We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #5 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We arrived after spending 6 days just outside seminyak and we were so pleased to see the ubud region and the rice fields as this is more the landscape we had in our minds eye. We arrived early about 11am fully expected to have to wait until we could get into our villa, but no! It wasn't A problem we were greeted with frangipan garlands and shown to villa 101, where they checked you in villa with a welcome drink. The villa was gorgeous, an extremely large pool and beautifully maintained sunny garden. The staff were excellent called you by your fist name and nothing was too much trouble. The villa cleaned in the morning discreetly, usually when you were out or at breakfast and again at turn down about 5 ish. The breakfast setting
was stunning with views over rice field and volcanoes as the back drop! Breakfast was very good with an option for every taste. The courtesy bus was fantastic, we never had any issues with late pick up and they even dropped us at the end of our stay to our next hotel free of charge. The grounds are gorgeous and it was a nice touch that they let the locals in to bathe in the river and collect water from 5-7pm although if you are easily offended by the odd naked man washing his personals then avoid the riverside bar at this time! Only a couple of negatives if I had to extremely picky was the jacuzzi bath had a faint smell of sewage when turned on, and the drinks at the riverside bar were a little pricey £36 for two glasses of wine and a coke, but I believe there is a tax issue involved in part. We ate one night at the bridges restaurant, wow! Not cheap but awesome! Well worth a visit for a special meal, maybe book ahead for a table overlooking the river. Totally stay here you will not be disappointed . We stayed in a hillside villa and everyone raves about the riverside ones but from what we could see the layout of the villa is exactly the same and the pool was set to one side as opposed to centrally. The hillside villa was incredibly private to where as you could walk to the front and behind the river villas. But book what you want. We loved it and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank hixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
There are newer reviews for The Samaya Bali Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 962 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

My husband and I recently returned from a 3-night stay at the Samaya Ubud and we deeply regretted to have booked such a short stay preferring to spend more days at the seaside. Had we known what was waiting for us beyond the entrance gate, we would have not fussed around, gone straight to the Samaya and remained there as much as we could.

The booking, made shortly before our stay, was kindly handled by Lia who made literally everything to accommodate our request to be picked up in Jimbaran instead of the airport. The 1-hour ride aboard of a hotel car was enjoyable, and throughout the journey the driver provided information about Bali better than any travel guide. When in passing I mentioned my interest in buying some batik, he took us straight away to a place that was the paradise of batik (the real stuff, not the one that fades away after the first washing) and waited more patiently than my husband until I was done with my shopping.

Eventually we made it to the property and here the dream got started. While our luggage was sent to our villa, we were given flower garlands and shown around on a buggy. The property tour ended in our villa where our butler handed us fresh drinks and completed all formalities and explanations. We had booked a hillside villa and were so happy with our choice as we could enjoy a marvellous view on the rice paddies directly from bed in the morning, plus it did not bother us to walk up and downhill and we used the buggy only few times. The room was spacious, beautifully appointed, and spotless. The bathroom a masterpiece of practicality, luxury and design. I am still day-dreaming of our secluded and panoramic garden with its private pool and the day bed with those fancy orange cushions. Unfortunately we could not enjoy it too much as we decided to make the most of our stay and:
• took the complimentary trekking and cycling tours. They were both extremely enjoyable and gave us the chance to explore and take great photos of the area surrounding the property and the countryside at our own pace;
• took advantage of the free shuttle to Ubud to stroll around for a while, only happy to be able to escape whenever we wanted to from that confusion of day visitors and return to our little piece of paradise;
• had our daily massages at the Spa where expert and gentle young ladies can deliver experiences out of this world in the stunning treatment rooms by the river.

There are two restaurants on site, the Scene, on a terrace, for breakfast, and the Swept Away, by the river, for all the other meals. Breakfast at the Scene was freshly made to order and delicious. Perhaps, the only downside I could think of about our whole stay lies in the breakfast variety. It was humanly too much. Had we stayed three weeks, still we could not have possibly tried all the enticing items that were on the menu. Not fair!
Dinner at the Swept Away was also memorable. My favourites: the “Ubud vegetable garden” with products from the organic garden located right at the entrance of the property (an actual 0 km dish) and the seafood nasi goreng, however all we tried was delightful. A nice touch was the buggy ready to pick us up as soon as we stepped out of the restaurant. One night we made the mistake to go to city of Ubud for dinner in what is considered the best restaurant in town... what a disappointment. We should have opted for in-house dining.
Oh, I was almost forgetting to mention the complimentary afternoon tea that comes with a great deal of canapés and pastries and saw two grown-up people almost fight to eat them all.

The day of our departure we had a late night flight. We checked out and went on a tour that the reception had arranged for us. When we came back, we could spend the last hours by the main pool and have a shower at the spa before being driven to the airport.

Leaving the Samaya was truly sad. We rarely felt so looked after and treated as special friends. So, to close it down, I would like to make a special mention of all the staffs at the Samaya Ubud. Each and every single of them, from the gate guards to the general manager, was friendly, sincerely caring and highly professional, and all together they made our stay glorious. It is true that Bali is a magic place in itself, but Wayan, you are managing an extraordinary gem of it. We can’t wait to come again soon.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view of the hill side villa
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank maociu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at The Samaya Ubud for 5 nights. Everything was done to make our stay memorable. The view from restaurant Scenery, where we enjoyed our delicious breakfast, is breathtaking. We will definitely return to this beautiful place on Earth.

Rob & Hanneke
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had an incredible 10 year anniversary stay at The Samaya Ubud. I can't believe I even spent time researching other options before choosing this one. In one word, this place is simply stunning. My wife and I have traveled around the world and have never come across such personal hospitality in such a luxurious hotel. Every one of our needs was attended to perfectly, and there isn't anything I would change about our 4-night stay. Mr. Wayan, the General Manager, took personal time to greet us and ensure everything was going smoothly. Our butler Ari was so helpful, had a great sense of humor, and went out of his way to ensure we were comfortable at all times. In fact one day I had an upset stomach and he went to the local market to get me something to feel better. On another day, we went volcano trekking and had to wake up at 1:30am to leave the hotel for our tour. The butlers and kitchen staff were up late to ensure they packed us a full breakfast before we got on the private tour van. On another night, we at at Swept Away for dinner (a must do) and the Samaya Chef came and spent time with us at our table to explain all the dishes and ask us if there was anything else they could do for our meal. We are vegetarian and they made special accomodations to ensure our meals were perfect. We can't wait to return to this hidden gem in Ubud!

Room Tip: We loved the hill view villa!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank armista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed only one night and realized that it was too short to experience what they really offer.
Yet, it was a beautiful moment to experience their sincere hospitarity, which is very confortable with their beautiful smile (Everybody has a great smile!).
Every service, including the escort to the room, welcome drinks, afternoon tea, etc, is arranged so well and very naturally done!

The location is also memorable, riverside, rice terrace, etc, which you feel like "I wanna stay here forever!" It is more than expected through the website or guidebook.
The room has a pool with sofas where you can relax or even sleep! The room has many places to relax so that you can have a privacy to concentrate on something.

One day was not enough to (really) relax. I will defenitely go back to stay 3-4 days to experience cycling, cooking classes, spa etc. (Spa was very nice, I could try one, but I wanna try more!)

Anyways too many things I wanna say to recommend, but words are not enough, so YOU BETTER COME!
You won't get disappointed, never!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorikito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My adult daughter and I have just spent 4 days at the Samaya Ubud and had one of the best hotel experiences of our life- ever - and I am a discriminating guest, having stayed at 3 other 5 star hotels in Bali alone in the past six months (I live in Singapore). Our stay at the Samaya was flawless, thanks to the dedication, warmth and professionalism of Wayan the hotel's General Manager and every member of his staff. We particularly enjoyed the elegant and quiet zen-like atmosphere of our villas, the outstanding quality of the service (we barely had to ask for anything, since anything we might want had already been provided for us), and the surprisingly gourmet quality of the food. In addition, the value for money is absolutely terrific, since lots of extras like airport transfers, made to order breakfasts, high tea, cycling tours and trekking tours with guides are all complimentary, as are the shuttle-services to Ubud.

We managed to do an awful lot of things during our stay since the weather was very pleasant : Trekking through the rice paddies in the morning and bicycling through them in the afternoon, taking a cooking class with chef Loka (which included a early morning tour of the vegetable market), having two spa treatments (we got a thirty minute free massage add-on the second time around!), swimming in our deep villa pool, going shopping in Ubud, and finally watching movies in the evening from the hotel's large selection.

After four days, we regretfully left this little gem for another hotel in the area because my husband was joining us and we needed a larger room. It felt like leaving family already, and we spent the rest of the time pining for the Samaya and comparing everything unfavorably at every turn. We missed everybody's GENUINE smiles, our healthy breakfast while enjoying the sweeping views of the rice paddies, the soothing pampering at the Spa (the four-hand massage is out of this world), and the high teas by the beautiful Ayung river. I cannot wait to go back, this time with my husband or a good female friend, and stay much longer next time around.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the rooms by the river since they were so close to the Swept Away restaurant and t...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDG-JFK-SIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Luxury Villa with swim pool, but lack of view even in royal hill side. for breakfast scenery is breathtaking, afternoon tea at swept away restaurant is great for the atmosphere but for food in swept away i can only give 7 out of 10 (sorry ...), Service top notch. for spa, like want to go there everyday for treatment.
Cookies in the villa every afternoon (after turn down service) not so good still can't beat banyantree, ungasan - bali.
Definitely will go back.
Thanks to Mr. Made (butler) for his kind assistance during our stay

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcartio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
263 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,193 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 199 in Ubud
499 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £248 - £913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Destinology, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing