swept Away restaurant, and actually cooking! All the kitchen staff were so kind and friendly and we had an amazing time. After finishing our first course "Sop Ayam" (Chicken Soup), we sat down by the river to enjoy the soup -- they gave us amazing pineapple juice (freshly made) on the house. Then we went back to learn to cook some more dishes. The only downside was that my family and I had a full-breakfast immediately after our return from the Market Trip -- if you are reading this and want to sign-up for their cooking class, make sure to SKIP the breakfast, as you will have a six-course lunch (which you will learn to cook, of course!)

Since the Samaya is located about 10-15 minutes away from the Ubud Center, it was nice to have free shuttle services. You will tell them where/when for pick-up, and they will come pick you up :) Many drivers know some great local places to dine, so if you are not sure what Ubud can offer, do make sure to ask.

We also signed up for spa treatments while we stay -- the spa was conveniently located right next to our villa, so that was bonus. We each had a 90-minute hot stone massage therapy and it was simply amazing! The spa also has a very nice gym where my family and I worked out almost everyday. Normally the gym is open from 8am on, but when asked, they made it open specially for us (we are early morning people) at 6:30, 7am, and we were so grateful!

Our stay was simply just fantastic - all the staff members at the Samaya were so kind, generous, friendly and helpful. They were also very attentive to our needs and wishes. They came to make our beds after breakfast, then again when we left for lunch or dinner. Everytime we return to our rooms, the used towels had been replaced by fresh towels, empty water bottles had been replaced with new ones -- and this is the service you get 24/7, not just once/day as other hotels do. And more than anything, they were always smiling, take good prides in their excellent service. My family and I cannot be more grateful for this experience we just had. And you know where we will stay the next time visiting Bali? The Samaya-Ubud again, of course :)

Room Tip: Make sure to make reservations early! Ayung Villa has an amazing view of the river :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pura88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    78
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
178
820
24
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 Nights as part of our honeymoon and it definitely didn't disappoint. We were upgraded from a hillside villa to a riverside villa and the only way to describe it was breathtaking. throughout our stay the hotel staff were fantastic and were attentive to our every need as well as being extremely friendly. Breakfast everyday was fantastic and catered for every taste.

We also ate in the hotel restaurant which although was expensive due to the price of alcohol in Bali was very delicious indeed.

The Samaya, Ubud is a must for anyone travelling to the Ubud area and a big seller has to be the attention to detail taken by the staff, including the general manager of the hotel taking the time to escort us from our room on check out to ensure that we had a pleasant stay.

In summary a great hotel, with great staff, in a great location which made a fantastic start to our honeymoon

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dpierce256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul,Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The place to stay for honeymooners and for the couples who need their second honeymoon,
Located in Ayung valley alongside the Ayung river.
well equiped very comfortable rooms , always good service , personal butler is in charge of everything.
Shuttle service to and from Ubud at any time you want if available.
Room service menu much better than Samaya Seminyak , everything fresh and well prepared.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ERTUG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at one of the Villas for three days and it was magnificent.
Unbelievable service and care for guests needs. We will remember the high
quality of the food served in the restaurant by the river.
The architectural design of the villas is simple but stunning and full of all the
latest modern fittings and furniture.
A top experience of shear luxury.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My wife and I had the most fantastic 3 days at THE SAMAYA Bali. The resort was stunning, the staff were very friendly and their attention to detail was amazing. They have such grace and nothing is too much trouble. The resort hugs the river and whilst there is not that much to do in Ubud itself one can get lost and have a very relaxing time at The Samaya for days. The afternoon tea is delicious and we had beautiful dinners every night at the hotel. No need to leave. A pity that the SPA is expensive. A great stay and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our stay at the Samaya Ubud was absolute perfection. I had read positive reviews and was impressed by the photographs on the Hotel’s website, but the reality was much more beautiful than I could have imagined. This resort is set in the most majestic and breathtaking landscape and those staying have amazing views of the forest, rice fields and the Ayung River.
Every aspect of our villa, which included a deep pool for our private use, was beautifully presented. Our every need had been predicted and taken care of by friendly and kind staff. I enjoyed the quiet privacy this hotel offers. When we needed anything we were quickly helped.
All of the staff enjoyed their work and were very sincere. I appreciated the way the staff were happy to share their knowledge of Ubud and its surrounding areas, all of which they were very proud. They made our stay very enjoyable.
The Samaya offers its guest’s free transport into Ubud – and this was invaluable. The freedom to go into town whenever we liked – even for dinner – in air-conditioned comfort was wonderful. When traveling in with the Hotel’s driver we would be shown points of interest and had interesting conversation about their family life or interests.
We chose to eat at the Hotel often because the two restraints in the Hotel serve authentic Balinese and Indonesian food as well as having and international menu – all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. In addition the hotel gives all guests a full breakfasts with everything we wanted as well as afternoon teas that included much more than we could finish. It was the only Hotel that served Western food - such as scones and vanilla slices that were just like home and I have to admit that was a nice treat.
I would especially like to thank the staff of the Samaya for being so friendly and fun. We really enjoyed their company and insight. A special thanks to our butler, Marcel, who took the time to get to know our 5 year old, and was constantly helping us, especially on the last day when our flight did not leave until 10:10pm; Wayan who took the time to show us special sites around Ubud and helped my Husband find a very special woodcarving; Yoga, Ngurah and Angus who played with our 5 year old and brought him extra strawberries and treats; and IB Loka who took us on a master class in Balinese cooking – his careful and clear instructions were great and he communicated with a real passion and love for what he does.
Anyone chosing to stay at the Samaya will have a very special love for Ubud Indonesia and its people, thank you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. Those with children may need special care as pools have no gates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karina e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The rooms are spacious with a beautiful taste non ostentatious.
The “Samay Bali resort is well located in the center of “, we recommend this address which is one of the best in Bali ”.
The staff is very competent, friendly and classy

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 365Annawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#5 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing